Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP 6300 Pro / HP 8300 Elite - A 100 percent Working and Easily Affordable CustoMac

Joined
Dec 15, 2018
Messages
22
Motherboard
HP Compaq Pro 6300 SFF
CPU
i5-3470
Graphics
HD 2500 /GT 710
If you don't use the optical drive then you can remove that and put the hotswap bay in there.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B077K41VCH/?tag=tonymacx86com-20
This one accepts both 2.5" and 3.5" hard drives. The idea is to only have one hard drive at a time connected when booting. I have the HP 6300 Pro MT so I've got 2 5.25 inch bays to use. I can keep my optical drive installed and use a bay. This is how the 2.5" SSD looks when connected. 3.5" HDDs stick out much farther.
Nice solution, although in my SFF, I would like to retain the DVD, I'll see if I can find a similar solution for a small bay.

Thanks!
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2018
Messages
22
Motherboard
HP Compaq Pro 6300 SFF
CPU
i5-3470
Graphics
HD 2500 /GT 710
Ok, another question.

I would like to do dual monitor, can I plug the DP of my HD2500 to a second monitor, will it work? Or should I connect another monitor to my GT710 to the Dual Link DVI-D? (if I can figure out the connected needed).


If not, what do people do?

Thanks!
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
12,239
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
I5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Ok, another question.

I would like to do dual monitor, can I plug the DP of my HD2500 to a second monitor, will it work? Or should I connect another monitor to my GT710 to the Dual Link DVI-D? (if I can figure out the connected needed).

Thanks!
Yes, run the 2nd monitor from the DVI-D output, not the DP/HD2500. No support for HD2500, not like the native HD4000 support anyway.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
27
Motherboard
HP 8300 SFF
CPU
i5-3470
Graphics
Quadro K420
Mac
MacBook Pro
I'm using wired keyboard and mouse so I haven't tried that. Everyone with the Fenvi FV-T919 that uses BT peripherals states that it does work in the BIOS.
Not sold here in EU, unhappily. Maybe I have to live without BT on BIOS and fix Asus BT400, that doesn't work. Will RehabMan's guide be the more easy and effective to make it work? I'm happy with my configuration, even sleep works, and got DP audio too, and yes, I made a backup ;) don't want to loose that. But not sure if my usb configuration is perfect, or if that exists, that guide is about that too, right?
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
12,239
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
I5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Not sold here in EU, unhappily
Fenvi ships from China to almost anywhere in the world. Try the Ebay site nearest your country. They use the cityeliter seller name on Ebay.com for some reason, not sure why. Ali Express should also have them.

Screen Shot 4.jpg


As far as perfect USB I don't think it's perfect, you would need to use a custom SSDT for that.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2011
Messages
58
Motherboard
HP Elite 8300 MT v2.99
CPU
i5-3470 3.2Ghz
Graphics
MSI GT 710 silent
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
In the install guide it states:

Dual Booting with Windows/Linux : These HP desktops make very good dual or even triple boot systems. Since you will be installing macOS for UEFI booting you will need to also install Windows UEFI to be able to select it and boot from the Clover Bootloader screen. See: Make a Windows 10 UEFI USB Installer then set up your system to dual boot on two drives: Multibooting UEFI on Separate Drives

I assume that if I'm not dual-booting I don't need Windows 10? Or is this necessary?

My 8300 has Win 7 Pro installed, I'll probably set that drive aside for now, and maybe migrate it to a VM, as I really don't have a need to dual-boot, but I do have a couple of legacy Windows applications that I need to run occasionally, and I've always used Fusion for it.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
12,239
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
I5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
I assume that if I'm not dual-booting I don't need Windows 10? Or is this necessary?
Dual booting with Windows or Linux is completely optional. It's a lot less complicated too.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2011
Messages
58
Motherboard
HP Elite 8300 MT v2.99
CPU
i5-3470 3.2Ghz
Graphics
MSI GT 710 silent
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
12,239
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
I5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Joined
Jan 10, 2019
Messages
8
Motherboard
HP 6300
CPU
i5-3740
Graphics
GT720
Hi everyone,

Finished installing High Sierra using this impressive and easy to follow Guide on my
HP6300 i5-3470 6GB RAM GT720 (BIOS V2.99)
Everything is working so far, except my Firewire Card PCI....

LINK: Startech FireWire Card 1394 PCI

I tried to install a Firewire PCI Card into the only available standard PCI Slot on the board.
And nothing happens, looked in About this MAC "System Report" PCI and Firewire section and both says This computer doesn't contain any PCI and so on..

I booted a Windows10 disk and it works perfectly on this machine, it is recognized by the system and even installed the sound card which is attached, with no problem at all.

I even tried to swap this card with the a different one I have working on my other hackintosh /Gigabyte z77/ and same result, doesnt recognize the other card as well.

I have no idea what to do, im really lost here.

Need badly some help ...
anyone?
 
Top