Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP 6300 Pro / HP 8300 Elite - A 100 percent Working and Easily Affordable CustoMac

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
16,774
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Thanks for your help. It is a bit more expensive than I want to spend.
Do you think I should look for a second hand? I am worried that they could be overclocked and pretty worn down.
Choices choices choices...
An NVS 510 could work for you in the short term till you can get a newer AMD card. Requires a mini-DP to DP adapter.
https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B016ZHGIPM/?tag=tonymacx86-21

Another Nvidia option would be a GT 740 kepler version which is still natively supported in Catalina.
Don't see any of those on Amazon UK but you could look at some other sites too. The GT 710 isn't worth spending 45 dollars on to use for video editing. It's mostly for those with unsupported HD 2500 graphics and those that want HDMI 2.0 output for a 4K TV. Merely an HTPC graphics card, not for gaming or editing video.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
20
Motherboard
HP QV993AV
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
GTX 1050 TI
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Is this the correct RX560 for a HP 8300 CMT? It will allow me to upgrade to Mojave or Catalina ? I hate to part with me GTX 1050 Ti. Will this card be similar or is there a better choice?

GIGABYTE Radeon RX 560 Newegg $99
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
16,774
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
I hate to part with me GTX 1050 Ti. Will this card be similar or is there a better choice?
This is a good choice. Fully supported in Mojave and Catalina. You can game with it in Windows too. Great price. Get one while they're still available.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2017
Messages
775
Motherboard
Gigabyte H110MSTX-HD3
CPU
i3-7100
Graphics
HD 630
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Is this the correct RX560 for a HP 8300 CMT? It will allow me to upgrade to Mojave or Catalina ? I hate to part with me GTX 1050 Ti. Will this card be similar or is there a better choice?
I agree with trs96, for that price you can't go wrong!. I once owned a 1050 Ti and don't regret replacing it one bit. I got an MSI RX 560, there's a lot less tearing when gaming I think. The 1050 Ti would tear the screen a lot when moving large images across the screen, in game and design environments. I don't see that often with the RX560, it's generally kinder to the eyes.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
48
Motherboard
HP Probook 4730s - F.61 - Clover UEFI
CPU
I5-2450M/HM65
Graphics
HD 3000, HD 6490M
Mobile Phone
Android
Fyi. I bought a TP-Link Archer T9E and despite it's out of the box status it did not work OOTB. The card was recognised, but it showed only a few wifi networks and trying to connect to one failed after typing in the correct password.

After googling i found people have been having problems with it in a specific PCIe slot which in the case of my HP 8300 MT seems to be the x1 slot for which it is mainly designed. So i moved it to the x16 slot and now it's working without issues! You could also move it to the x4 slot, but i couldn't because the heat sink of my Asus 710-2-SL graphics card is blocking it.

As a side note, I had to put the gpu to the x4 slot because when it's in the x16 slot the heatsink blocks the x4, leaving the x1 as the only free and accessible slot in which the wifi card doesn't work properly. The gpu is an x16 card, but since i'm not doing anything graphic intensive it doesn't matter to me and it works just as before.

If by any chance anyone has any further info on this matter, shoot up. It would be of course optimal to be able to put it in the x1 slot!
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2012
Messages
59
Motherboard
HP 8300
CPU
I7-3770
Graphics
GTX 1030
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, iMac, Plus, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
sorry to rehash this again.. the rx560 low profiles are still too expensive, i was hoping the used market would drop, what is the next best thing, both performance and compatibility to the SFF 8300s?
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
16,774
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
sorry to rehash this again.. the rx560 low profiles are still too expensive, i was hoping the used market would drop, what is the next best thing, both performance and compatibility to the SFF 8300s?
Some have resorted to importing a Yeston RX550 LP from China to use in place of the LP RX 560. I have not tested one and I'm not endorsing it if you can't risk buying from China. Returns would be difficult to say the least. Watch the video. A few people have said they work with macOS but haven't given full details on it. For it to work, get one that has 4GB of vram and 640 SP or Stream Processors. Ones with 512 SP will not work.

 
Last edited:
Joined
May 5, 2017
Messages
369
Motherboard
HP 8300 CMT
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
MacBook Pro
Some have resorted to importing a Yeston RX550 LP from China to use in place of the LP RX 560. I have not tested one and I'm not endorsing it if you can't risk buying from China. Returns would be difficult to say the least. Watch the video. A few people have said they work with macOS but haven't given full details on it. For it to work, get on that has 4GB of vram and 640 SP or Stream Processors. Ones with 512 SP will not work.

Is the RX550 well supported?
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
16,774
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Is the RX550 well supported?
I've never had one to test. Just going by reports from others in the forums. I don't think the GPU is really a 550. It's more likely a 460 or 470 that has been re-branded to make it seem newer. The 460/470 are fully supported.
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2012
Messages
59
Motherboard
HP 8300
CPU
I7-3770
Graphics
GTX 1030
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, iMac, Plus, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
I've never had one to test. Just going by reports from others in the forums. I don't think the GPU is really a 550. It's more likely a 460 or 470 that has been re-branded to make it seem newer. The 460/470 are fully supported.
I guess i can give it a try, any one one to pitch in? :cool:
 
Top