Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP 6300 Pro / HP 8300 Elite - A 100 percent Working and Easily Affordable CustoMac

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
21,293
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I wonder if you have been able to fix the Nvidia-no-driver-glitches-fragments-bug-thing?
The only fix I know of is to buy and use a working GTX 770/780 instead.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2016
Messages
176
Motherboard
HP Probook 430 G2
CPU
i5 5200
Graphics
HD 5500
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
As I have seen in your profile, u are using a gtx680 along with Catalina. Now I wonder if you have been able to fix the Nvidia-no-driver-glitches-fragments-bug-thing?
And if, how?
Reading my profile you could have also seen that I was referring to my H77N board. But my post here is about the HP Elite 8300 USFF/USDT. I'm sorry for the confusion this might have caused. But this form factor doesn't support a dedicated gc at all.
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2020
Messages
16
Motherboard
HP Pro 6300
CPU
i5-3470
Graphics
GTX 660
Oh, yeah sorry. The hope has let me overread it
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
21,293
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I was thinking the lag of drivers include all nvidia.
It's mainly the 600 series first gen Kepler cards that have glitches. Especially ones with the GK106 GPU. It's a well documented problem, even with real Macs. Big Sur has dropped all support for any Macs with 600 series Nvidia cards.

Screen_Shot.jpg
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2014
Messages
136
Motherboard
HP ProBook 450 G1-Clover
CPU
i3-4000M
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I updated my 8300 to Clover r5126. After that, the Display (HD4000) started to flicker on one of the display with DP. Literally unusable on this display.
Another Display with DP, doesn't show anything at all.

At this time I should have reverted to prev working version of the Clover, but i continued with Big Sur update. Update went through fine, but the display issue continues. any help ?
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
21,293
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
At this time I should have reverted to prev working version of the Clover, but i continued with Big Sur update. Update went through fine, but the display issue continues. any help ?
I wouldn't advise using Clover 5126 with Big Sur. OC is going to be the better choice there. Sniki will be posting his OC guide for the HP 8300 and Big Sur. Be looking for that in his posts very soon, before the end of this month.

Search for his profile, click on follow and you'll get a notification as soon as it goes live on this site.

Screen Shot 1.jpg
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2014
Messages
136
Motherboard
HP ProBook 450 G1-Clover
CPU
i3-4000M
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android

PBL

Joined
Feb 18, 2017
Messages
70
Motherboard
HP 8300 SFF
CPU
i5-3570/Q77
Graphics
GT 1030
I'm looking to upgrade my old HP8300 from High Sierra to Big Sur in the near future. I have been using a GT1030, therefore stuck on 10.13, but it has been replaced by a GT730 now.

I'm running Clover and my SSD is almost full. So I plan on a "new start" with a bigger SSD and OpenCore.

Would a good plan be to get a new SSD ready, wait for Sniki's guide and when it's out make a fresh install with OC on a new SSD? And when I'm up and running, start to migrate data from my old installation?

Or is there anything, I could/should do differently?
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
21,293
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Would a good plan be to get a new SSD ready, wait for Sniki's guide and when it's out make a fresh install with OC on a new SSD? And when I'm up and running, start to migrate data from my old installation?
That's what I would do. OC and Big Sur works best with a clean installation.
 
  • Like
Reactions: PBL
Top