Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP 6300 Pro / HP 8300 Elite - A 100 percent Working and Easily Affordable CustoMac

Joined
Nov 3, 2018
Messages
48
Motherboard
HP SFF 8300 Elite
CPU
i5-3570
Graphics
GT 710
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Thank you very much. All usb ports are working, but the usb 3.0 ports do not recognize usb 3.0 drives, only the usb 2.0 drives. Is there a fix for this issue? Here is my cofig.plist. Can you look at it? Thank you.
 

Attachments

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
14,521
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
All usb ports are working, but the usb 3.0 ports do not recognize usb 3.0 drives, only the usb 2.0 drives.
You'll need to upload your IOReg for review too.

You can also look at it with USB 3.0 devices plugged in to see where they show up. Look for HS01-14 and SS01-14 respectively.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 6, 2015
Messages
102
Motherboard
HP 8300 Elite CMT
CPU
i7 3770
Graphics
GTX 1050 Ti
Mobile Phone
iOS
Yesterday I woke up to my Hackintosh not booting, it sticks at "Welcome to Clover 4920 **** Scan Entries ****". I went into BIOS and switched first boot device to Windows Boot Manager and can boot into Windows 10. I can't find my thumb drive that had my High Sierra install I built from here and no longer have access to a Mac (sold my iMac after making this Hackintosh). I have no idea how to create a new thumb drive to reinstall High Sierra within Windows 10 itself.

I did some research on how to access my macOS SSD from Windows 10. I first installed HFS for Windows by Paragon Software so I can see the drive (which is interesting because I thought I was still on HFS+ but HFS+ for Windows found nothing so tried APFS for Windows and sure enough there it is. I could now see my main partition but not the EFI partition. More research and I found that MiniTool Partition 11 will mount the EFI partition so got that and I was able to see and mount the EFI partition. But I wasn't able to access it! More research.

Found out Explorer++ can see the EFI partion so install it and success. So I took the latest EFI Backup which was from April and overwrote the folder in the EFI partition. Reboot and same stuck message.

What can I do?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 3, 2018
Messages
48
Motherboard
HP SFF 8300 Elite
CPU
i5-3570
Graphics
GT 710
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Thank you very much for the help.
 

Attachments

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
14,521
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Thank you very much for the help.
The Kingston Data Traveler USB is being seen as a USB 3.0 drive. Are you saying it doesn't mount on the desktop or that it just runs slower ?

SS means Super Speed or USB 3.0. It shows you have 4 working USB 3.0 Ports.

415596
 
Last edited:

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
14,521
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Found out Explorer++ can see the EFI partion so install it and success. So I took the latest EFI Backup which was from April and overwrote the folder in the EFI partition. Reboot and same stuck message.
Sorry to hear about this. I've no longer got the HP 6300 Pro MT. Maybe some other HP 6300 Pro owner could upload their working EFI folder (With Serial #'s removed) for you to use. This kind of event is why we always say to keep a bootable clone of your system drive on hand for emergency situations like this.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 6, 2015
Messages
102
Motherboard
HP 8300 Elite CMT
CPU
i7 3770
Graphics
GTX 1050 Ti
Mobile Phone
iOS
Sorry to hear about this. I've no longer got the HP 6300 Pro MT. Maybe some other HP 6300 Pro owner could upload their working EFI folder (With Serial #'s removed) for you to use. This kind of event is why we always say to keep a bootable clone of your system drive on hand for emergency situations like this.
What more can I try?
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
14,521
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Joined
Mar 6, 2015
Messages
102
Motherboard
HP 8300 Elite CMT
CPU
i7 3770
Graphics
GTX 1050 Ti
Mobile Phone
iOS
So all I need to do is replace mine with that one?
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2018
Messages
48
Motherboard
HP SFF 8300 Elite
CPU
i5-3570
Graphics
GT 710
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
The Kingston Data Traveler USB is being seen as a USB 3.0 drive. Are you saying it doesn't mount on the desktop or that it just runs slower ?

SS means Super Speed or USB 3.0. It shows you have 4 working USB 3.0 Ports.

View attachment 415596
That is funny. It would not show up in the System Information before. I used kext utility to rebuild cache and repair permission several times. Now it shows up and sometimes it does not. I think the issue is USB 3.0. Thank you very much your help.
 
Top