[Guide] HP Envy Haswell series J/K/Q/N using Clover UEFI

Discussion in 'High Sierra Laptop Guides' started by RehabMan, Sep 27, 2017.

  1. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    190,533
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 27, 2017 at 6:36 PM #1
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    190,533
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    900supersport and catatreco like this.
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2018
  2. maxyb

    maxyb

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Motherboard:
    HP Envy 15 J-002er
    CPU:
    i7-4700MQ @2.4Ghz, 12GB RAM,HM87 chipset
    Graphics:
    HD4600 graphics (1080p panel)
    Sep 27, 2017 at 9:24 PM #2
    maxyb

    maxyb

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Motherboard:
    HP Envy 15 J-002er
    CPU:
    i7-4700MQ @2.4Ghz, 12GB RAM,HM87 chipset
    Graphics:
    HD4600 graphics (1080p panel)
    Dear RehabMan,i'm using your guide long time, and everything works good,but I can't understand some things,i have mstata ssd and hdd, and windows bootloader and clover bootloader loadings from hdd, cant loading from ssd,because hdd is disk 0 and msata is disk 1. Im install Sierra in clean partition in msata ssd,then i need to install clover in hdd,and it's work, clover booting, windows booting too, but when I'm repatch in terminal, it cant find efi partition,because clover not in ssd,and I'm manual copy ssd-hack patch in efi partition.Maybe you can help me? I can't understand what I need to do, may be I read something wrong, my English is not good, and I'm trying more times reinstall and reinstall...how correctly install clover? legacy or uefi guide, in msata ssd or hdd,in guide have not instruction on this case about msata. Please help me.

    I'm ask you about it last year, and you answer me "you forgot to install Clover to your HDD EFI. Or something is wrong with your EFI partition and it can't be mounted.
    Check that it is mounting correctly with ./mount_efi.sh and check that it has Clover properly installed." but I'm do not forgot install,i can't understand how need to install that it is works correct
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2017
  3. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    190,533
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 27, 2017 at 10:43 PM #3
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    190,533
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    If you're saying you cannot get BIOS to boot to your mSATA SSD, that is a BIOS issue.

    You will need to transfer EFI/Clover from HDD to SSD manually.
    My mount_efi.sh script assumes that the EFI partition is on the same disk as the system volume.
     
  4. DaffyDuck

    DaffyDuck

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z97X-UD7 TH
    CPU:
    i7 4690
    Graphics:
    GTX 690
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Xserve
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 29, 2017 at 11:18 PM #4
    DaffyDuck

    DaffyDuck

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z97X-UD7 TH
    CPU:
    i7 4690
    Graphics:
    GTX 690
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Xserve
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I've created the USB disk as instructed, but when booting my HP Envy Touchsmart (J-series), it gives me the circle with the bar through it towards the end of the boot up thermometer.

    Any tips?
     
  5. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    190,533
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 29, 2017 at 11:32 PM #5
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    190,533
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    No "Problem Reporting" files attached.
    Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
    https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/

    Also, your profile has no hardware details. Please fix as per FAQ.
    Please be certain it is accurate.
     
  6. tuananh257

    tuananh257

    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    Messages:
    55
    CPU:
    i5-4340M
    Graphics:
    HD 4600/GTX840M
    Oct 4, 2017 at 4:50 AM #6
    tuananh257

    tuananh257

    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    Messages:
    55
    CPU:
    i5-4340M
    Graphics:
    HD 4600/GTX840M
    Hi RehabMan,
    Could I ask you some question?
    Do everything work fine on High Sierra? Do High Sierra have any issue (Compare with Sierra)?
     
  7. bizzlemac

    bizzlemac

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    69
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 4702MQ
    Graphics:
    intel HD 4600
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Oct 4, 2017 at 11:01 AM #7
    bizzlemac

    bizzlemac

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    69
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 4702MQ
    Graphics:
    intel HD 4600
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    after updating I can't boot my mackintosh I i'va done the copy paste of fakeSMC and apfs.efi when I press boot Mac from my ssd it only shows apple logo with progress bar for only a second and then it restart.
     

    Attached Files:

    • IMG_0418.JPG  (1.7 MB, 298 views)
  8. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    190,533
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 4, 2017 at 4:26 PM #8
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    190,533
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    No idea.
    As mentioned in post #1, I don't have this laptop anymore.
    But all applicable changes that I know about have been made in the github.
     
  9. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    190,533
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 4, 2017 at 4:27 PM #9
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    190,533
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    No "Problem Reporting" files attached.
    Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
    https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/

    Also, please fix your profile. It has no hardware details for any Haswell Envy. See FAQ for requirements.
     
  10. bizzlemac

    bizzlemac

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    69
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 4702MQ
    Graphics:
    intel HD 4600
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Oct 4, 2017 at 4:49 PM #10
    bizzlemac

    bizzlemac

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    69
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 4702MQ
    Graphics:
    intel HD 4600
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    its an hp envy 15 j100ns but i can't attach any files because i can't boot it
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice