Contribute
Register

[GUIDE] HP Elitebook 8470p Radeon - Big Sur 11.2.3(11.4) | OpenCore

Joined
Feb 9, 2017
Messages
89
Motherboard
HP Elitebook 8470p
CPU
Intel Core i7-3740QM
Graphics
AMD Radeon HD 7570m 1GB
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
About this Mac.png


Hi guys!

Let’s see, what we’re going to do in here.
It was quite a challenge and took it numerous time to learn OC after Clover, hopefully you will be enjoy it.
This Setup has only 1 graphics unit, which is a dGPU!
All responsibilities is yours!

Bios:
- UEFI Native(without CSM) or Hybrid(with CSM) - I didn't notice a difference.
Disable:
- Fast Boot, Secure Boot
- Wake on Lan, USB
- Lan/Wan switching
- Firewire/IEEE 1394, Serial port, Parallel port (Fingerprint reader, Modem etc. - optional)
- VT-d (can be enabled if you set DisableIoMapper to YES)
Enable:
- VT-x

Spec:
BIOS: F.74 (8470p, 8470w, 6470b, 8570p, and 6570b - 68ICE or 68ICF ROM)
CPU: Intel Core i7-3740QM - Ivy Bridge 3rd Gen
GPU: AMD Radeon HD 7570M 1GB (LGD0306 - 1600 x 900@60/40hz)
Audio: IDT 92HD81B1X5 & ATI R6xx HDMI
Ethernet: Intel 82579LM Gigabit Ethernet
Wireless: Intel Centrino Ultimate-N 6300 AGN
Touchpad: SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad
Card reader: JMicron Card Reader

Success installation:
-
lebuidinh #22
- thienluong89 #43 #62 - HD 4000

What’s working:
- CPU Power Management (XCPM, X86PP, AGPM)
- dGPU - Backlight Control, Brightness keys, QE/CI-yes, DRM-no(ATV+), AGPM
  • External Display: I found an “issue”, when connected to a monitor(first), switches to 10bit and the color is vibrating, and when you set to back 8bit(resXtreme) you get a gradient glitch and a freeze, but after a reboot it's working fine. (If you have a guess, read me.)
- Audio/DisplayPort(HDMI) - IDT 92HD81B1X5 - LayoutID=3 & ATI R6xx HDMI
- Battery Percentage - notification for low battery, AC/DC status, (no cycle count yet)
- Sata Trim support
- SD Card Reader & USB 2.0/3.0
- KeyBoard(FN+Audio/Brightness) & Touchpad(on/off - Tap to click)
- Ethernet & Wifi & Bluetooth 4.0 (BCM20702A0)
- Webcam & Mic
- iServices (App Store, iMessage)
- Boot menu - OpenCanopy
- HandOff, Night Shift

What's not working:
- AirDrop, Continuity(BT. Related)
- Fan rpm and detailed temperature read.(now just basic)
OCLP related:
- Sleep/Wake - in progress
- Some sort of Cosmetic Issues
- Widgets - Done button glitch - tap Tab and Space/Enter to ok
- Safari Extensions Tab not allowed you to check any box of it.(Safe boot too) and the warning window is can’t be closed, only restart Safari work.) - You need to sign in and download/install the wanted extensions and enable before you install OCLP.
- The icons on the menu bar changing position sometime.
- FileVault is unsupported
- SIP and SecureBootModel must be disabled
- Delta updates are unsupported

Install:
I tested on 11.4 and 11.3.1 but the backlight control was broke, so I reverted to 11.2.3.
- Astrkr tested on 11.5, 11.6 and worked.(Updated OCLP) #95
I used OC Legacy Patcher for enable graphics(QE/CI).

To install macOS follow the guides provided by Dortania.
To install Legacy Patcher:

Create your own EFI from scratch or use mine.

I make Pre&Post install EFI, pre for boot and install, post for afterwards.
(If you stuck on choose Drive "You cannot use this drive to install." - Use MacBookPro11,3 SMBIOS on Preinstall)

In Short: Reset NVRAM before you start!(Disconnect any connected I/O other than the Installer.)
- on the desktop(after install(Pre) & preset the OS):

1. copy Post EFI folder to your mounted Disk/EFI.
- sudo diskutil mountdisk /dev/disk0s1 && open /Volumes/EFI/EFI
- gererate ssdtPRGen (-x 1 on mine with Kernel/Patch/XCPM) #65

2. boot recovery to disable SIP - terminal: csrutil disable - csrutil authenticated-root disable - (Csr active config - NVRAM - delete in config)
Note: Disabling SIP with OpenCore is quite a bit different compared to Clover, specifically that NVRAM variables will not be overwritten unless explicitly told so under the Delete section. So if you've already set SIP once either via OpenCore or in macOS, you must override the variable:

3. boot to OS, download and install OpenCore Legacy Patcher as should be.(Tap "Patch System Volume")
*Safari Extensions
- Click here.

