Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP 6300 Pro / HP 8300 Elite - A 100 percent Working and Easily Affordable CustoMac

Joined
Oct 22, 2011
Messages
139
Motherboard
HP Elite 8300 MT
CPU
i5-3470
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Plus
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I wouldn't advise using Clover 5126 with Big Sur. OC is going to be the better choice there. Sniki will be posting his OC guide for the HP 8300 and Big Sur. Be looking for that in his posts very soon, before the end of this month.

Search for his profile, click on follow and you'll get a notification as soon as it goes live on this site.

View attachment 496548
Thanks, that worked.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 22, 2011
Messages
139
Motherboard
HP Elite 8300 MT
CPU
i5-3470
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Plus
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
That's what I would do. OC and Big Sur works best with a clean installation.
I switched to 15,1 and stayed on 10.16.7 but I notice now that 8300 wakes up immediately after being put to sleep. Not sure if that was because of the change. I re-did some of the (disable) hibernation terminal commands, but no effect. Any ideas how I can to fix that? Life has been so good, this is very annoying. Thanks.

Edit....Never mind. I forgot that I have to shut off the USB attached external hard disk dock.

*** Feel free to delete this post.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 30, 2019
Messages
1
Motherboard
HP 8300 SFF
CPU
i5-3470
Graphics
HD 2500
Hello there,
I have a HP 8300 SFF with Mojave. It works with no issue, but I want to add an external USB webcam to the setup. Do you have any advice what to buy or not buy?

Thanks
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
21,844
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hello there,
I have a HP 8300 SFF with Mojave. It works with no issue, but I want to add an external USB webcam to the setup. Do you have any advice what to buy or not buy?

Thanksss
Search on Amazon for ones that are Mac compatible. Get at least 1080p if possible.
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2020
Messages
2
Motherboard
HP ELITE 8300 CMT
CPU
i7 3700
Graphics
Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB
This pc system was made like a tank @the HP Elite CMT 8300 . The motherboard stands up still 8 years later in Nov of 2020. I sat here all last night reading these posts, absolutely brilliant. I never even thought of these (windows) pc's could become a *customac* 'Hackintosh' machine. Thanks to cpuid I can see bios is at the old 2.83, so as you link to the bios upgrades I will be doing that firstly. Thankyou. I have just upgraded from the GTX 750 Ti to the GTX 1060 6GB, it runs like a dream. I have had this system for about 6 years myself. The only slight problem I find is the proprietary HP connectors if trying to connect to a different chassis or PSU, etc. I have already added a Corsair 550watt PSU when I bought the unit (to stock chassis) for graphics card power (instead of stock 320watt PSU) and an 120GB SSD for OS loading times etc. Have 2 hard-drives installed as well as SSD. Is there any problems you could see with using my setup?
 
Last edited:

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
21,844
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Is there any problems you could see with using my setup?
The newest macOS you can install is High Sierra if you want to use the GTX 1060 gfx card. If you remove it and use just the HD4000 then you can upgrade all the way to Big Sur.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 19, 2011
Messages
23
Motherboard
DeskMini 110 W (H110M-STX)
CPU
i3-7100
Graphics
HD 630
Hello there,
I have a HP 8300 SFF with Mojave. It works with no issue, but I want to add an external USB webcam to the setup. Do you have any advice what to buy or not buy?

Thanks
If you're on a budget, and don't mind ~720p, get a Microsoft Lifecam HD 3000; plug-n-play goodness on Macs-Hacs. It is of acceptable quality for coms and general purpose (all-around) use, IMHO. One can tweek it with "Webcam Settings", which I'm pretty sure is still on the App Store for free.

A better unit, still keeping within a budget, is the Logitech HD Pro Webcam C920, which I use currently for making YT videos, etc.; One can tweek it with "Webcam Settings", as well, getting much better resolution & features. The software that comes with it and most others, (i.e., so-called 'Mac'-compatibles), &/or even 'made-for-Mac' models are way overpriced &/or the softwares they come with don't necessarily work...My 2¢
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2017
Messages
164
Motherboard
Dell 9020
CPU
i7-4770
Graphics
RX570
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi guys and gals. I stopped my 6300s for Hackintoshing after upgraded. I use them for work computers(Win10) and while I was trying to fix something I messed them very badly and I cant start them up, it is nothing to do Windows, I cant even see HP logo , all black screen no video output and after a few seconds all fans start to blow at full speed. I think it is something to do with BIOS. I ended up in this situation after trying to handle KMODE exception error of Windows, the first one started to behave as described above and wanted to try SSD on the other 6300 to see whether it is an issue of SSD or other components and it caused the exact same thing for the second one.I know it is nothing to do Hackintosh but you might have an idea since it is (I guess BIOS related). Thanks in advance
Edit: I had to replace the MBs and problem solved but I could not find a way to fix it through software.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 20, 2015
Messages
159
Motherboard
HP 6300 Pro CMT
CPU
i5 3470
Graphics
GT 710
Mac
  1. iMac
I have an HP6300 that is running 10.14.6. I'm doing a clean install of Mojave onto another SSD drive. My current system has just got too messy and want to start form scratch. So I have Installed Mojave but am having a few issues. I think I have followed all the steps but some things aren't working. Maybe there is something I am missing. I have a NVidea GT 710 video card installed. But Mojave is not picking this up correctly. It says I have a NVidea Chip Model 8MB video card. How do I go about correcting this. Is it a Clover or Kext issue?

Attached is my saved IORegistery file, and Clover folder.
 

Attachments

  • CLOVER.zip
    3.1 MB · Views: 50
  • Gary’s iMac.ioreg
    22.5 MB · Views: 42
Top