Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP Elite X2 1012 G1 / G2, Clover UEFI, VirtualSMC, Hot Patch

Joined
Mar 2, 2011
Messages
19
Motherboard
GIGABYTE H170TN
CPU
6700T
Graphics
HD530
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I'm not really clear on what the benefits might be. Clover works well and is pretty easy to set up.
for now is OK, Opencore much like Clover Pro. anyway thanks your guide and looking for your Catalina version if possible.

because i download your EFI to drive Catalina.not working at all.
beside Mojave to Cataline and also your's X2 G2, and mine is X2 G1, much hardware difference.
and finally i decide to clean install Catalina.
without any SSDT/DSDT or hot patches.
but it's stuck reboot loop when power on. would u help me ? thank you.

Processor: Dual-Core Intel Core m7
RAM: 8G
HDD:1T samsung 860EVO
Wifi&bluetooth: DW1560, I tool the intel one off, of course.
WWAN: 4G card.
HP bios 1.44
 

Attachments

Joined
Dec 3, 2011
Messages
437
Motherboard
HP Elite X2
CPU
i5-7600U
Graphics
HD 620 2736 x 1834
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
128K, 512K
Mobile Phone
iOS
for now is OK, Opencore much like Clover Pro. anyway thanks your guide and looking for your Catalina version if possible.

because i download your EFI to drive Catalina.not working at all.
beside Mojave to Cataline and also your's X2 G2, and mine is X2 G1, much hardware difference.
and finally i decide to clean install Catalina.
without any SSDT/DSDT or hot patches.
but it's stuck reboot loop when power on. would u help me ? thank you.

Processor: Dual-Core Intel Core m7
RAM: 8G
HDD:1T samsung 860EVO
Wifi&bluetooth: DW1560, I tool the intel one off, of course.
WWAN: 4G card.
HP bios 1.44
The picture doesn't mean much without your EFI folder, I would only be guessing. In terms of hotpatching, there are only subtle differences between the G1 and G2. And finally, using the EFI folder from post #1 would never have worked with Catalina because none of the kexts have been updated.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2011
Messages
19
Motherboard
GIGABYTE H170TN
CPU
6700T
Graphics
HD530
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
The picture doesn't mean much without your EFI folder, I would only be guessing. In terms of hotpatching, there are only subtle differences between the G1 and G2. And finally, using the EFI folder from post #1 would never have worked with Catalina because none of the kexts have been updated.
right, so I just use your #1 EFI to install Catalina, so the system is clean.
after that, I install Clover 5103 ,canceled all the hot patchs, DSDT/SSDT files.

and just made mofication base on the default config.plist:
1. change GFX0 to IGPU.
2. Device - Properties: AAPL,ig-platform-id - Properties Value:03001E19
(G1 should be HD515, platform-id 0x191e0003)
3. just keep basic drivers

and I upload my EFI folder, any suggestion would be fine, thank you.
 

Attachments

Joined
Dec 3, 2011
Messages
437
Motherboard
HP Elite X2
CPU
i5-7600U
Graphics
HD 620 2736 x 1834
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
128K, 512K
Mobile Phone
iOS
right, so I just use your #1 EFI to install Catalina, so the system is clean.
after that, I install Clover 5103 ,canceled all the hot patchs, DSDT/SSDT files.

and just made mofication base on the default config.plist:
1. change GFX0 to IGPU.
2. Device - Properties: AAPL,ig-platform-id - Properties Value:03001E19
(G1 should be HD515, platform-id 0x191e0003)
3. just keep basic drivers

and I upload my EFI folder, any suggestion would be fine, thank you.
I'm not sure what it is that you are trying to accomplish. All of the SSDTs and hotpatches from the first post will work with Catalina, the only thing that needed to be changed were the kexts.
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2015
Messages
4
CPU
i5
Graphics
HD 4400
The USB configuration is slightly different for the G1, you are probably using the wrong SSDT-UIAC file so the port for the touchpad is disabled. Take a look at post one and you'll see a separate SSDT-UIAC meant for your machine. Hope that helps.
Unfortunately, no. I am very capable of reading and following such well written instructions. I have used the proper SSDT-UIAC file to no avail.

I have also tried several other suggestions such as adding kexts to forcekexttoload, switching kext injecting from “detect” to the other options one at a time, updating AlpsT4USB, etc. Nothing has worked. I’ll try again, though.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2011
Messages
437
Motherboard
HP Elite X2
CPU
i5-7600U
Graphics
HD 620 2736 x 1834
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
128K, 512K
Mobile Phone
iOS
Unfortunately, no. I am very capable of reading and following such well written instructions. I have used the proper SSDT-UIAC file to no avail.

