Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP Elite 8300 & 6300 Pro (all form factors) using Clover UEFI hotpatch

Status
Not open for further replies.

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 30, 2012
Messages
23,293
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
one is connected using the DP-HDMI and the other via VGA cable
Don't use VGA at all as there is no support in Mojave for it. If you only have 1 DP output get a compatible graphics card to run two or more monitors at the same time. The GT 710 will work for dual monitors if you use the HDMI and DVI outputs.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2011
Messages
27
Motherboard
HP 8300
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Maybe I'm a dumb - but I followed the instructions - yet when I boot into the USB drive and launch Clover - no boot options show up (this is at the initial install step)...not sure what I could have done wrong there. I'm going to try to re-do my USB drive again, but wanted to check to see if this set off any "red flags" for anyone of something I may have missed? I read through the full 12 pages but didnt see anything

Note: I AM able to boot into the Mojave install USB when I boot from the clover setup I have on my high sierra drive (from my original install using trs's guide)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 25, 2011
Messages
27
Motherboard
HP 8300
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Re-made the USB. This time it will show up in clover as a boot option, but it will only boot into the mojave installer if I select verbose...otherwise it has a kernel panic. Im going to move forward hoping for the best...famous last words.
 

Sniki

Moderator
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
2,300
Motherboard
HP Elite 8300 SFF
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 3000 | GTX 1650 LP
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Re-made the USB. This time it will show up in clover as a boot option, but it will only boot into the mojave installer if I select verbose...otherwise it has a kernel panic. Im going to move forward hoping for the best...famous last words.
I think it's a known Clover issue, during installation, we have to boot with verbose or else installation will panic at the beginning.
Workaround:
Installation steps boot with verbose, after you finish installation, boot normal, no problems.
 

Sniki

Moderator
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
2,300
Motherboard
HP Elite 8300 SFF
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 3000 | GTX 1650 LP
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@Sniki How is everything going with your HP 8300 and 10.14.2 ? Is everything 100 % functional and meeting your requirements ? Are you going to upgrade from the 4GB of ram since you are using HD4000 which has access to up to 1.5 GB of that ram ?
Solid machine, loving it more and more, 100% functional.

Upgrades schedule:

- 8GB ram stick 1600Mhz for 30 EUR
(8GB clean ram + 2GB from one of the sticks so it can be dedicated for max IGPU - 1.5GB).

- 2nd SSD for Windows (Samsung 850 Pro 256GB) 40 EUR

- 3rd: MSI Radeon RX 560 LP or if a miracle happens and drivers for Mojave show up, MSI GTX 1050 TI LP

This upcoming weekend, if all goes as planned, i will test VirtualSMC.kext as it seems really good now.
Latest update of VirtualSMC.kext fixed a problem that i had on my 8th gen Lenovo V330-15IKB.
I can tell i noticed also a performance increase, this seems to be more efficient and might soon replace FakeSMC.kext
Will do the testing on my HP and if all goes well update the guide with the replacement of FakeSMC.kext with VirtualSMC.kext.

But it's been a very busy December for me, didn't even have time to provide feedback, thankfully you were there to help the others to troubleshoot their problems.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2011
Messages
73
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD5-FB
CPU
i7-950
Graphics
RX-580
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for this guide.

Couple of things from post #1, could someone clarify?

" - Downloaded HP-Elite-8300-HP-6300-Pro Repository from my Github (Click on HP-Elite-8300-HP-6300-Pro) and download as zip like in the picture shown below"

Github has file SSDT-HP.dsl however

"Pre Installation
line 4: Into EFI/Clover/ACPI/Patched, add the SSDT-HP.aml from my repo"


Mentions to copy SSDT-HP.aml, where to find SSDT-HP.aml?

Regarding

"Installation

Step 3:
Desktop-PC will automatically reboot when Part 1 installation ends. now as soon as Clover Bootloader menu shows up, this time you select the "Mac" partition to boot from, the installer will continue with Part 2 now and show the progress bar with time remaining under the Apple boot logo.
Note: Sometimes as soon as the time remaining shows up under the Apple boot logo, the Desktop-PC will reboot once more, if this happens, choose again to boot from the "Mac" partition and part 2 installation will continue and complete.
After the installation has been completed, Desktop-PC will reboot and bring you to the part 3 - first boot user setup."


I followed all the steps, except the issue where I copied SSDT-HP.dsl Into EFI/Clover/ACPI/Patched instead of SSDT-HP.aml (because I don't have the file)

Part 2 of installation does not even start, I get the message:

"macOS could not be installed on your computer
The installer resources were not found
Quit the installer to restart your computer and try again"

Anyone have any idea why this could be?
 

Attachments

  • 18-12-24 23-46-04 1301.jpg
    18-12-24 23-46-04 1301.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 56
Joined
Jan 1, 2011
Messages
73
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD5-FB
CPU
i7-950
Graphics
RX-580
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Update:
I was able to proceed with installation (step 3)
after I disconnected second hard disk which caused error:

"macOS could not be installed on your computer
The installer resources were not found
Quit the installer to restart your computer and try again"
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 30, 2012
Messages
23,293
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Couple of things from post #1, could someone clarify?

" - Downloaded HP-Elite-8300-HP-6300-Pro Repository from my Github (Click on HP-Elite-8300-HP-6300-Pro) and download as zip like in the picture shown below" Github has file SSDT-HP.dsl however.
Mentions to copy SSDT-HP.aml, where to find SSDT-HP.aml?

Once you download the folder and unzip the contents you should see the SSDT-HP.aml. Use that, not the .dsl file.
The SSDT-HP.aml is a bundle of all the separate SSDTs that you need to make everything function in your HP desktop.

Screen_Shot_22.jpg


SSDT-HP.aml contains all of the .dsl files within the hotpatch folder. All the compiling has been done for you. Makes things easier and cleaner for end users. Just a simple drag and drop of the SSDT-HP.aml into the EFI/Clover/ACPI/patched folder.

Screen Shot 23.jpg
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 1, 2011
Messages
73
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD5-FB
CPU
i7-950
Graphics
RX-580
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have WiFi PCI-e 1X Adapter (BCM94360CD) with Bluetooth adapter on the same card. WiFi portion works perfectly however, bluetooth does not, bluetooth used to work on High Sierra out of the box, any chance this hardware could work on Mojave?
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 30, 2012
Messages
23,293
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I have WiFi PCI-e 1X Adapter (BCM94360CD) with Bluetooth adapter on the same card. WiFi portion works perfectly however, bluetooth does not, bluetooth used to work on High Sierra out of the box, any chance this hardware could work on Mojave?
Upload your problem reporting files per the method stated at the end of the guide. Use the gen_debug.sh script, press F2 and F4 keys at the Clover Boot Menu screen before running the script.

https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/tool-generate-proper-problem-reporting-files.235953/
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top