Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP Elite 8300 / HP 6300 Pro using Clover UEFI hotpatch

Joined
Jan 21, 2012
Messages
219
Motherboard
HP 8300 Elite i5-3570
CPU
i5-3570
Graphics
GTX 710
Mobile Phone
Android
I have both and haven't noticed any, but - Does anyone know about any functional differences between the two types of pci slots that the GT 710 comes in?
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
11,340
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
I5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
I have both and haven't noticed any, but - Does anyone know about any functional differences between the two types of pci slots that the GT 710 comes in?
Do you mean the x16 version vs. the x1 ? I think that the full size x16 version only really uses x8 anyway.
 
Last edited:

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
11,340
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
I5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
In summary, the GT 710 graphics are what I expected. Easy to get working, full Metal 2 API support but performance not better than HD4000. If you already have HD4000 it's not a major graphics upgrade in the way that an RX560 would be. My RX570 in my Haswell system is much smoother, text is sharper etc. But that card costs about 100+ dollars more too.

On paper, in benchmark tests, the GT 710 is supposed to perform slightly better than Intel HD4600 graphics. In real world experience it doesn't look that way to me. I think that HD4000 looks better due to better support in macOS and the fact that you will use the onboard DP output instead of HDMI via the GT 710. DP always looks better to me.

One advantage the GT 710 has over HD4000 is that you can run dual monitors from the DVI and HDMI ports. These Hp desktops only have one DisplayPort so one monitor is all that will work with HD4000. VGA is unsupported in macOS.

Get a GT 710 if you can't get HD2500 working and then you can do all the basic stuff, just not any gaming or serious video editing with one of these. For that the minimum graphics would be the RX560 card.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 2, 2018
Messages
12
Motherboard
HP 8300 - 3.07
CPU
i5-3470
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Sniki and trs96,

I noticed in my 8300 i5-3470 model that I had the IGPU disabled in BIOS, and tried enabling it.

When enabled, it significantly increased boot time. The AAPL, ig-platform-id does not appear
when it is disabled, but enabled it is reported as <07 00 62 01> in IODeviceTree of
IORegistryExplorer with device-id <52 01 00 00>, and correctly reported as model
<"Intel HD Graphics 2500">. Similarly, Intel FB-Patcher reports it as an IntelGen IvyBridge
with Platfromid 0x01620007, identifies the GPU as Intel Graphics 2500 (256 MB) with
Device Id: 0x152 QE/CI: yes and Metal: Yes; and identifies the Framebuffer Info as Intel
HD Graphics 4000 (Desktop) with Model(s) Unknown. The Intel-FB-Patcher Framebuffer tab
reports
PipeCount = PortCount = FBMemoryCount = StolenMemorySize = FramebufferMemorySize = 0,
but UnifiedMemorySize = 256 MB.
All connectors appear as index = BusId = Pipe = 0 Type Dummy with Flags 0x00000040.
I also notice a long spinning ball delay in Preview. which is not there with it disabled.

I'm not sure if this info is helpful to you, and I'm not sure I see the benefits of enabling it headless,
but if I can do further experimentation let me know. For now, I'll go back to disabling it.

Lisa
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
1,208
Motherboard
Lenovo V330 - 15IKB
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620 /1920x1080
Mobile Phone
iOS
Sniki and trs96,

I noticed in my 8300 i5-3470 model that I had the IGPU disabled in BIOS, and tried enabling it.

When enabled, it significantly increased boot time. The AAPL, ig-platform-id does not appear
when it is disabled, but enabled it is reported as <07 00 62 01> in IODeviceTree of
IORegistryExplorer with device-id <52 01 00 00>, and correctly reported as model
<"Intel HD Graphics 2500">. Similarly, Intel FB-Patcher reports it as an IntelGen IvyBridge
with Platfromid 0x01620007, identifies the GPU as Intel Graphics 2500 (256 MB) with
Device Id: 0x152 QE/CI: yes and Metal: Yes; and identifies the Framebuffer Info as Intel
HD Graphics 4000 (Desktop) with Model(s) Unknown. The Intel-FB-Patcher Framebuffer tab
reports
PipeCount = PortCount = FBMemoryCount = StolenMemorySize = FramebufferMemorySize = 0,
but UnifiedMemorySize = 256 MB.
All connectors appear as index = BusId = Pipe = 0 Type Dummy with Flags 0x00000040.
I also notice a long spinning ball delay in Preview. which is not there with it disabled.

I'm not sure if this info is helpful to you, and I'm not sure I see the benefits of enabling it headless,
but if I can do further experimentation let me know. For now, I'll go back to disabling it.

Lisa
Thank you for giving the dump of Intel FB-Patcher, in fact thanks to this, we might be able to fix Intel HD Graphics 2500 for other HP elite users that have only IGPU.

There are benefits but as for now, it’s not properly configured.

Are u using WhateverGreen.kext or not ?
Will give this one a try and post a testing config for whoever wants to test this.

