Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP 6300 Pro / HP 8300 Elite - A 100 percent Working and Easily Affordable CustoMac

Joined
May 5, 2017
Messages
371
Motherboard
HP 8300 CMT
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
MacBook Pro
Interesting. A i7 Dell 9020 is double the price of an i7 HP 8300 for me - hence why I haven't looked further. Also it appears a RX560 or 580 will be double slot so will block the wifi / bluetooth card that I would be wanting to use.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
16,972
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Interesting. A i7 Dell 9020 is double the price of an i7 HP 8300 for me - hence why I haven't looked further.
If the Dell 9020 is 2x the cost it's not worth the upgrade.

Also it appears a RX560 or 580 will be double slot so will block the wifi / bluetooth card that I would be wanting to use.
There are workarounds for that you can read about in the Dell Optiplex thread. The other x16 slot is actually wired x4 and can be used too.
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2017
Messages
108
Motherboard
HP 8300 SFF
CPU
i7
Graphics
Saphire RX 570 8Gb itx
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
8300 MT has arrived, I've already upgraded the CPU from i5 to i7. Is there any advice on selecting a replacement PSU and adaptor cables (for use with the RX 570 8Gb that I'm yet to purchase).

I'm in no rush, so to save some money, I'm thinking about sourcing all the parts (graphics, PSU, cable) from Aliexpress.

Lastly, I'm also concerned about how much room is available in the MT, it's not as roomy for a GPU as I was expecting. The attached photo is with the 710 LP installed
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
May 4, 2012
Messages
8
Motherboard
Hp 8300 sff
CPU
Intel Core i5 3470 3,2 GHz 4 cores
Graphics
Nvidia msi 1050ti lp 4gb ram
Mac
iMac, Mac Pro
Hi guys
For your information I've successfully installed a NvMe Disk in the HP 8300 SFF in the slot PCI 3 x4 using this type of adapter
https://www.amazon.de/gp/product/B07SQ12MV5/?tag=tonymacx8603-21



View attachment 451715View attachment 451725

As disk instead of a samsung 970 EVO I have a WD Blue SN550 250 Go Haute Performance M.2 PCIe NVME SSD less expensive

In my case the thermal pad or even the heatsink is not mandatory

By default the disk is not visible under the BIOS but visible under CLOVER and can be selected to start an OS like Windows for example so kind of "bootable" if you have a CLOVER install on a MacOS SSD

Don't forget to install the required NvMe driver with CLOVER
Hello I’m interested in your NvMe solution.. my question is I sent the performance of such fast drive bottelnecked by the hp8300 motherboard ? How fast read and write speed can the System handle ?
 
Joined
May 4, 2012
Messages
8
Motherboard
Hp 8300 sff
CPU
Intel Core i5 3470 3,2 GHz 4 cores
Graphics
Nvidia msi 1050ti lp 4gb ram
Mac
iMac, Mac Pro
Hello guys might need some advise , I’m now running 2 computers 8300 sff. Sierra 10.12.6 with nvidia 1050ti. Running great. But wanted to update, my setup to support more monitors/Projectors . with 1050ti its max is 4 monitors/projectors .

i have an Asus matrix Radeon 7970 card that runs Well in Sierra 10.12.6. ( using external powersupply and extension cable) But then run Mojave or Catalina . Using sniki guide I couldn’t get it to work with VirtualSmc kext. So tryed with fake SMC and that booted and I got it to recognise the card and it worked somehow , but unstable could work for 20 minutes do all kinds of geek bench and so.. but sometimes it just make small squares 2x2 millimetres pixel on some parts off the screen, fan speed go high and computer freezes .. that happens when it’s not doing and workload.. totally random ? Any ideas ?

Does anyone have a EFIfolder to share , for a I5 3470 cpu sff 8300 ? Catalina or Mojave ?

last question is it a must to have trimforce enabled in Mojave/Catalina on a Wd 240 ssd the green one ?

bonus info I’m using computers for theatre video artwork.. and they play very well pro res with 4x 1920x1080 screens at 56 procent cpu. With 1050ti
On the 7970 card I tryed playing 7 x 1920x1080 in Hap codec and that’s gpu accelerated and played smooth at 15 procent cpu load very amazing performance such low cost computer.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
16,972
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
I'm also concerned about how much room is available in the MT, it's not as roomy for a GPU as I was expecting.
That's not an 8300 MT Case you've got there. It looks like it's a 6300 Pro MT case and motherboard. Where did you buy it and how did they list it ? The 6300 Pro MT is really the size of an mATX computer not a mini-tower. It's misleading.

Here's how the 8300 MT board should look. It's more like an ATX form factor, not BTX like the picture you show.

Screen Shot 5.jpg


You can see all the PCIe slots are to the right of the rear panel I/O ports for video/usb etc.

The Picture below is similar to the board that you have. PCIe slots on the opposite side, to the left of the I/O.

Screen Shot 6.jpg
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 20, 2017
Messages
108
Motherboard
HP 8300 SFF
CPU
i7
Graphics
Saphire RX 570 8Gb itx
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
thanks and bugger! I got it on ebay, it was listed as 8300 MT, it says 8300 on the case twice (see images).

Is there a disadvantage to the 6300 over the 8300?

Is there a definitive way to prove to the seller and eBay that this is not the 8300 MT as listed?

Update: I've done a bit more digging and found the "Illustrated Parts & Service Map HP Compaq 8300 Elite Business PC Microtower". Page 4 features an image of the motherboard that, to my novice eye, appears to match what I have.

Screenshot 2020-05-28 at 23.26.56.png
Screenshot 2020-05-28 at 23.31.00.png

What do you think? Seems unlikely, but is this a version of the motherboard you've not encountered before?
 

Attachments

Last edited:

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
16,972
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
it was listed as 8300 MT, it says 8300 on the case twice
What country are you in ? HP may have done things differently in some countries. I think in this case it may be the HP 8300 SFF motherboard installed into the HP 6300 Pro MT case. So technically it is an 8300, just not in the HP 8300 MT case. You can also look in your BIOS under system informantion and see what it says there. Post a picture of it.

I know that in the USA, only the 6300 Pro motherboards were installed into the case you've got. All HP 8300 ATX size boards went into the larger Mini-Tower case.

Here's the 8300 MT case. It's much bigger and holds more hard drives and 5.25" drives.

Screen Shot 5.jpg
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2017
Messages
108
Motherboard
HP 8300 SFF
CPU
i7
Graphics
Saphire RX 570 8Gb itx
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
I'm in the UK. In case you missed it, I edited my post above with more info.

Isn't that image of the CMT?
MT = Microtower
CMT = Convertiable Minitower

What matters most now if I can make the RX570 or RX480 fit inside.
 

Attachments

Last edited:

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
16,972
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
I'm in the UK.
You got the right one then. In the USA only the 6300 Pro Motherboard goes into that smaller mATX size MT case. 8300 Elite boards go into the tower "CMT" case. You'll just have to live with the smaller amount of room you get in contrast to the 8300 CMT. At the US Ebay site every MT or MicroTower has the 6300 Pro board.

 
Last edited:
Top