Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP 6300 Pro / HP 8300 Elite - A 100 percent Working and Easily Affordable CustoMac

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
19,347
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
@trs96 Thanks again for the guide. The last two Elites that I built (SFF and MT with I5 CPU, GT 1030 and HS 10.13.6) experience random temporary (~5 sec) mouse freezes while in Clover Configurator. Otherwise both systems function normally. Is anyone experiencing this and found a solution?
Does the same thing happen no matter which USB port the mouse is plugged into ? Does it only happen with CC ?
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2015
Messages
111
Motherboard
HP 8300 Elite CMT
CPU
i7 3770
Graphics
GTX 1050 Ti
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok I am ready to dump nVidia in my 8300 CMT. What is the fastest AMD card for my system?
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
19,347
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Joined
Mar 6, 2015
Messages
111
Motherboard
HP 8300 Elite CMT
CPU
i7 3770
Graphics
GTX 1050 Ti
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just the standard powersupply, I like everything to fit in the case?
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
19,347
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Joined
Oct 22, 2011
Messages
135
Motherboard
HP Elite 8300 MT
CPU
i5-3470
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Plus
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Does the same thing happen no matter which USB port the mouse is plugged into ? Does it only happen with CC ?
Only in CC. Keyboard and mouse are both plugged into the USB 2.0 ports in the back. I suppose I can try some of the other ports.
 
Joined
Sep 30, 2011
Messages
8
Motherboard
HP 8300 CMT
CPU
I7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hey guys,

I've been around the Hackintosh world for about the past eight years. I've built a couple of machines. The first Hackintosh I built was in 2010 running Snow Leopard, in 2013 I upgraded (kept the case) to a Gigabyte Z77-DS3H running OS X on a 120GB Crucial SSD.

This past November I picked up a used HP 8300 CMT on eBay for £160 (approx $210) and put the SSD in that, after reading through this guide and at how foolproof the whole process looked it seemed like a perfect machine. It came with 4GB RAM, but I kept the 16GB from my last build and added that too.

I've always kept things pretty simple on my Hackintosh builds. I use the built-in HD4000 graphics because I'm not fussed about gaming or intense graphical demands. I use a USB sound card. I never bothered with all the faffing around installing Chameleon on the SSD during any version of OS X, I'd just boot it off the Unibeast-prepared USB stick that I left permanently inserted into the machine.

And yet with every installation I've had, I get the same basic error: on a seemingly totally random basis, the machine will lock up.

With my first build it just used to freeze and I'd have to turn the computer off and back on again. On the second and current ones it's just a total reset. Sometimes, one of these resets will somehow corrupt the SSD and prevent it from booting (black screen, circular logo with a line through it), and the solution is to boot into another working installation of OS X on another hard drive (I have a selection of USB hard drives) and run DiskWarrior 4 on the corrupt drive. This has worked for me without fail over the past five years.

I've never really messed around with much in the way of kexts. When I got this HP, I followed this guide exactly as stated, used Clover Configurator (which was something I'd never bothered with before), and it was working fine... for a few hours, and then I got a reset once more. It's still going on: sometimes it could reboot multiple times in an evening, other times it could run for days without issue.

I don't do much in the way of heavy duty work, the odd WAV editing, video encoding, etc. Most of the time it's pretty basic stuff like iTunes, VLC, Chrome and the like.

Am I doing something wrong? Is this a sign of a faulty power supply or something? RAM issues? Am I just fundamentally missing something in all this process and tinkering? I've done enough fooling around with Hackintoshes to know how to get things up and running but I can't seem to find a solution to this and it's driving me mad. Without the resets, I'd have a 100% working computer instead of the 99% it's currently at, and I'm really stumped.

The main reason I bought this next-generation model to use instead of my previous generation build was that I was sure it would "just work" - almost as Mac-like as you can get, right?! - and yet I here I am, still getting the same damn problem as before.

Please, can anyone offer me some useful suggestions?

Thanks <3
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
19,347
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
his past November I picked up a used HP 8300 CMT on eBay for £160 (approx $210) and put the SSD in that, after reading through this guide and at how foolproof the whole process looked it seemed like a perfect machine. It came with 4GB RAM, but I kept the 16GB from my last build and added that too.
It would be a good idea to test each stick of ram individually to see if one of the DIMMS is causing this. Start with just the one 4GB module that came with it, boot up and run it for a while to see if the same thing happens. Do this with each one installed individually. You can also test the various ram slots too but it sounds like the problem carried over because you carried over the ram from the older build. If after that testing the ram is not the issue then I would do a clean re-install of macOS to the SSD and see if that fixes it.
 
Joined
Sep 30, 2011
Messages
8
Motherboard
HP 8300 CMT
CPU
I7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
It would be a good idea to test each stick of ram individually to see if one of the DIMMS is causing this. Start with just the one 4GB module that came with it, boot up and run it for a while to see if the same thing happens. Do this with each one installed individually. You can also test the various ram slots too but it sounds like the problem carried over because you carried over the ram from the older build. If after that testing the ram is not the issue then I would do a clean re-install of macOS to the SSD and see if that fixes it.

I did already try running a brand new installation on the SSD after cloning my main one to another SSD, and got the same thing, but I haven't tried taking out my 16GB of RAM. Thanks for the advice.
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2017
Messages
155
Motherboard
Dell 9020
CPU
i7-4770
Graphics
RX570
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Updated to 10.13.6 (17G5019) (security update) w/o a problem. I am still waiting for NVIDIA drivers for 10.14
 
Top