Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP 6300 Pro / HP 8300 Elite - A 100 percent Working and Easily Affordable CustoMac

Joined
Feb 9, 2019
Messages
7
Motherboard
HP 6300
CPU
i5 > Need model # > See Rules!
Graphics
Intel version # > See Rules!
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
It's best to use Ethernet to connect to the internet first as you'll need ethernet set to (en0 builtin) for Mac app store access. Also don't sign in to iCloud before you've completed the iMesssage guide.
Is there another way to do it without disassembling everything and setting it up on the other side of the house, or having to run out and buy fifty feet of Cat 5?
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
17,553
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Is there another way to do it without disassembling everything and setting it up on the other side of the house, or having to run out and buy fifty feet of Cat 5?
Just take your HP case, not the monitor or anything else, plug in the ethernet from the router and it should auto connect if you've already ran multibeast and installed the Intel kext.
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2019
Messages
7
Motherboard
HP 6300
CPU
i5 > Need model # > See Rules!
Graphics
Intel version # > See Rules!
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
So for now the project is on hold. I either ran into some version of the "clover missing files" bug, or I misread the second- to- last paragraph of step 7 (before 7a), where it says "install them and reboot for a working HW monitor app" as meaning "REBOOT HERE NOW" when I was supposed to have waited to restart until after reconfiguring Clover in step 8. Either way, I can't get past the splash screens of graphics glitch death.

So for now it's happily running Ubuntu.

I plan on being back sooner or later, though. lurks
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
17,553
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I misread the second- to- last paragraph of step 7 (before 7a), where it says "install them and reboot for a working HW monitor app" as meaning "REBOOT HERE NOW"
I took out the part about rebooting as it can lead to misinterpretation. The main thing to get from that paragraph is to wait till later to install HW monitor and the plugins.
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2019
Messages
7
Motherboard
HP 6300
CPU
i5 > Need model # > See Rules!
Graphics
Intel version # > See Rules!
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
Thanks.

I plan on being back sometime down the line and trying again. I got 100% closer this time than I did last time
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2018
Messages
57
Motherboard
HP Compaq Elite 8300 MT
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
GT 710
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hi all,

My HP6300 (20G RAM) with GT 710 works great with High Sierra, even took the latest updates.
My GT 710 works with 2 monitors and no web driver and sound also great.

SOOOOO....should I try to Update to Mojave? Want to know if anyone have done this. Will my GT 710 still work well? I heard Nvidia not supported, so not sure.

Thanks!

hi @watrworld

my system is HP-8300 with GT-710, running on Mac-OS Mojave no issues so far with my gt710 dual monitor works even in 4K @30fps
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2018
Messages
27
Motherboard
HP Compaq Pro 6300 SFF
CPU
i5-3470
Graphics
HD 2500 /GT 710
hi @watrworld

my system is HP-8300 with GT-710, running on Mac-OS Mojave no issues so far with my gt710 dual monitor works even in 4K @30fps


Ok, I just did the upgrade.

Problem, Clover does not appear to recognize the MAC drive.

Slight panic, but I think Mojave is APFS, no? Is there something I need to add to clover to recognize APFS?

SOLVED:

I downloaded apfs.efi and put in /EFI/CLOVER/drivers64UEFI/

Up and running in Mojave now!

Thanks!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 19, 2012
Messages
27
Motherboard
HP 8300
CPU
i5
Graphics
GT 710
Mac
  1. iMac
hmm. I have a really nice install now thanks to this guide. (thanks!)

two things I cannot figure out:

  1. usb charges my gopro (hero 6) but does not mount it as a volume.
  2. the wireless adapter mentioned in this thread does not show up in system preferences.

audio is good, but about half the volume of the winders install on the other harddrive.

i have several other devices plugged into the usb ports (bluetooth/wireless keyboard/mouse) that are working fine. I've swapped devices around front to back with no differences.

any ideas what I've done wrong for mounting the gopro volumes and wireless ?

thanks !
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
17,553
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
any ideas what I've done wrong for mounting the gopro volumes and wireless ?
Specifically which wireless adapter ? Have you connected the BT cable to the USB 2 (media header) ?
You can try the following SSDT for USB. Place it in Clover/ACPI/patched folder on your system drive.
Reboot and then test out your GoPro again.
 

Attachments

  • SSDT-USB.zip
    1 KB · Views: 14
Joined
Dec 15, 2018
Messages
27
Motherboard
HP Compaq Pro 6300 SFF
CPU
i5-3470
Graphics
HD 2500 /GT 710
Ok, I just did the upgrade.

Problem, Clover does not appear to recognize the MAC drive.

Slight panic, but I think Mojave is APFS, no? Is there something I need to add to clover to recognize APFS?

SOLVED:

I downloaded apfs.efi and put in /EFI/CLOVER/drivers64UEFI/

Up and running in Mojave now!

Thanks!

Oops updated to latest 10.14.3 Mojave, and no sound. It was working on 10.14.2. I've re-checked my SSDT setup and all is as specified.

Anyone have any idea? Boot time is also quite long.
 
Top