Contribute
Register

[GUIDE] HP Elitebook 8470p Radeon - Big Sur 11.2.3(11.4) | OpenCore

Joined
Feb 9, 2017
Messages
89
Motherboard
HP Elitebook 8470p
CPU
Intel Core i7-3740QM
Graphics
AMD Radeon HD 7570m 1GB
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes DaveJ1,
For make the base line, so I need do like that with EFI folder. I just don't understand why I follow all check box as Chris111 guide but after reboot still missing CPU power management and can use only internal display (I need do adjustments in Device properties for using 2nd display-external display). I also need add SSDT-PM in ACPI folder to enable CPU PM after that. But no graphics acceleration come out at all.
We can only give you ideas in this situation. You get too much. Take your time, sit back and check from the beginning.
for post #34, use the boot args and see if you get forward.
Another fix.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2021
Messages
27
Motherboard
HP Elitebook 8470p
CPU
Intel Core i5 3320M
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 4000
We can only give you ideas in this situation. You get too much. Take your time, sit back and check from the beginning.
for post #34, use the boot args and see if you get forward.
Another fix.
Thanks DaveJ1. Let me double check about my progress first.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2021
Messages
27
Motherboard
HP Elitebook 8470p
CPU
Intel Core i5 3320M
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 4000
Yeah, finally after few day test on Big Sur then also Monterey I think that on my laptop maybe DRM broken. So even NVRAM was 1536MB but graphics animation was very slow and the dock/menu bar was in solid color.
I find 1 way to force enable DRM is:
1. Go to Apple tv
2. Choose random film or tv series
3. Laptop will freeze (not responding), I think caused by Apple tv requires DRM enable but actually at this time my laptop doesn't have it. So it will freeze.
4. I force shut down the machine by power button.
5. Turn on the laptop and I can have full hardware acceleration supported
But I don't want to use this way to force enable DRM. So could you give me advice on any solution for this?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 9, 2017
Messages
89
Motherboard
HP Elitebook 8470p
CPU
Intel Core i7-3740QM
Graphics
AMD Radeon HD 7570m 1GB
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yeah, finally after few day test on Big Sur then also Monterey I think that on my laptop maybe DRM broken. So even NVRAM was 1536MB but graphics animation was very slow and the dock/menu bar was in solid color.
I find 1 way to force enable DRM is:
1. Go to Apple tv
2. Choose random film or tv series
3. Laptop will freeze (not responding), I think caused by Apple tv requires DRM enable but actually at this time my laptop doesn't have it. So it will freeze.
4. I force shut down the machine by power button.
5. Turn on the laptop and I can have full hardware acceleration supported
But I don't want to use this way to force enable DRM. So could you give me advice on any solution for this?
At least, you have a solution*. Hackintool show you QE/CI and VDA Checker(DRM) showing what? - Github
If i'm right, almost all hardware/hackintosh install has DRM playback issue, you need to do some fabric under the hood to work flawless.
Other useful:
- WhateverGreen/Shiki
- OC/DRM
I wasn't go any further or deeper yet, so i don't have VDA decode.
*IMO the system is adding some sort of key or whatever changes, and after that the OS is recognize your hardware more precisely.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2021
Messages
27
Motherboard
HP Elitebook 8470p
CPU
Intel Core i5 3320M
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 4000
At least, you have a solution*. Hackintool show you QE/CI and VDA Checker(DRM) showing what? - Github
If i'm right, almost all hardware/hackintosh install has DRM playback issue, you need to do some fabric under the hood to work flawless.
Other useful:
- WhateverGreen/Shiki
- OC/DRM
I wasn't go any further or deeper yet, so i don't have VDA decode.
*IMO the system is adding some sort of key or whatever changes, and after that the OS is recognize your hardware more precisely.
Thanks DaveJ1 for your recommend.
Now I am in Monterey and Hackintool not working, but in the past when I stay in Big Sur in Hackintool QE/CI display "No".
For VDA checker tool, it display: "VDADecoderCreate failed. err: -12473"
My hardware is iGPU HD4000 only (MBP) so in DRM chart no Shiki mode for me.
I just find one override may help me but not yet try because of worry it make my system crash:

defaults write com.apple.coremedia hardwareVideoDecoder -string force

=> This command forces hardware accelerated video decoder (for any resolution).
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2021
Messages
27
Motherboard
HP Elitebook 8470p
CPU
Intel Core i5 3320M
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 4000
I know that my laptop is not full QE/CI but when I add SSDT-PM to ACPI patch (QE/CI will work - was confirmed by IORegistryExplorer), my laptop work more slow compare with no QE/CI and still cannot enable hardware acceleration (graphics animation still very slow and the dock/menu bar was in solid color).
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
23,695
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I know that my laptop is not full QE/CI but when I add SSDT-PM to ACPI patch (QE/CI will work - was confirmed by IORegistryExplorer), my laptop work more slow compare with no QE/CI and still cannot enable hardware acceleration (graphics animation still very slow and the dock/menu bar was in solid color).
not seen all your posts, but have you tried this:
https://github.com/chris1111/Patch-HD4000-Monterey ? does this work?
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2021
Messages
27
Motherboard
HP Elitebook 8470p
CPU
Intel Core i5 3320M
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 4000

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
23,695
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Wow, thanks Feartech for quick reply me. Actually I following Chris HP-Probook-EliteBook-Package-Creator-OC and already using ptachHD4000 but it doesn't work with me.
I guess my hardware has some specific so maybe DRM broken (as explain in #43) so now just want to find solution to force enable it from starting macOS.
ahh ok, not used it myself so wasn't sure of particular issues

you may be better off sticking with Big Sur as you get the full hardware support
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2021
Messages
27
Motherboard
HP Elitebook 8470p
CPU
Intel Core i5 3320M
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 4000
ahh ok, not used it myself so wasn't sure of particular issues

you may be better off sticking with Big Sur as you get the full hardware support
I just try the best with Monterey first. If no choice I will come back Big Sur.
 
Top