Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP 6300 Pro / HP 8300 Elite - A 100 percent Working and Easily Affordable CustoMac

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
21,886
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
HP 6300 Pro SFF for sale on Newegg
This sale is good for the next 4 days from today. $59.99 and free shipping.
It's quite common to pay about 60 USD for an HTPC case like this on Newegg.
You can get the whole PC and a Windows 7 Pro license too for this much.

This is from CTechCity a Newegg Marketplace Seller.
You will need to swap out the CPU for an Ivy Bridge Core i3 - i5 -i7 CPU.
i3-3225, i5-3475S or i7-3770 would be three good examples.
Get one with HD4000 if you can. That will work with Mojave.
Add some more ram and you're all set with a budget Hackintosh that works !


https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA6A35AT4464&utm_medium=Email&utm_source=IGNEFL102618C&cm_mmc=EMC-IGNEFL102618C-_-EMC-102618-Latest-_-DesktopComputers-_-9SIA6A35AT4464-S3A4C&ignorebbr=1[B][/B]
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2015
Messages
159
Motherboard
HP 6300 Pro CMT
CPU
i5 3470
Graphics
GT 710
Mac
  1. iMac
I wanting to have dual boot on my Hp 6300. I have High Sierra installed. And now I have installed Windows 10 as UEFI on a secondary drive. But when I start the machine it boots first into Windows. How do I get Clover to come up first and then give me the option to boot into either Mac OS X or Windows. If I press F9 I can get to my Mac drive and then that boots up into Clover and Mac OS X, and I can also choose to boot into Windows there. But if I restart the machine it tries to go into W10 first not Clover. Am I missing something?

I read up elsewhere that I need to mount both EFI partitions and then copy the BOOTX64-win.efi from the Microsoft-Boot folder to the Mac BOOT folder. is that correct? I don't see a BOOTX64-win.efi on my Windows EFI. Only bootx64.efi in the boot folder and then bootmgfw.efi and bootmgr.efi in the Microsoft-Boot folder.

Any ideas?
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2015
Messages
159
Motherboard
HP 6300 Pro CMT
CPU
i5 3470
Graphics
GT 710
Mac
  1. iMac
HP 6300 Pro SFF for sale on Newegg
This sale is good for the next 4 days from today. $59.99 and free shipping.
It's quite common to pay about 60 USD for an HTPC case like this on Newegg.
You can get the whole PC and a Windows 7 Pro license too for this much.

This is from CTechCity a Newegg Marketplace Seller.
You will need to swap out the CPU for an Ivy Bridge Core i3 - i5 -i7 CPU.
i3-3225, i5-3475S or i7-3770 would be three good examples.
Get one with HD4000 if you can. That will work with Mojave.
Add some more ram and you're all set with a budget Hackintosh that works !


https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA6A35AT4464&utm_medium=Email&utm_source=IGNEFL102618C&cm_mmc=EMC-IGNEFL102618C-_-EMC-102618-Latest-_-DesktopComputers-_-9SIA6A35AT4464-S3A4C&ignorebbr=1[B][/B]

Wow! That is crazy cheap. Add a i7 3770 in there, and its a Hackintosh at a steal!
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
21,886
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
And now I have installed Windows 10 as UEFI on a secondary drive. But when I start the machine it boots first into Windows.
Here's how you should have installed Windows UEFI. If you didn't do it this way I'd suggest you do so again. This is quoted from Going Bald's dual booting UEFI on separate drives guide.

"The only special thing you need to do for Win10 is create the EFI partition as the first partition on the drive and format the drive GPT partition tables. This is easiest to do with the OS X Disk Utility, I suggest you do it with OS X Disk Utility. Note that CSM must be enabled in the BIOS for the installation process.

For Win10:
Connect a drive, insert OS X Install USB, boot the system and at the POST hit the Function hotkey that allows you to select a boot device. Select the OS X Install USB. At the installation screen, select Utilities->Disk Utility and format the drive single partition GUID / Mac OS Extended (Journaled). When done, exit Disk Utility. Quit the OS X installer.

Remove the OS X Install USB and insert the Win10 USB, boot the system and at the POST hit the Function hotkey that allows you to select a boot device.

Windows shows up as USB: Win10Installer (or whatever you named the USB) and as UEFI USB: Win10Installer.
Select the UEFI USB: Win10Installer and boot the system.

At the installation screen, select Custom Install. At the next screen select the OS X partition and delete it - do not delete the EFI partition. With the resulting free space hi-lited, install Windows to the space."

I would just add that after you connect both your Windows and macOS drives, set the macOS drive to first in the boot order so that the Clover Bootloader initializes first.
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2015
Messages
159
Motherboard
HP 6300 Pro CMT
CPU
i5 3470
Graphics
GT 710
Mac
  1. iMac
Here's how you should have installed Windows UEFI. If you didn't do it this way I'd suggest you do so again. This is quoted from Going Bald's dual booting UEFI on separate drives guide.

"The only special thing you need to do for Win10 is create the EFI partition as the first partition on the drive and format the drive GPT partition tables. This is easiest to do with the OS X Disk Utility, I suggest you do it with OS X Disk Utility. Note that CSM must be enabled in the BIOS for the installation process.

