Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP Elite 8300 & 6300 Pro (all form factors) using Clover UEFI hotpatch

D

Deleted member 2151140

Guest
In the latter part of October Sniki did say that it would be an OC guide. Maybe you didn't read that post.
Jep i read that...... now after going trough Hell and finding out that all the Problems will be saved with Clearing NVRAM.......

My Daughter is now Working Blender with 59 to 82 Watts ;-) With the 19 W of the Monitor

I am Staying Catalina for Now, and buy a New Mac, cause it seems the M1 is worth it again.........
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2015
Messages
340
Motherboard
HP 6300 SFF-V3.08
CPU
i5-3570
Graphics
GT 640
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. Quadra
  3. SE/30
Jep i read that...... now after going trough Hell and finding out that all the Problems will be saved with Clearing NVRAM.......

My Daughter is now Working Blender with 59 to 82 Watts ;-) With the 19 W of the Monitor

I am Staying Catalina for Now, and buy a New Mac, cause it seems the M1 is worth it again.........
I would like to send you a very strict Japanese saying, "Mother says, if you start, do it to the end."
 

Sniki

Moderator
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
2,316
Motherboard
HP Elite 8300 SFF
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 3000 | GTX 1650 LP
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I did the testing yesterday on my HP Elite 8300 SFF on latest macOS Big Sur and everything is working except DRM.
VDA Decoded = Failed.

So aside from this part everything else is working like charm for me.
- Secure Boot
- FileVault
- Sleep & Wake
- Power Management
- USB Ports
- Audio
- Video Ports

We may need more time to investigate DRM portion if we can find any possibility to fix that because of the dropped support of the (supported) SMBIOS(s) and look for a way to re-enable that if possible.

At the same time i will open a discussion with Acidanthera and other devs regarding this problem and see what we can do for Ivy Bridge PC users (including the ones with Dedicated GPU) as @LisaAlterEgo described the problem.

At the same time, i found a complete HP 6300 Pro MT (without CPU,RAM,HDD) for 50 Euro.
Im going to grab that one and put my RAM, CPU and SSD on it and have a standard PCI height Tower.
I will put my MSI GeForce GTX 1650 LP 4GT on sale and then look for a RX560 or RX570 depending on the price of selling mine/buying the AMD.

After that i will be able to better support Dedicated GPU users and have better use of it since i use 3 operating systems (macOS, Linux, Windows).

So right now i am thinking what should i do with the SMBIOS choices.
If someone is on Catalina, did any of you try MacPro6,1 definition on Catalina, does VDA Decoder pass and does DRM work ? (as it did with iMacPro1,1 ; macmini6,1-2 and iMac13,1-13,3)

Need to know if i need to add 3-4 config.plist models to accommodate IGPU/DGPU and <Catalina/Big Sur> users.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
20,305
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Need to know if i need to add 3-4 config.plist models to accommodate IGPU/DGPU and <Catalina/Big Sur> users.
It does appear that the majority of HP owners in this thread have dGPU so a config.plist for both iGPU and dGPU is a good idea. I'm sure that some will also want to keep a drive with Catalina on it for specific reasons. If DRM doesn't work on MP 6,1 it would be great to still use iMac 13,2 or Mac mini 6,1 and Catalina to have that work with no issues. It is quite easy to make a small Catalina partition on the boot drive and use that.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 1, 2016
Messages
175
Motherboard
HP Probook 430 G2
CPU
i5 5200
Graphics
HD 5500
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Need to know if i need to add 3-4 config.plist models to accommodate IGPU/DGPU and <Catalina/Big Sur> users.
I'd be very thankful for IGPU versions as I cannot use dedicated graphics in the USDT/USFF (and HDMI sound output via DisplayPort).
And will you be posting your much desired work in this thread?
TIA!
 