4. reboot and enjoy!
- You may experience colors strobing on reboot.(epileptic seizure!)

Keep in mind! Important!
  • User configurable, those prone to seizures are recommended to avoid or have another setup the machine due to initial colour strobing before forcing Million Colours on the display with SwitchResX or ResXtreme.
In Long:
- Xcpm & X86PP - ssdtPRGen generate with -x 1 #65
Kernel > Quirks > AppleXcpmExtraMsrs to Yes.
_xcpm Bootstrap under Post EFI config/Kernel/Patch
If you want to more you need to search for 5T33Z0 X86PLATFORMPLUGIN.(Rules)

dGPU:
- I used basic InjectAti method.(OC/Converting common properties from Clover to OpenCore) - Click here.(Gui/Graphics)
- WhateverGreen/Manual/FAQ.Radeon.en.md - find:MOBILE GPU - Click here.
- EDID+vBios.rom - AAPL00,override-no-connect + ATY,bin_image(64 KB) - (Config.plist)​
- I used live Linux and Windows for that.(If necessary I will describe it. - #12(Edid) & #16(vBios)​
- 1366x768 - @0,display-dual-link:00000000 - #4

iGP - HD 4000: Thanks for thienluong89!
#43 - enable QE/CI with a trick.(in progress)
#62 - working EFI for Big Sur & Monterey

Boot args:
- swd_panic=1 - Avoids issue where going to sleep results in a reboot, this should instead give us a kernel panic log

Debug: #1,119
- sudo dmesg > ~/Desktop/DMESG.txt opencore. Click here.

Touchpad:
VoodooPS2Controller(Rehabman version)
Error on boot: (need to recheck)
com.apple.iokit.IOHIDSystem
- VoodooPS2Controller/contents/Plugins/
There are 3 kexts, open info.plist from Contents and change com.apple.iokit.IOHIDSystem to com.apple.iokit.IOHIDFamily under OSBundleLibraries.

SD Card:
With the current SIP's.
HSSDBlockStorage+JMB38X to L/E with Kext-Droplet-V2. - Kexts.
Before reboot, you have to allow in System Preferences/Security & Privacy/General.

SMBIOS: Click Here.
Generate you own - MacBookPro10,1 for me
MLB - Board Serial
ROM* for iServices (NiC-MAC)
SystemProductName
SystemSerialNumber
SystemUUID
And Check on the Coverage site!

NVRAM: Click Here.
Verifying NVRAM - Emulated NVRAM

Battery:
IOREG shows Bat0, Bat1, BatZ.
If you have knowledge and want to help me, I would be glad.
(Yes I know the Rehabman’s guide)
On Clover this was patched with the old PBI-CE in DSDT and ACPIBatteryManager.kext.(Fully worked)

-
SSDT-SBUS-MCHC:
I can't decide if it works:
- AppleSMBusController: Loaded
- AppleSMBusPCI: not Loaded

Verifing:
kextstat | grep -E “AppleSMBusController|AppleSMBusPCI”

Executing: /usr/bin/kmutil showloaded
No variant specified, falling back to release
129 1 0xffffff7f82686000 0x7000 0x7000 com.apple.driver.AppleSMBusController (1.0.18d1) D69C0758-0371-369E-88ED-E11402B91008 <54 14 13 6 5 3>

I get the same with and without it.(Just cosmetic name change)
PCIe: 8086:0154 /PCI0@0/pci8086,154@0 = PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0) Intel Corporation, 3rd Gen Core processor DRAM Controller.
IOService:/AppleACPIPlatformExpert/PCI0@0/AppleACPIPCI/pci8086,154@0/AppleSMCPDRC - under IOReg
What do you think?

Finito
Well, if you read this, you’re still in here, cheers my friend!
Please give any suggestion! Thanks!

Graphics:Displays window.png

Display Controller.png
 

Attachments

  • Grab It.zip
    25.3 MB · Views: 181
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 3, 2021
Messages
15
Motherboard
HP8470p
CPU
i5 3320M
Graphics
7570M
I have the same HP 8470p like you. Can you help me in detail with the dGPU. My screen and external sreen VGA look like this. And I use your EFI without any change of dGPU part.
 

Attachments

  • 230001189_674330630636118_9060091045952036480_n.jpg
    230001189_674330630636118_9060091045952036480_n.jpg
    169.8 KB · Views: 59
Joined
Feb 9, 2017
Messages
89
Motherboard
HP Elitebook 8470p
CPU
Intel Core i7-3740QM
Graphics
AMD Radeon HD 7570m 1GB
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi lebuidinh!