For Win10:
Connect a drive, insert OS X Install USB, boot the system and at the POST hit the Function hotkey that allows you to select a boot device. Select the OS X Install USB. At the installation screen, select Utilities->Disk Utility and format the drive single partition GUID / Mac OS Extended (Journaled). When done, exit Disk Utility. Quit the OS X installer.

Remove the OS X Install USB and insert the Win10 USB, boot the system and at the POST hit the Function hotkey that allows you to select a boot device.

Windows shows up as USB: Win10Installer (or whatever you named the USB) and as UEFI USB: Win10Installer.
Select the UEFI USB: Win10Installer and boot the system.

At the installation screen, select Custom Install. At the next screen select the OS X partition and delete it - do not delete the EFI partition. With the resulting free space hi-lited, install Windows to the space."

I would just add that after you connect both your Windows and macOS drives, set the macOS drive to first in the boot order so that the Clover Bootloader initializes first.

Thanks, I will do it again and create the EFI partition first with Mac OS X Disk Utility on the boot installer. Thanks for the feedback.
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2015
Messages
159
Motherboard
HP 6300 Pro CMT
CPU
i5 3470
Graphics
GT 710
Mac
  1. iMac
Here's how you should have installed Windows UEFI. If you didn't do it this way I'd suggest you do so again. This is quoted from Going Bald's dual booting UEFI on separate drives guide.

"The only special thing you need to do for Win10 is create the EFI partition as the first partition on the drive and format the drive GPT partition tables. This is easiest to do with the OS X Disk Utility, I suggest you do it with OS X Disk Utility. Note that CSM must be enabled in the BIOS for the installation process.

For Win10:
Connect a drive, insert OS X Install USB, boot the system and at the POST hit the Function hotkey that allows you to select a boot device. Select the OS X Install USB. At the installation screen, select Utilities->Disk Utility and format the drive single partition GUID / Mac OS Extended (Journaled). When done, exit Disk Utility. Quit the OS X installer.

Remove the OS X Install USB and insert the Win10 USB, boot the system and at the POST hit the Function hotkey that allows you to select a boot device.

Windows shows up as USB: Win10Installer (or whatever you named the USB) and as UEFI USB: Win10Installer.
Select the UEFI USB: Win10Installer and boot the system.

At the installation screen, select Custom Install. At the next screen select the OS X partition and delete it - do not delete the EFI partition. With the resulting free space hi-lited, install Windows to the space."

I would just add that after you connect both your Windows and macOS drives, set the macOS drive to first in the boot order so that the Clover Bootloader initializes first.

Awesome, thanks @trs96. This worked perfectly and was easy enough to do.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2018
Messages
9
Motherboard
MS-7826 Kaili Motherboard
CPU
Intel i5-4430
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti
I skimmed through the article since I will be doing this sometime in the future as a holiday gift, but real quick, is it possible to make this build with Mojave?
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
21,886
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I skimmed through the article since I will be doing this sometime in the future as a holiday gift, but real quick, is it possible to make this build with Mojave?
Absolutely. Use the newest Unibeast and Multibeast at the time you install and it will work.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2017
Messages
177
Motherboard
Z370 AORUS Gaming 7
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey @trs96 (or anyone else!) :)

For my basic system, I have a fully functional HP 8300 SFF where I'm using the on-board integrated Intel HD graphics to power one 1080p monitor. Works great.

I was thinking about having a dual monitor setup for this system, and I don't need 4k at all, just another 1080p display.

1. Is it possible to use the onboard on-board integrated Intel HD graphics to power one 1080p monitor, and then a video card to power another 1080p display?
2. Or is a dual-display setup easiest with a vid card that supports dual displays?
3. Lastly, what's the cheapest video card that has native High Sierra support, that will have a dual-display setup for 1080p? (RX 550 for $99?)

This is basically a web browsing and spreadsheet machine, so I don't need mega-graphics, but I would like to use two displays with it since I have an old extra display lying around.

Any info is appreciated, thanks!
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
21,886
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hey @trs96 (or anyone else!) :)

For my basic system, I have a fully functional HP 8300 SFF where I'm using the on-board integrated Intel HD graphics to power one 1080p monitor. Works great.

I was thinking about having a dual monitor setup for this system, and I don't need 4k at all, just another 1080p display.

1. Is it possible to use the onboard on-board integrated Intel HD graphics to power one 1080p monitor, and then a video card to power another 1080p display?
2. Or is a dual-display setup easiest with a vid card that supports dual displays?
3. Lastly, what's the cheapest video card that has native High Sierra support, that will have a dual-display setup for 1080p? (RX 550 for $99?)

This is basically a web browsing and spreadsheet machine, so I don't need mega-graphics, but I would like to use two displays with it since I have an old extra display lying around.

Any info is appreciated, thanks!
Good to see you in the old HP 8300 thread !

Yes, it is possible to use iGPU (HD4000) and a dedicated card at the same time. @pastrychef has done that with his HP 8300 with i7-3770. I don't know if he used it headless or not. I haven't tried that myself. So maybe he will chime in. If you want the lowest cost GPU to use with High Sierra, it's still the Nvidia GT 710. Doesn't need the web drivers or Inject Nvidia to work. Every GT 710 I've seen has one HDMI port and one DVI port that should handle 1080p monitors. That's the simplest way to implement a two monitor setup with these 8300s.
 
Last edited:
Top