Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP Elite 8300 & 6300 Pro (all form factors) using Clover UEFI hotpatch

Joined
Feb 1, 2011
Messages
98
Motherboard
8300 SFF iMac15,1
CPU
3.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7
Graphics
Radeon RX 560 4 GB
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Depends on the Wireless and Bluetooth card that you have/use. Which one do you have ?

No issues with rebooting, i have this EFI on my 8300 SFF and never had rebooting issues.

Weird.

Happened to me once only (last year), but never repeated, no clue but since it's so rare, i wouldn't worry much about that.

Thanks,

I will make a collection of Power Management SSDTs and upload them on the repository so when a user wants to install, he/she can simply grab the correct one for his/her CPU and have no trouble to go generate one.

Makes life much easier for new users.

Apple Broadcom BCM943602CDP – 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac with Bluetooth 4.2​


I also have another wifi/bluetooth card, older one from one of your original tutorials. May switch back just waiting for an official guide before i do any cleaning.
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2018
Messages
36
Motherboard
Q77
CPU
I5 3570
Graphics
WX 4100
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. 20th Anniv. Mac
  2. Centris
  3. Classic
  4. Color Classic
  5. iBook
  6. iMac
  7. LC
  8. Performa
  9. Plus
  10. Power Mac
  11. Quadra
  12. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Big Sur (Some issues I noticed)
*ODD - Bluetooth no longer connects or see my Soundbar and original Airpod (1st). I had to add my airpods to my phone and now it shows up as a option to connect.

-Rebooting fails - It goes through the process, kills everything but power stays on. Have to hit button to turn off.
-Applewatch unlock worked the first and only time.
-Music cant connect to cloud music - is this DRM related?

These are some of the issues im experiencing using the beta sniki has on git.
My Compact Keyboard Backlit from Satechi was unable to connect until i deactivated AirDrop..........
But it was the Filter Contacts Only, if set to Everybody, the Keyboard works with AirDrop On !

That beeing said, the Apple Trackpad worked, as well as the cheap Keyboard from Trust, cause the Keyboard was Connected with a Number, and Trackpad is Apple ;-)

But the Satechi connects without a number, and is not Apple ;-)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 20, 2016
Messages
16
Motherboard
HP8300
CPU
I7-3770
Graphics
RX560
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@Sniki,

Sorry for the delay in DRM testing.

I prepared the following chart for Opencore 0.6.3 and Catalina 10.15.7. For an
AMD DGPU, it seems to make little difference in the shikigva settings, whether
the SMBIOS is iMacPro1,1 or MacPro6,1 for AppleTV decoding. Although I assumed
that the iMacPro1,1 would not need the shikigva flag in bit 4 (i.e 16 in the sum)
both IMP11 and MP61 need it for full AppleTV functionality, and the best setting
is shikigva=144 (128+16) for AppleTV. With Big Sur, both MP61 and IMP11 are
mostly dysfunctional, and mostly regardless of shikigva setting, one can first
download and then play media content in m4v content, but one cannot play HLS
video in any form and one cannot stream HLS or mv4.

With Opencore 0.6.3 and Catalina 10.15.7 with an Nvidia, it works mostly for
AppleTV with shikigva=288 and an appropriate shiki-id setting. 288=256+32.
The 256 tells it to use software decoding and the 32 tells it to substitute a
different board-id for video. I've successfully used Nvidia shiki-id's as indicated
by Dortania's OpenCore SMBIOS page, such as shiki-id=Mac-FC02E91DDD3FA6A4
(emulating iMac13,2) and shiki-id=Mac-2BD1B31983FE1663 (emulating MacBookPro11,3)
with the SMBIOS set to MP6,1. It may only successfully stream AppleTV (HLS and 4v)
and not work with Quicktime or downloaded media.

With Opencore 0.6.3 and Big Sur, MP61 and IMP11 seem to mostly assume that the
IGPU is off. I've had some luck with Big Sur SMBIOS set to iMac18,3 and a fully featured
IGPU enabled with AAPL,ig-platform-id set to <0A006601>. AppleTV still fails,
but Hackintool reports VDA Decoder fully supported, VideoProc reports 4K in H264
and HEVC, and Sony's Swordsmith and Food Fizzle play smoothly.

The last two screen captures are from the iMac18,3 SMBIOS with an RX560 and IGPU
enabled. The first shows an oral Siri inquiry. You can see from Intel Power Gadget
that the IGPU is enabled, and throttles up as Siri processes. Without the IGPU enabled,
Siri takes a little longer to start up. The second shows LuxMark 3.1 running a stress
test with the IGPU enabled. You can see the HD4000 graphics fully throttled up.

I'm using AGPMInjector with some changed values for the IGPU and Nvidia AGPM.
I'm attaching a zip of the experimental info.plist.