I actually never tried with VGA port, because under Clover it’s worked just fine.(I don’t have a monitor with VGA connection.)
Maybe i set the wrong connector type under DeviceProperties, i have no clue what causes, never seen anything like this before.(but it's suspicious to see 5 different Desktop on the picture.)
Are you tried to change under Display to Mirror the screen or External?
When does the screen change to this first?(major) - and if you’re not using the External monitor what happen? - Can you try with Displayport?
Any other issue?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 3, 2021
Messages
15
Motherboard
HP8470p
CPU
i5 3320M
Graphics
7570M
Hi lebuidinh!

I actually never tried with VGA port, because under Clover it’s worked just fine.(I don’t have a monitor with VGA connection.)
Maybe i set the wrong connector type under DeviceProperties, i have no clue what causes, never seen anything like this before.(but it's suspicious to see 5 different Desktop on the picture.)
Are you tried to change under Display to Mirror the screen or External?
When does the screen change to this first?(major) - and if you’re not using the External monitor what happen? - Can you try with Displayport?
Any other issue?
After changing duallink to 0 then everything work fine. Thank for the guide and your EFI.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 9, 2017
Messages
89
Motherboard
HP Elitebook 8470p
CPU
Intel Core i7-3740QM
Graphics
AMD Radeon HD 7570m 1GB
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
That's great news!
So, your main screen or your External monitor resolution is under 1600x900/1920x1080p, if i'm right?!
Which duallink key did you change? @0,display-dual-link or AAPL00,DualLink.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 3, 2021
Messages
15
Motherboard
HP8470p
CPU
i5 3320M
Graphics
7570M
That's great news!
So, your main screen or your External monitor resolution is under 1600x900/1920x1080p, if i'm right?!
Which duallink key did you change? @0,display-dual-link or AAPL00,DualLink.
@0,display-dual-link. And i have a little lost icon to accept on the first time like a very small gitch but is okey not very much. Map run very lag, different with High Sierra very smooth. And can u pls guide me how to full set up config of this dGPU. i don't know how to take the EDID of my screen and things u say about this :


"- I used basic InjectAti method.(OC/Converting common properties from Clover to OpenCore) - Click here.(Gui/Graphics)
- WhateverGreen/Manual/FAQ.Radeon.en.md - find:MOBILE GPU - Click here.
- EDID+vBios.rom - ATY,bin_image + AAPL00,override-no-connect(Config.plist)
- I used live Linux and Windows for that.(If necessary I will describe it.)"
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2021
Messages
1
Motherboard
E6530
CPU
i5-3320M
Graphics
HD4000
Nice work bro !!! I don't think this laptop can running BigSur
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2017
Messages
89
Motherboard
HP Elitebook 8470p
CPU
Intel Core i7-3740QM
Graphics
AMD Radeon HD 7570m 1GB
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@0,display-dual-link. And i have a little lost icon to accept on the first time like a very small gitch but is okey not very much. Map run very lag, different with High Sierra very smooth. And can u pls guide me how to full set up config of this dGPU. i don't know how to take the EDID of my screen and things u say about this :


"- I used basic InjectAti method.(OC/Converting common properties from Clover to OpenCore) - Click here.(Gui/Graphics)
- WhateverGreen/Manual/FAQ.Radeon.en.md - find:MOBILE GPU - Click here.
- EDID+vBios.rom - ATY,bin_image + AAPL00,override-no-connect(Config.plist)
- I used live Linux and Windows for that.(If necessary I will describe it.)"
What is your screen resolution?(Built-in/External) - also, if you have the same spec like mine and using the Post EFI, then you don't have to do anything.(theoretically)

Check if it working the acceleration(QE/CI):
- About this Mac/at Graphics see 1GB/1024MB
- Hackintool - System Tab - GFX0 - Quartz Extreme
- Click Downloads folder on Dock and if you see smooth visual effect, then it's working.(or Click on Launchpad)

Maps is rewritten in Metal if i remember right, just like the Messages app, but the other ones is fine.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 3, 2021
Messages
15
Motherboard
HP8470p
CPU
i5 3320M
Graphics
7570M
What is your screen resolution?(Built-in/External) - also, if you have the same spec like mine and using the Post EFI, then you don't have to do anything.(theoretically)

Check if it working the acceleration(QE/CI):
- About this Mac/at Graphics see 1GB/1024MB
- Hackintool - System Tab - GFX0 - Quartz Extreme
- Click Downloads folder on Dock and if you see smooth visual effect, then it's works.(or Click on Launchpad)

Maps is rewrite in Metal if i remember right, just like the Messages app.
1366x768 internal screen
Ok. And one thing that when i'm using the switchresX i can change the fresh rate to 90hz with 1366x768 internal screen. But on big sur can't do this.
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2021
Messages
15
Motherboard
HP8470p
CPU
i5 3320M
Graphics
7570M
And i hope Sleep/wake can be finished soon :)
 
Top