Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP 6300 Pro / HP 8300 Elite - A 100 percent Working and Easily Affordable CustoMac

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
16,774
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
would also like comparable performance in lightroom and for gaming to the 1050ti I currently use.
Any of them could provide dual monitors at 1080p. I've never used DVI to connect a monitor to an Nvidia card.

None of the Nvidia cards are good for gaming like the 1050 Ti. The MSI RX 560 4GB would be equivalent for gaming.
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2017
Messages
105
Motherboard
HP 8300 SFF
CPU
i7
Graphics
Saphire RX 570 8Gb itx
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
that's a shame, the MSI RX 560 LP appears to be impossible to find in the UK, the 550 is available
https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07DBNJCJX/?tag=tonymacx86-21
would this work?
price of the 560 lp is now pretty high I guess this is due to not being in production anymore
 
Last edited:

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
16,774
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
the 550 is available
250 dollars for a 560 is a joke really, waaayyy too high. Try the MSI 550 if it has an RX 480 chip, it should work. I've never tested one. Make sure you buy new from Amazon so you have 30 day return rights if it doesn't work. Report back how it goes. This is how the posting should look. The 550s that are Lexa based (Polaris 12) do not work. If I were you I'd keep the 1050 Ti and use that for gaming in Windows. Replace it with a low cost nvidia card like a GT 710 when using macOS.

This is the US listing. The one you linked to is different. They may each have a different GPU core. Look for a 550 that says it has 640 or more Stream Processors. Then it should work with macOS unlike the older Lexa RX 550s.

Screen_Shot_6.png
Screen_Shot_7.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 20, 2017
Messages
105
Motherboard
HP 8300 SFF
CPU
i7
Graphics
Saphire RX 570 8Gb itx
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
Thanks for your detailed reply TRS96.
I like the simplicity of just adding the GT710 but I don't think, with the 1050ti and wifi card, I have the space to do this in the SSF case.


My setup is foremost for photo editing (lightroom) but I would like to do video editing also, I don't get time for gaming anymore but it is still a nice to have.

Its a dilemma, I guess, as I'm using ethernet at home, I could remove the wifi card. If I were to get the HP 8300 mini-tower or full tower am I right in assuming I would have many more options for GPU?
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2018
Messages
46
Motherboard
HP 8300 MT
CPU
i3 3220
Graphics
Quadro k600
Mac
Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Hi @trs96,

I was on high sierra and wanted to install Mojave on my Hp 8300 so i bought a quadro k600. It has DP and DVI output. I bought a DP to HDMI adapter but unfortunately, i broke it when setting it up.

20191126_083946.jpg



Then i bought a DVI to HDMI converter and currently usin DVI output.. I made bootable USB of Mojave using UniBeast. Booted through USB. successfully reached installer. Initiated the installed. System restarted. i tapped on Mac OS Install from Mojave. Setup continued installation. It restarted. BUT now my system was STUCK at clover bootloader. I waited for minutes but stuck

what could possibly go wrong ?

I used usb 3.0 port. can this be an issue ?

Secondly, i am thinking of using Integrated graphics because they have less issues. I have read that i can use i7 3770's integrated HD 4000 GPU.

Will HD 4000 work with Mojave and Catalina ?

Thanks
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 3, 2018
Messages
48
Motherboard
HP 6300 Pro
CPU
i5-3570/Q77
Graphics
GT 710
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Color Classic
Mobile Phone
iOS
Its a dilemma, I guess, as I'm using ethernet at home, I could remove the wifi card. If I were to get the HP 8300 mini-tower or full tower am I right in assuming I would have many more options for GPU?
You’d need to swap the video cards over, all models have only a single 16x slot.

The towers give more physical room and a bigger PSU, but you may need to do some trickery with extra power to some cards.
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2018
Messages
48
Motherboard
HP 6300 Pro
CPU
i5-3570/Q77
Graphics
GT 710
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Color Classic
Mobile Phone
iOS
I made bootable USB of Mojave using UniBeast. Booted through USB. successfully reached installer. Initiated the installed. System restarted. i tapped on Mac OS Install from Mojave. Setup continued installation. It restarted. BUT now my system was STUCK at clover bootloader. I waited for minutes but stuck

what could possibly go wrong ?

I used usb 3.0 port. can this be an issue ?

Secondly, i am thinking of using Integrated graphics because they have less issues. I have read that i can use i7 3770's integrated HD 4000 GPU.
The install does go through multiple restarts and I have had to tell it where to boot from in clover multiple times. For example, boot from install usb.

There’s been plenty of warnings about using usb3, I’ve only used the front usb2 ports. Suggest you try again using them if the boot selection doesn’t get you back on track.

The GT710 has been absolutely flawless for me. Never had to worry about it, it has just worked from HS to Catalina.
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2018
Messages
48
Motherboard
HP 6300 Pro
CPU
i5-3570/Q77
Graphics
GT 710
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Color Classic
Mobile Phone
iOS
There are some variants of i7 3770. like Core i7-3770K, Core i7-3770S etc

i should go with standard variant, i3 3770, right?
The S is hardware supported, doesn’t mention K.

I’ve heard the 3570k works but at stock speed - it isn’t listed as hardware supported.

The 3770s is a drop in speed, so if you can get the 3770 I’d personally just go that.
 
Top