Thank you.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2017
Messages
13
Motherboard
HP 8300 SFF
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
GTX 1050 TI
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
128K, iBook, iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hey, I just wanted to check back in with a problem I'm having with pretty regular Kernel Panics due to what appears to be IntelMausiEthernet.kext. I've attached my most recent log of it. For the record, they happen exclusively when the machine is asleep. Thanks again for your help with this unexpectedly troublesome build.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jan 21, 2012
Messages
219
Motherboard
HP 8300 Elite i5-3570
CPU
i5-3570
Graphics
GTX 710
Mobile Phone
Android
@certainReasons not looked thru all your debug but the bootlog shows
Code:
41:534  0:000  Extra kext: EFI\CLOVER\kexts\Other\FakeSMC.kext (v.1800)
41:543  0:009  Extra kext: EFI\CLOVER\kexts\Other\EFICheckDisabler.kext (v.0.5)
41:545  0:002  Extra kext: EFI\CLOVER\kexts\Other\USBInjectAll.kext (v.0.7.1)
41:569  0:023  Extra kext: EFI\CLOVER\kexts\Other\WhateverGreen.kext (v.1.2.4)
41:577  0:008  Extra kext: EFI\CLOVER\kexts\Other\IntelMausiEthernet.kext (v.2.4.1d1)
41:582  0:005  Extra kext: EFI\CLOVER\kexts\Other\AppleALC.kext (v.1.3.3)
41:624  0:041  Extra kext: EFI\CLOVER\kexts\Other\Lilu.kext (v.1.2.8)
41:630  0:005  Preparing kexts injection for arch=x86_64 from EFI\CLOVER\kexts\10.13
41:630  0:000  Extra kext: EFI\CLOVER\kexts\10.13\FakeSMC.kext (v.1800)
41:631  0:001  Failed to load extra kext (Info.plist not found): EFI\CLOVER\kexts\10.13\FakeSMC.kext
41:631  0:000  Extra kext: EFI\CLOVER\kexts\10.13\EFICheckDisabler.kext (v.0.5)
41:631  0:000  Failed to load extra kext (Info.plist not found): EFI\CLOVER\kexts\10.13\EFICheckDisabler.kext
41:631  0:000  Extra kext: EFI\CLOVER\kexts\10.13\USBInjectAll.kext (v.0.7.1)
41:631  0:000  Failed to load extra kext (Info.plist not found): EFI\CLOVER\kexts\10.13\USBInjectAll.kext
41:631  0:000  Extra kext: EFI\CLOVER\kexts\10.13\WhateverGreen.kext (v.1.2.4)
41:631  0:000  Failed to load extra kext (Info.plist not found): EFI\CLOVER\kexts\10.13\WhateverGreen.kext
41:631  0:000  Extra kext: EFI\CLOVER\kexts\10.13\IntelMausiEthernet.kext (v.2.4.1d1)
41:631  0:000  Failed to load extra kext (Info.plist not found): EFI\CLOVER\kexts\10.13\IntelMausiEthernet.kext
41:631  0:000  Extra kext: EFI\CLOVER\kexts\10.13\AppleALC.kext (v.1.3.3)
41:631  0:000  Failed to load extra kext (Info.plist not found): EFI\CLOVER\kexts\10.13\AppleALC.kext
41:631  0:000  Extra kext: EFI\CLOVER\kexts\10.13\Lilu.kext (v.1.2.8)
41:631  0:000  Failed to load extra kext (Info.plist not found): EFI\CLOVER\kexts\10.13\Lilu.kext
I think this buiild shows all but FakeSMC should be in \Library\Extensions and if they are duplicates and in both places then errors are likely.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2018
Messages
12
Motherboard
HP 8300 - 3.07
CPU
i5-3470
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Thank you for giving the dump of Intel FB-Patcher, in fact thanks to this, we might be able to fix Intel HD Graphics 2500 for other HP elite users that have only IGPU.

There are benefits but as for now, it’s not properly configured.

Are u using WhateverGreen.kext or not ?
Will give this one a try and post a testing config for whoever wants to test this.

Thank you.
Yes, I am using WhateverGreen and Lilu's most recent versions. I tried some experimenting with
the Idiot's Guide to Lilu and its Plugins and the Intel FB Patcher (New called Hackintool 1.7.4). I
tried to follow their guides faithfully.

To start with, I disabled the config.plist patch to rename GFX0 to IGPU and allowed WhateverGreen
to manage that renaming as recommended.

Second, I tried two different AAPL,ig-platform-id's, and with each, I added the deivce-id to set it to
0152 for Intel HD 2500 graphics. I tested with my i5-3570 8300 with an MSI RX650 graphics card.

With AAPL,ig-platform-id set to 01620007, the Intel FB patcher recognizes it as headless, but does
not recognize MacMini6,1 as a valid model number. IO registry explorer correctly reports it as Intel HD 2500.
The boot has a longer delay with integrated graphics enabled, and I have a slightly lower score on Geekbench4
wiht Metal graphics on GPU performance with IGPU enabled in BIOS. The patch generator doesn't give me any additional info to add to device properties. With IGPU disabled in BIOS, it doesn't seem to care about the
added platform and device -id's, and I get the best Geekbench4 scores, comparable to disabled with no
ig-platform-id defined.

With AAPL,ig-platform-id set to 0166000A, the Intel FB patcher does not recognize it as headless, but does
recognize MacMini6,1 as a valid model number. IO registry explorer correctly reports it as Intel HD 2500.
The boot has a longer delay with integrated graphics enabled, and I have a slightly lower score on Geekbench4
with Metal graphics on GPU performance. The patch generator shows connector info, and if I modify it, the patch
generator produces various connector configuration properties. I tried to set all the connectors to dummy type
for headless, and imported the generated connector info into my config.plist. I didn't see any improved performance,
and lost some control of the ALC221 like headphone output, but HDMI was still working.

When I get back to it, I'll try running a DVI input display from the display port with integrated graphics as the
primary display and report back.
 
Top