@LisaAlterEgo really amazing work

my rig is I7 3770 and has DGPU RX560, use the EFI file which you attached, and set SMBIOS as MacPro 6,1.
after install, everything seems work normally except the VDA Decoder, wire internet/WIFI/BT(AirPod)/Hand off/Message works great!

the attached files is some information about VDA decoder failed.

@LisaAlterEgo @Sniki for the VDA decoder failed, any help tips?
 

Attachments

  • hackintool.png
    hackintool.png
    455.1 KB · Views: 40
  • sysinfo.png
    sysinfo.png
    235.1 KB · Views: 43
  • videoproc.png
    videoproc.png
    235 KB · Views: 43
Joined
Nov 2, 2018
Messages
284
Motherboard
HP 8300, MacMini6,1
CPU
i5-3570K, i5-3470, i5-3210, G5
Graphics
RX570, RX560, GT730K, HD4000
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
@LisaAlterEgo really amazing work

my rig is I7 3770 and has DGPU RX560, use the EFI file which you attached, and set SMBIOS as MacPro 6,1.
after install, everything seems work normally except the VDA Decoder, wire internet/WIFI/BT(AirPod)/Hand off/Message works great!

the attached files is some information about VDA decoder failed.

@LisaAlterEgo @Sniki for the VDA decoder failed, any help tips?
You don't say which macOS version you're using, but you should try disabling IGPU
in BIOS, and one or more of these commands in terminal:

defaults write com.apple.AppleGVA gvaForceAMDAVCDecode -boolean yes
defaults write com.apple.AppleGVA gvaForceAMDAVCEncode -boolean yes
defaults write com.apple.AppleGVA gvaForceAMDKE -boolean yes

you can check that you entered them correctly with
defaults read com.apple.AppleGVA

and your system should respond
{
gvaForceAMDAVCDecode = 1;
gvaForceAMDAVCEncode = 1;
gvaForceAMDKE = 1;
}

if they don't work you can remove them with
defaults delete com.apple.AppleGVA

you can also try setting boot argument or device property
shikigva=144
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2018
Messages
36
Motherboard
Q77
CPU
I5 3570
Graphics
WX 4100
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. 20th Anniv. Mac
  2. Centris
  3. Classic
  4. Color Classic
  5. iBook
  6. iMac
  7. LC
  8. Performa
  9. Plus
  10. Power Mac
  11. Quadra
  12. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
@fenky

some post earlier i providet an efi, only difference is the cpu............
my hardware encode / decode and drm is working, shikivga=144


wrong thread, but i managed to get HP 440 G5 Laptop working full Vanilla ;-)

by the way, the efi´s are that big only for audio files nobody uses............
i deleted them, before 101MB now 8,5MB ;-)
 

Attachments

  • Bildschirmfoto 2020-11-29 um 20.23.51.jpg
    Bildschirmfoto 2020-11-29 um 20.23.51.jpg
    33.3 KB · Views: 27
  • Bildschirmfoto 2020-11-29 um 20.22.57.jpg
    Bildschirmfoto 2020-11-29 um 20.22.57.jpg
    74.8 KB · Views: 28
  • Bildschirmfoto 2020-11-29 um 20.22.27.jpg
    Bildschirmfoto 2020-11-29 um 20.22.27.jpg
    82.9 KB · Views: 28
  • EFI-OpenCore-HP440G5.zip
    8 MB · Views: 13
Joined
Dec 2, 2020
Messages
3
Motherboard
HP 8300 USFF
CPU
i5-3470S
Graphics
hd2500
Good evening to all. I have an hp 8300 usff. I have managed to install Catalina hackintosh to a point where my screen darkens and puts me in ''voice over help''. I think it's the fault of the built-in gpu which is the hd2500, because it is not supported. Does anyone know any solution? If not can you suggest me a low profile gpu that fits into my machine and is supported by Catalina? Thanks for your time.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
19,606
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
can you suggest me a low profile gpu that fits into my machine and is supported by Catalina?
For basic (like Intel iGPU) graphics the Nvidia GT 710 DDR3 card is the #1 choice. Works OOB with Catalina.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2020
Messages
3
Motherboard
HP 8300 USFF
CPU
i5-3470S
Graphics
hd2500
For basic (like Intel iGPU) graphics the Nvidia GT 710 DDR3 card is the #1 choice. Works OOB with Catalina.
thank you so much for your answer.
like this one you mean? (sorry for the greek website)
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
19,606
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
like this one you mean?
Sorry, I thought you had the SFF. It won't fit in the USFF. You would have to change the CPU to something like the i5-3475S instead to get HD4000 graphics.

You should put HP 8300 USFF in your profile. Where it now says "motherboard unknown."
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2020
Messages
3
Motherboard
HP 8300 USFF
CPU
i5-3470S
Graphics
hd2500
ok i will change the profile now.
1.so there is no other solution rather than changing the cpu?
2.this one will do ok if i decide to change it, right?
i am just watching your installation video guide btw
thanx again.
 
Last edited:
Top