Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP Elite 8300 & 6300 Pro (all form factors) using Clover UEFI hotpatch

Joined
Aug 10, 2017
Messages
8
Motherboard
HP 6300 Pro MT
CPU
I5-3470
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
The Pentiums don't even have HD2500. Just the generic Intel HD graphics. They were never used by HP in the 8300s.
The Pentiums don't even have HD2500. Just the generic Intel HD graphics. They were never used by HP in the 8300s.
I will be soon be updating to Catalina on my HP 6300MT currently running High Sierra with a Nvidia GTX 1050 graphics card. In effort to upgrade and future proof my GPU beyond Catalina, do you recommend upgrading my CPU to an I7-3770 with the integrated HD4000, or sticking with my current i5-3470 and swapping my GTX 1050 for a Nvidia GT 710 or the MSI RX 560? My computer use is mainly for internet, mail, and rare simple video editing. Looking for stability and longevity with future apple software. Thanks.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
17,005
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Looking for stability and longevity with future apple software. Thanks.
The 560 will offer the longest term support that is for certain. It also costs a lot more than the GT 710.
I think that support for HD4000 will likely be dropped next year with 10.16. That doesn't mean it won't work though. There are changes with the new bootloader we hope to use next year that may extend the life of older customacs.
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2015
Messages
246
Motherboard
HP 6300 SFF-V3.08
CPU
i5-3570
Graphics
GT 640
Mac
Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, Quadra, SE/30
Thank you @nguyendj and @trs96
HD2500 worked, I am surprised.
HD2500.png

Just make the following changes from "Config_HD2500.plist".
AAPL,ig-platform-id = 0x0166000A
device-id = 0x1061

Edit:device-id = 0x0161
The setting of AAPL, ig-platform-id was deleted because it is unnecessary.


Code:
           <key>PciRoot(0)/Pci(0x02,0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>device-id</key>
                <data>YQEAAA==</data>
            </dict>
Append:
Please read # 659 which warns you that @itwas is a dangerous usage.
If you have experience with Windows, you probably don't want to use it with MacOS,
but you should avoid using it all the time.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 7, 2015
Messages
41
Motherboard
Intel Q77
CPU
I7-3770
Graphics
HD4000
Mobile Phone
iOS, Other
It's best to use HD4000 instead of using HD2500. HD4000 has full support. Some of the CPUs with HD4000 don't really cost any more than ones with HD2500. The choice is easy. Buy a used/refurbished Intel i3-3225 and install it. Problem solved.
Thanks, I will try to find these CPUs
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2011
Messages
69
Motherboard
HP Elite 8300 MT v2.99
CPU
i5-3470
Graphics
GT 710
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Finally I fixed my sleep issue! Upgraded to the latest version of Clover, and "upgraded" to Sniki's latest repo of kexts, removed the old versions (and FakeSMC), then went with the ssdt method of power management, and all is functional in Mojave. So happy with this system thus far, first with High Sierra, and now Mojave.

One question - I assume by using ssdtPRGen to create an SSDT.aml, that file should replace the SSDT-HP.aml from the repo? That's what I did, and on first boot I don't see issues, so I'm under the impression that the SSDT-HP isn't needed in the /EFI/CLOVER/ACPI/patched/ folder.
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2012
Messages
792
Motherboard
GA-Z77N-WIFI-F3-Clover
CPU
E3-1225 v2
Graphics
GT 640 | P4000
Mac
Mac mini
Thank you @nguyendj and @trs96
HD2500 worked, I am surprised.View attachment 430665
Just make the following changes from "Config_HD2500.plist".
AAPL,ig-platform-id = 0x0166000A
device-id = 0x1061

Code:
           <key>PciRoot(0)/Pci(0x02,0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
                <data>CgBmAQ==</data>
                <key>device-id</key>
                <data>YQEAAA==</data>
            </dict>
device-id 0x1061:8086 seems to be Ethernet Controller, your system overview also shows that the VRAM is 7MB, I wonder this setting is really working, randomly input something just disable loading the graphics device driver, you may check this is the IO registery.

