Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP 6300 Pro / HP 8300 Elite - A 100 percent Working and Easily Affordable CustoMac

Joined
Jul 20, 2017
Messages
108
Motherboard
HP 8300 SFF
CPU
i7
Graphics
Saphire RX 570 8Gb itx
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
[QUOTE="feartech, post: 1564567,
11 hours i suppose is about right as it was designed for lower spec machines :)[/QUOTE]

Its hasn't finished yet it's still going. Any idea what the error means?
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
17,364
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
11 hours into memtest (should it take that long). One error found, not sure what this means, see image
What the error is specifically is not important. That it is showing some is. You can stop the memtest. Now try just one DIMM at a time and see which one is problematic. Have one installed boot up and see how long it stays stable before crashing. You may only have one bad module that you can get replaced.
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2017
Messages
24
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-E Gaming
CPU
i7-8700K 4.7GHz
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I attempted to boot in Safe Mode thru Clover with this HP 8300 setup but get the error in the photo below. Anyone know the work around for getting to Safe Mode?
 

Attachments

Joined
May 1, 2013
Messages
21
Motherboard
HP 8300 SFF
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP 4GB
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
What the error is specifically is not important. That it is showing some is. You can stop the memtest. Now try just one DIMM at a time and see which one is problematic. Have one installed boot up and see how long it stays stable before crashing. You may only have one bad module that you can get replaced.
BTW you should be able to run the EFI version of memtest86 which will have a much newer version (v7.4). At startup choose the EFI option in the BIOS boot menu.
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
10,809
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
MacBook, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
I attempted to boot in Safe Mode thru Clover with this HP 8300 setup but get the error in the photo below. Anyone know the work around for getting to Safe Mode?
Make sure CsrActiveConfig is set to 0x67.
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2017
Messages
108
Motherboard
HP 8300 SFF
CPU
i7
Graphics
Saphire RX 570 8Gb itx
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
What the error is specifically is not important. That it is showing some is. You can stop the memtest. Now try just one DIMM at a time and see which one is problematic. Have one installed boot up and see how long it stays stable before crashing. You may only have one bad module that you can get replaced.
removed one ram chip. think i got lucky as the computer has not crashed since, but I did still get one boot that didn't work, not really an issue for me as it always works second time.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
17,364
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
I've posted an HP 6200 Pro SFF guide for those that want to spend even less on their CustoMac. Upon searching the forums for an HP 6200/8200 guide I couldn't find anything that was useful that would help with the install so here it is.

See the guide here: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...re-i3-2100-msi-gt-710-lp.230056/#post-1566950

It's a very quick and easy 5 step guide that even the completely uninitiated can get working in a short amount of time.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 30, 2017
Messages
151
Motherboard
Dell 9020
CPU
i7-4770
Graphics
RX570
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android
A quick question.
Is there any way to connect bluetooth speakers to HP? I mean, I can get it connected and see in the blue tooth menu as connected but in the sound menu no bluetooth option is available. Although after a little while speaker gets disconnected too...
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2015
Messages
10
Motherboard
OSX Sierra
CPU
HP 6300 MT i5 3470
Graphics
Nvidia GT 1030
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android
Hi, I'm having some troubles, does anyone have installed Windows 10 and Sierra on a single drive? Every time I installed both systems only the Windows boot manager appears on my UEFI BOOT SOURCE, even if I have installed the clover bootloader.
 
Top