Sniki

Moderator
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
2,316
Motherboard
HP Elite 8300 SFF
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 3000 | GTX 1650 LP
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Initial EFI is up into the new OC repository: https://github.com/Sniki/HP6300-HP8300
For the moment of speaking, it's only for HD4000 users for macOS Big Sur and changing SMBIOS to anything else than MacPro6,1 will break USBPorts.kext.

Working into the files and i will be updating the USBPorts.kext with support for:
  • iMac13,1
  • iMac13,2
  • iMac13,3
  • Macmini6,1
  • Macmini6,2
  • iMacPro1,1
  • MacPro6,1
And also with support for the additional USB Hub that @LisaAlterEgo added (thanks !)

Link to the old Clover repo: https://github.com/Sniki/HP6300-HP8300-Clover
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
20,305
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
For the moment of speaking, it's only for HD4000 users for macOS Big Sur and changing SMBIOS to anything else than MacPro6,1 will break USBPorts.kext.
Thanks for posting this Big Sur update. Was wondering if you could explain what these tools do. I know what CleanNvram does but not the others.

Screen Shot 25.jpg
 

Sniki

Moderator
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
2,316
Motherboard
HP Elite 8300 SFF
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 3000 | GTX 1650 LP
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for posting this Big Sur update. Was wondering if you could explain what these tools do. I know what CleanNvram does but not the others.

View attachment 497721

BootKicker.efi launches the Apple Boot Picker
Chiptune.efi is needed for playing the beep sound
GopStop.efi is for testing Graphics Output Protocol
HdaCodecDump.efi is for dumping your HDA Codec and making it possible to play the boot chime sound
KeyTester.efi is the Keyboard Input Tester, some keyboards for some reasons can't be detected or can't assign correct layout on bootloader, etc.
MmapDump.efi - dump MemoryMap and memory atrributes, necessary to troubleshoot booter issues - especially booter section of config.plist
OpenControl.efi - is the Open Core Controller necessary for handling runtime and firmware services and also loading UEFI Boot services and libraries.
 

Sniki

Moderator
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
2,316
Motherboard
HP Elite 8300 SFF
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 3000 | GTX 1650 LP
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I Updated USBPorts.kext with support for following SMBIOS(s):
  • iMacPro1,1
  • Macmini6,1
  • iMac13,2
Now you guys can use the OpenCore EFI on any macOS version that you prefer including Dedicated GPU(s).
Follow the Readme on the github for instructions on how to pick and change SMBIOS.
 
D

Deleted member 2151140

Guest
Thanx Sniki, but what helped me to get over the previous ERROR, is:

CLEAN NVRAM ( never have read that anywhere )

After that, it runs the Installer through the first Restart, just to hang again ;-)

3) If you are using a Dedicated GPU: iMacPro1,1 or
iMac13,2 ( is not supported ? got that Message some Time before )

But that is maybe cause i do not want to change my current Catalina to iMacPro1,1 to generate SSDT, anyway

Ivy Bridge System Definitions:
Mac-00BE6ED71E35EB86:iMac13,1
Mac-FC02E91DDD3FA6A4:iMac13,2
Mac-031AEE4D24BFF0B1:Macmini6,1
Mac-F65AE981FFA204ED:Macmini6,2
Mac-4B7AC7E43945597E:MacBookPro9,1
Mac-6F01561E16C75D06:MacBookPro9,2
Mac-C3EC7CD22292981F:MacBookPro10,1
Mac-AFD8A9D944EA4843:MacBookPro10,2
Mac-66F35F19FE2A0D05:MacBookAir5,1
Mac-2E6FAB96566FE58C:MacBookAir5,2
Mac-F60DEB81FF30ACF6:MacPro6,1

are the Only ones working........

but somewhere i have read:

delete SSDT.aml !!!!!!!!!!!

i took my old one, generating a new is impossible without changing internal SMBIOS, or is there a Option on the Piker Script to force that -> different to the actual System SMBIOS ?

I have a I5-3570 can somebody send me a SSDT.aml ?
for the iMacPro1,1 pleaaaaaze........
BR
 
Top