the valid ivy bridge IGPU device-id should be (0x01528086, 0x01568086, 0x01628086, 0x01668086, 0x016A8086)

Screen Shot 2019-10-17 at 19.52.31.png
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2015
Messages
246
Motherboard
HP 6300 SFF-V3.08
CPU
i5-3570
Graphics
GT 640
Mac
Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, Quadra, SE/30
device-id 0x1061:8086 seems to be Ethernet Controller, your system overview also shows that the VRAM is 7MB, I wonder this setting is really working, randomly input something just disable loading the graphics device driver, you may check this is the IO registery.
@itwas Thank you very much.
Only the display on the screen is checked and other functions are not checked.
Since it is not possible to immediately verify the operation for the equipment currently in use, we will reply after confirming the time later.


There is no need to check the operation, and the description was wrong.
It works with the posted CODE.

device-id = 0x1061
device-id = 0x0161
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 16, 2015
Messages
246
Motherboard
HP 6300 SFF-V3.08
CPU
i5-3570
Graphics
GT 640
Mac
Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, Quadra, SE/30
the valid ivy bridge IGPU device-id should be (0x01528086, 0x01568086, 0x01628086, 0x01668086, 0x016A8086)
Currently, the GT640 is removed with the setting of 0x0161, and the operation test is underway.
At 0x0152, the screen is black with only cursor display.
HD2500.png
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2012
Messages
792
Motherboard
GA-Z77N-WIFI-F3-Clover
CPU
E3-1225 v2
Graphics
GT 640 | P4000
Mac
Mac mini
Currently, the GT640 is removed with the setting of 0x0161, and the operation test is underway.
At 0x0152, the screen is black with only cursor display.
View attachment 431312
again, device-id 0x0161 is invalid, no such Intel Ivy Bridge Graphics Device, you can't create something don't exist

That's why Hackintool can't look up what is this device -> 0x01618086, return the result "Intel ???"

Integrated GPU HD2500 must be working with a discrete GPU in macOS
macOS do not support HD2500 in normal mode

the graphics driver don't understand what is 0x0161

iMac13,2 use these CPU
Intel Core i5 (3470S) - 6M Cache, up to 2.90 GHz - 3.60 GHz, 65 W, Intel HD Graphics 2500 (0x152)
Intel Core i5 (3470) - 6M Cache, up to 3.20 GHz - 3.60 GHz, 77 W, Intel HD Graphics 2500 (0x152)
Intel Core i7 (3770) - 8M Cache, up to 3.40 GHz - 3.90 GHz, 65 W, Intel HD Graphics 2500 (0x162)
iMac13,1
Intel Core i5 (3225) - 3M Cache, 3.30 GHz, 55 W, Intel HD Graphics 4000 (0x152)
Intel Core i5 (3330S) - 6M Cache, up to 2.70 GHz - 3.60 GHz, 65 W, Intel HD Graphics 2500 (0x152)
Intel Core i5 (3470S) - 6M Cache, up to 2.90 GHz - 3.60 GHz, 65 W, Intel HD Graphics 2500 (0x152)
Intel Core i7 (3770S) - 8M Cache, up to 3.10 GHz - 3.90 GHz, 65 W, Intel HD Graphics 4000 (0x162)
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2015
Messages
246
Motherboard
HP 6300 SFF-V3.08
CPU
i5-3570
Graphics
GT 640
Mac
Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, Quadra, SE/30
again, device-id 0x0161 is invalid, no such Intel Ivy Bridge Graphics Device, you can't create something don't exist

That's why Hackintool can't look up what is this device -> 0x01618086, return the result "Intel ???"

Integrated GPU HD2500 must be working with a discrete GPU in macOS
macOS do not support HD2500 in normal mode

the graphics driver don't understand what is 0x0161
@itwas I don't know the intention of the story, but no one wants to use this feature.
If you use it when necessary, you can understand that it is a function whose operation cannot be guaranteed.

I would like to leave the use of the danger at your own risk to the free will of the person who uses it.
 
Top