Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP Elite 8300 & 6300 Pro (all form factors) using Clover UEFI hotpatch

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
20,447
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Joined
Jul 26, 2011
Messages
13
Motherboard
HP Compaq Elite 8300 CMT
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
Radeon Vega 56
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I have the CMT with an i7 3770 and a vega 56 I’ve followed Sniki’s github repo readme. I’m trying to install Big Sur but I get a black screen with accelerated graphics and mouse support, nothing else, have you guys experienced this? I created the installer following the OpenCore guide and pasted the EFI folder from Sniki’s repo in the EFI partition, I modded the Sys Info to match my config and deleted the PCI line that Dedicated GPU users should delete since I’m using the Vega 56 as output.
I’m clueless, the black screen has sleep support, it goes completely dark and then when I move the mouse it wakes up to mouse support and nothing to click.


UPDATE: It was due to my dual screen support, the installer does not seem to support two monitors correctly.
 
Last edited:

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
20,447
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I created the installer following the OpenCore guide and pasted the EFI folder from Sniki’s repo in the EFI partition, I modded the Sys Info to match my config and deleted the PCI line that Dedicated GPU users should delete since I’m using the Vega 56 as output.
I would use the HD4000 for the install and add in the Vega 56 later. Of course, you'll need to put back the HD 4000 Device Property info you deleted from the config.plist or just replace yours with a fresh copy from the repo. You did note the end of the readme says WIP ?

deleted the PCI line that Dedicated GPU users should delete
This is required for those with HD2500 graphics because MP 6,1 has no iGPU therefore you can't run HD2500 headless. That would require a different SMBIOS for an iMac (like 13,2) or Mac mini. For Catalina we used to use either iMac 13,1 13,2 or Mac mini 6,1 6,2. For HD2500 systems we used 06006201 ig-platform-id.

Try leaving the ig-platform-id and related info for HD4000 in place and see if your Vega 56 still works post install. Sniki doesn't have any dedicated GPU to test with yet so we'll need some feedback on how to fine tune the .plist for different hardware configurations using MP 6,1.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 1, 2011
Messages
99
Motherboard
8300 SFF iMac15,1
CPU
3.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7
Graphics
Radeon RX 560 4 GB
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
update to big sur 11.1 worked without any issues.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
20,447
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
update to big sur 11.1 worked without any issues.
You're using the RX 560 correct ?

Did you leave the Device Property entry for HD4000 in your .plist or did you delete it ?

Screen Shot 15.jpg
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2011
Messages
99
Motherboard
8300 SFF iMac15,1
CPU
3.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7
Graphics
Radeon RX 560 4 GB
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You're using the RX 560 correct ?

Did you leave the Device Property entry for HD4000 in your .plist or did you delete it ?

View attachment 501015
No i deleted it, i saw your post about that only being meant for 2500, i just didnt have a chance to add it back yet.

ProperTree doesnt work on Big Sur 11.1
 
Last edited:

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
20,447
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
ProperTree doesnt work on Big Sur 11.1
Try the free version of PlistEdit Pro. I believe that will work. Haven't tested it yet on Big Sur.

 
Joined
Feb 1, 2011
Messages
99
Motherboard
8300 SFF iMac15,1
CPU
3.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7
Graphics
Radeon RX 560 4 GB
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Try the free version of PlistEdit Pro. I believe that will work. Haven't tested it yet on Big Sur.

Added it back and reset the nvram. Dont really notice any difference. Night Shift is still broken.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2011
Messages
99
Motherboard
8300 SFF iMac15,1
CPU
3.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7
Graphics
Radeon RX 560 4 GB
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It works on my USDT with HD4000. Don't really use it much myself.

View attachment 501063
It works in Windows and every once in a weird blue glitch it will work on Mac but much like unlock with apple watch, it only worked the first time.

Im not to worried about it right now, just testing things out. Id like to see what results I get after the guide gets posted.
 
Top