I have also tried several other suggestions such as adding kexts to forcekexttoload, switching kext injecting from “detect” to the other options one at a time, updating AlpsT4USB, etc. Nothing has worked. I’ll try again, though.
Ok, that’s really strange. If I were you, I would remove the Alps Kexts and the SSDT-UIAC and see what you get then (rebuild your Kext cache). The touchpad should be recognized as a simple mouse by default and removing the SSDT should let the correct port get recognized. If that works then cross reference the port with the ssdt to make sure it’s configured correctly. Maybe your machine is an anomaly. Otherwise, post your troubleshooting files and I’ll take a look. Seems like this should be easy to solve provided that the touchpad works in windows ok. (Meaning not hardware failure)
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2015
Messages
4
CPU
i5
Graphics
HD 4400
Ok, that’s really strange. If I were you, I would remove the Alps Kexts and the SSDT-UIAC and see what you get then (rebuild your Kext cache). The touchpad should be recognized as a simple mouse by default and removing the SSDT should let the correct port get recognized. If that works then cross reference the port with the ssdt to make sure it’s configured correctly. Maybe your machine is an anomaly. Otherwise, post your troubleshooting files and I’ll take a look. Seems like this should be easy to solve provided that the touchpad works in windows ok. (Meaning not hardware failure)
Right. I got it at least partially working and it still has some issues I don't like.

I recreated the installer on my MacBook following this guide here and reinstalled. The trackpad worked in the installer which it had done before, but just as before, when I copied clover to efi, kexts to /l/e, rebuilt, and restarted the trackpad stopped just like it had before. It didn't work for me until I put voodoo2lc in the forceloadingkext in clover, re-downloaded and replaced the SSDT, and rebuilt the cache. It worked using the SSDT from the second page and never the one from the first post although I don't know the difference between the two, and I can't rule out a bad download.

Now, though, when left for a bit, a key has to be pressed on the keyboard to make the trackpad work again and there are no gestures at all. Almost like a screensaver is on but the screen doesn't change.

The trackpad is being registered as a simple mouse in settings. No trackpad found. Fun.

But! I'm happy enough to have the trackpad working as it is.

Now, I have to work out nonexistent bluetooth and there's a weird graphics glitch that only seems to show up when a new tab is opened.

It also takes a good long bit for wifi to begin working.

Still, it'll be easier to sort with the trackpad working.

I really appreciate your helping get it going. The Elite makes a great Hackintosh.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 2, 2011
Messages
19
Motherboard
GIGABYTE H170TN
CPU
6700T
Graphics
HD530
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
thanks for sharing alougth it's for G2, most work for my G1.
for now 90% works fine but there is two problems if any solution or suggestion would be great.
1. the mute button is gray and the Volume +/-(which are unber power button) DO NOT work.
2. touchpad NOT work when wake up

attach my clover files please help me, Thanks a lot.
Screen Shot 2020-02-09 at 13.21.16.png
 

Attachments

Joined
May 21, 2015
Messages
82
Motherboard
HP Elite X2 G2
CPU
i5-7600U
Graphics
HD620
@jhax01 I have followed your guide and everything for me is working but touchscreen support. I had a quick question before looking into it further. You wrote:

Best technique is to install all the kexts to /Library/Extensions/ and leave everything *but* VoodooI2C/VoodooI2CHID/AlpsT4USB in /CLOVER/kexts/Other/; then set 'Inject Kexts' to 'Detect' in the config.plist.
then

The AlpsT4USB.kext must be placed in /Library/Extensions along with the latest VoodooI2C / VoodooI2CHID (as of now v2.1.6). It will not work injected from Clover
At this point, are you saying ALL kexts need to be put in /L/E/ ?
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2011
Messages
437
Motherboard
HP Elite X2
CPU
i5-7600U
Graphics
HD 620 2736 x 1834
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
128K, 512K
Mobile Phone
iOS
thanks for sharing alougth it's for G2, most work for my G1.
for now 90% works fine but there is two problems if any solution or suggestion would be great.
1. the mute button is gray and the Volume +/-(which are unber power button) DO NOT work.
2. touchpad NOT work when wake up

attach my clover files please help me, Thanks a lot.
View attachment 448948
If your volume keys aren't working, that is related to your BIOS version. HP has changed the structure of the volume methods a couple different times. You'll have to dump your SSDTs and change the methods to match your bios.

As for the trackpad, it happens to me occasionally as well and I'm not quite sure why just yet. Normally you can simply detach and reattach the keyboard to get it working again.
 
Top