Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP 6300 Pro / HP 8300 Elite - A 100 percent Working and Easily Affordable CustoMac

Joined
Nov 20, 2015
Messages
159
Motherboard
HP 6300 Pro CMT
CPU
i5 3470
Graphics
GT 710
Mac
  1. iMac
The simple option is to plug the iPad into a wall outlet with an adapter to charge it.
The more involved way is to perform a clean install by following Sniki's UEFI hotpatching guide.
You'll want to use a newer version of Clover than the RehabMan version mentioned in that guide.
Important note: You can't expect success if you mix and match parts of my guide with the UEFI hotpatch guide
for this HP. You'll need to follow one or the other 100 %. So if charging via USB is important, test out Sniki's
guide with a clean SSD or HDD and keep your current one as a backup.

When I wrote this simple beginner's guide back in 2017 I didn't include the more advanced techniques of UEFI hot patching and custom SSDTs. Those give a higher level of fine tuning and refinement so that things like charging an iPad via a USB port will work.

Thanks @trs96. Its not just charging I want to do. I use a screen casting app (Screenflow), where if I plug an iOS device in via USB, I can screencast the device as well. The problem is when I plug it into a USB port on the 6300, it just says 'Not Charging' on the device and Screenflow doesn't detect the device.

I'm going to run a backup, and then try go through and build a custom SSDT via ReHab's guide. Thanks. Looks quite complex, I hope it works :)
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
21,858
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I'm going to run a backup, and then try go through and build a custom SSDT via ReHab's guide.
These Ivy Bridge based Q77 desktops come in under the 15 port limit so no need to disable any of the ports. There is a power property SSDT that you will need along with the USB SSDT for everything to work. Makes sense to use Sniki's guide and repo as all the work is already done for you. Have a look at it.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 19, 2018
Messages
10
Motherboard
Z390 Gigabyte Designare
CPU
i7 - 9700k
Graphics
RX 580 Sapphire Nitro+
Black Screen after apple logo sapphire rx580 nitro+:

I have a bit of an odd situation I recently purchased an rx580 hearing that it has native macOS support and that it was plug n' play, but it hasn't turned out true.

I have a modded hp compaq elite 8300cmt with an upgraded psu that has worked in previous configurations with nvidia cards.
Currently running High Sierra 10.13.6 with current clover download
Card works great on my windows partition

I've gone through several tutorials on how to fix it, none have been helpful.
The closest issue I've seen has been on asus boards where you need to disable the csm.
However disabling legacy boot, the closest thing I could find to csm, causes my monitor to not respond at all even before the clover boot loader.

any ideas? I was wondering if anyone has had similiar issues with installing the rx560?
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2018
Messages
44
Motherboard
HP 8300 Elite full size tower
CPU
i7 - 3770
Graphics
Intel HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey guys! So I need a little help. I have been running my mid tower 8300 for a little over a year without any issue at all except my little 256GB SSD ran out of space for my FPCX editing. I had a 500GB HDD in my machine as well for just general storage so I decided to make a fusion drive and did a fresh install of 10.14.6. All has gone as perfect as possible except for post install, Multibeast fails to mount the fusion drive EFI.

How do I deal with this?

HP 8300
i7-3770
RX 580
16GB Ram
Fusion Drive 256GB SSD + 500GB HDD
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2017
Messages
1,463
Motherboard
Asus Prime A320I-K (AM4)
CPU
Ryzen 7 1700
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey guys! So I need a little help. I have been running my mid tower 8300 for a little over a year without any issue at all except my little 256GB SSD ran out of space for my FPCX editing. I had a 500GB HDD in my machine as well for just general storage so I decided to make a fusion drive and did a fresh install of 10.14.6. All has gone as perfect as possible except for post install, Multibeast fails to mount the fusion drive EFI.

How do I deal with this?

