Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP 6300 Pro / HP 8300 Elite - A 100 percent Working and Easily Affordable CustoMac

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
21,840
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I add the kexts at /Volumes/EFI/EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other and I get both black screens. :|
tried installing WhateverGreen Kext and Lilu to /L/E or /Library/Extensions on your system drive.

You can also boot with only one monitor connected and then connect the second one when you reach the desktop.
If you don't reboot very often it's certainly something you could live with.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 25, 2018
Messages
18
Motherboard
ASUS PRIME Z390-P
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
tried installing WhateverGreen Kext and Lilu to /L/E or /Library/Extensions on your system drive.

You can also boot with only one monitor connected and then connect the second one when you reach the desktop.
If you don't reboot very often it's certainly something you could live with.

sorry I didn't understood
I add the kexts to the /Library/Extensions and I get the same issue.
Yes is doable but I would like to find a solution to avoid stress on the video ports.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
21,840
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
sorry I didn't understood
I add the kexts to the /Library/Extensions and I get the same issue.
Yes is doable but I would like to find a solution to avoid stress on the video ports.
This is a common problem when using Nvidia graphics. You can find hundreds of posts here on this topic. So if you keep searching those and try various techniques that worked for others you may be able to resolve this.
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2019
Messages
7
Motherboard
HP 6300
CPU
i5 > Need model # > See Rules!
Graphics
Intel version # > See Rules!
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
Setting up the USB now. UniBeast is about a slow as the last time I tried it (which ended up failing spectacularly because my 3,1 mini has a badly failing motherboard and randomly loses USB connection). My 7,2 Air is much newer and has 100% better ports.

Can't actually do the install until I get paid and can get a DisplayPort to VGA adapter, though.
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2018
Messages
31
Motherboard
HP Compaq Pro 6300 SFF
CPU
i5-3470
Graphics
HD 2500 /GT 710
Hi all,

My HP6300 (20G RAM) with GT 710 works great with High Sierra, even took the latest updates.
My GT 710 works with 2 monitors and no web driver and sound also great.

SOOOOO....should I try to Update to Mojave? Want to know if anyone have done this. Will my GT 710 still work well? I heard Nvidia not supported, so not sure.

Thanks!
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
21,840
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi all,

My HP6300 (20G RAM) with GT 710 works great with High Sierra, even took the latest updates.
My GT 710 works with 2 monitors and no web driver and sound also great.

SOOOOO....should I try to Update to Mojave? Want to know if anyone have done this. Will my GT 710 still work well? I heard Nvidia not supported, so not sure.

Thanks!
It will work as the GT 710 is Kepler based and not Pascal. All of the Pascal cards need to have web drivers to work.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
21,840
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
GIGABYTE Radeon RX 560 4GB
This is the lowest cost, OOB compatible new AMD card you can buy.
After Rebate it's just $105 - rebate offer is good till the end of this month 2/28/19
See it at Newegg
Note: It will only fit in the HP 6300 Pro MT or the HP Elite 8300 MT as it is a full height card.
Needs no 6 pin supplemental power so your existing 320W HP PSU can easily power this card.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 15, 2018
Messages
31
Motherboard
HP Compaq Pro 6300 SFF
CPU
i5-3470
Graphics
HD 2500 /GT 710
It will work as the GT 710 is Kepler based and not Pascal. All of the Pascal cards need to have web drivers to work.

Great, thanks! I'll make my usual bootable clone backup.

Should I simply go ahead and update from Apple? Any gotchas?

Thanks!
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
21,840
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Joined
Jul 30, 2017
Messages
164
Motherboard
Dell 9020
CPU
i7-4770
Graphics
RX570
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
OK, I thought it was enough and decided to swap my 1030 with children's GT710 and update Mojave. Swap went fine, needed to change metal profile bits and rest was OK. Booted nicely HS. Updated Clover and replaced FakeSMC with the latest one. Downloaded Mojave from AppStore and attempted to update.And the **** hit the fan! New Clover visual appeared, chose the right drive and I got a black screen, tried other drives and no luck it was the same (except Win10 which was booting fine) I googled and found the following guide and followed.Bingo, Clover went back to normal.Apparently, during the update Clover lost an essential filed and it needed to be replaced on "Clover Shell". Honestly it looks complicated but not. I have realised the name of the missing file on my case was a character different (OsxAptioFix2Drv-64.efi / OsxAptioFix3Drv-64.efi ) once my first attempted failed, I checked the name of the file carefully and realised the error I made, did same thing again but used the correct name.
I am just wondering? Is there any other way to solve it? I mean using bootable USB stick or something else. I just want to learn a bit more.
I wanted to share my experience with you guys and gals.


PS Mojave works just fine
 
Top