Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP 6300 Pro / HP 8300 Elite - A 100 percent Working and Easily Affordable CustoMac

Joined
Jan 1, 2011
Messages
73
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD5-FB
CPU
i7-950
Graphics
RX-580
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I tried to install VoodooHDA still no Audio. Also tried AppleALC + Lilu kexts. How to install DSDT patch?
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 30, 2012
Messages
23,312
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Joined
Sep 18, 2018
Messages
55
Motherboard
HP 8300 MT
CPU
i5 3470
Graphics
Quadro k600
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hi,

@trs96 Will gt 210 or GT 610 work with Hp 8300 Mini Tower ? (in case i can't find GT710). Or Maybe i can find but i want to cut cost to minimum.

Thanks
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 30, 2012
Messages
23,312
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi,

@trs96 Will gt 210 or GT 610 work with Hp 8300 Mini Tower ? (in case i can't find GT710). Or Maybe i can find but i want to cut cost to minimum.

Thanks
The 210 will work with High Sierra, the 610 won't. If you want to run Mojave only the 710 will work of these 3 cards.
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2018
Messages
55
Motherboard
HP 8300 MT
CPU
i5 3470
Graphics
Quadro k600
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
The 210 will work with High Sierra, the 610 won't. If you want to run Mojave only the 710 will work of these 3 cards.
Thank you very much for the quick reply.

I was thinking of making a custom build with specs of 8300. Because a custom pc is easily upgradable/expandable.(custom psu and gpu)

I visited market today and found asus q77 mobo instead of intel q77.

So asus q77 should also work instead of intel q77 ?

And what do you suggest. Going with pre built 8300 minitower or making a custom build with same specs?

Again. Your support is highly appreciated.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 30, 2012
Messages
23,312
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
And what do you suggest. Going with pre built 8300 minitower or making a custom build with same specs?

I've never used an Asus Q77 motherboard. I don't think this guide will work well for that motherboard. The BIOS/UEFI will be very different. Most of the Asus H/Z77 boards had a locked BIOS. Makes much more work for you if you use it. The audio chip is different etc. If you go with Asus you'll have to research it on your own. I don't provide support in this thread just because it's the same Q77 chipset. If you want to swap out the PSU and use a better graphics card then go with the Dell 9010 MT. It's simple to replace the PSU for one that is 500W +. The only limitation is the length of the graphics card. Should only be about 8 inches long or less. Something like a Zotac Mini-ITX 1070 will fit well. Of course, you'll need to wait for the Nvidia macOS web drivers for Mojave or else use High Sierra.

https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...he-dell-optiplex-7010-9010-desktop-pc.251736/
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2018
Messages
8
Motherboard
HP Elite 8300 SFF
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
GTX 750 Ti
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I am on v02.83 and trying to update to v02.99 Rev A. but v02.99 is nowhere to be found on HP site.... Shall I just flash 3.07 ? :D
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2018
Messages
8
Motherboard
HP Elite 8300 SFF
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
GTX 750 Ti
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I am on v02.83 and trying to update to v02.99 Rev A. but v02.99 is nowhere to be found on HP site.... Shall I just flash 3.07 ? :D
Ok, I found it under Revision history. ;)
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2018
Messages
55
Motherboard
HP 8300 MT
CPU
i5 3470
Graphics
Quadro k600
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I have successfully installed High Sierra on my newly purchased HP 8300 Mini Tower, with first try. :headbang:First of all, @trs96 Thank you very much for making an excellent guide and helping me in purchase decision. i can't thank you enough. However, still need your help in audio.

Where can i find Multi beast POST selections for my hp 8300?
My Audio was not working so i selected intel ALC2xxx first in multibeast, with no success. Then i rebooted and selected Voodoo, rebooted, audio not working. Then rebooted, selected first option Apple ALC in multibeast. Now my system is rebooting again and again. I guess i have to reinstall. That audio thing has messed up the OS.

1. Please guide me regarding audio. what i should select in Multi Beast Post Install so that my audio works correctly?
2. If i want to multi boot with windows on single hard disk..... first, i have to install windows with UEFI on 1 partition. Then Install High Sierra on the other parition. And my drive should be GPT. is there anything else that i am missing here or it would go fine ?

And lastly, Thank you @tonymacx86 and @trs96 and all the community members for making it happen. You guys are love.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 30, 2012
Messages
23,312
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Where can i find Multi beast POST selections for my hp 8300?
My Audio was not working so i selected intel ALC2xxx first in multibeast, with no success. Then i rebooted and selected Voodoo, rebooted, audio not working. Then rebooted, selected first option Apple ALC in multibeast. Now my system is rebooting again and again. I guess i have to reinstall. That audio thing has messed up the OS.

1. Please guide me regarding audio. what i should select in Multi Beast Post Install so that my audio works correctly?
The guide doesn't have any Multibeast audio options to choose from. You need to either manually install VoodooHDA and AppleHDADisabler kext with Kextbeast or edit your DSDT with a patch for ALC221. Those are your only two options for working audio. That's why I avoided putting any Multibeast audio options in the guide.

Here's what to do, remove the following kexts from /L/E on your system drive: AppleALC, VoodooHDA and the install only VodooHDA and AppleHDA disabler kexts with Kextbeast. Reboot and audio will work. You may have to boot from your Unibeast drive to reach the macOS desktop.

Key Point to remember: If you don't follow the guide exactly as presented it will likely not work and you'll need to retrace your steps back to where you failed to follow it.
 
Last edited:
Top