HP 8300
i7-3770
RX 580
16GB Ram
Fusion Drive 256GB SSD + 500GB HDD

I've attempted fusion drives myself on 6300proMT, Dell 9020 and 7010. Like you, I can Successfully create the fusion drive from Terminal from the USB installer. But showing the fusion drive in clover is another matter entirely, I can see the two 'Physical volumes' that make up the 'Logical volume', the fusion drive. But neither will boot, It's just a headache, you'll be better off buying a bigger drive IMO!.
 
Joined
Sep 4, 2012
Messages
12
Motherboard
HP 8300
CPU
i5-3470
Graphics
GT 710
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've run 10.14.6 three times (once time Wednesday, again on Thursday and Friday) later by doing automatic. Each failed. Any way to get a 8300 i5 to "work"? Thank You
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 2, 2019
Messages
3
Motherboard
HP 8300 USDT
CPU
i5-3475S/Q77
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. Mac mini
I got my HP8300 USDT from eBay and - yes! - there are always some great options out there. Another one right now is: i7-3770S USDT with 8G for $120 . My i5-3475s USDT with the HD4000 graphics is just working great with Mojave (that i7 has the HD4000 graphics as well). Sleep/Wake, USB 3.0 ports, great Wifi speed with this really cheap adapter and solid Bluetooth with this one - I continue to be very pleased.

Also - I now use chris1111's Wifi USB Utility - it seems to work with anything that has a Realtek driver. I also looked at corpnewt's USBMap utility (a great way to help you build a custom SSDT) but - for me - USBInjectAll.kext is working perfectly without a custom mapping.
I just replaced my USB Wifi dongle with a $20 refurbished TP-Link AC1200 range extender I got at our local MicroCenter and that has made a big difference. I have no more Wifi instability after a Sleep/Wake because now it's Ethernet instead of Wifi. And the speed is better as well. So I would now recommend going with a Wifi Range Extender + Ethernet instead of a USB Wifi Dongle. (with this model - RE305 - you can even put the range extender on a Power Schedule if you want to do that)
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2018
Messages
44
Motherboard
HP 8300 Elite full size tower
CPU
i7 - 3770
Graphics
Intel HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I am about to go Office Space on this stupid machine lol

But in all seriousness, I am creating a new drive just for testing things out and trying new updates and well, I run multibeast and set the system definition and despite the SMBIOS area of clover config confirming that the change took, when I pull up the About This Mac, it says its a late 2013 27" iMac. In the system report it still shows it as 14,2 system definition. Why is the About this Mac and the system report still showing 14,2 but the SMBIOS saying it is the 13,2 or 13,1 (I tried both since the jury still seems to be out on which one is best for the i7 8300 mid tower) that I have set it to in multibeast?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 9, 2018
Messages
44
Motherboard
HP 8300 Elite full size tower
CPU
i7 - 3770
Graphics
Intel HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've attempted fusion drives myself on 6300proMT, Dell 9020 and 7010. Like you, I can Successfully create the fusion drive from Terminal from the USB installer. But showing the fusion drive in clover is another matter entirely, I can see the two 'Physical volumes' that make up the 'Logical volume', the fusion drive. But neither will boot, It's just a headache, you'll be better off buying a bigger drive IMO!.

So the best answer I have found so far in regards to this is an older answer that I plan to give a try. Basically none of the setup programs like multibeast will be able to mount the EFI for the fusion volume. One threat post on a different site (I am blanking on which one but can post it later if needed) say to basically install macOS on another single drive. Set up clover and all the kexts and then mount that drive in clover config. Open the partition, open the EFI folder, copy the Boot folder, clover folder, and the clover install text file. Mount the fusion drive in clover config, open the EFI folder, now paste the boot folder, clover folder, and the clover install text file. Thats supposed to do the trick so I will give it a god just as soon as I sort out a few areas of concern on this new drive I am setting up to accomplish this. I will report back my results. If this doesn't work, I am just going to quit and save for a large SSD.
 
Top