Contribute
Register

Guide How to Patch AMD Framebuffers for High Sierra using Clover

Joined
Jul 16, 2010
Messages
396
Motherboard
OP-LP3 Laptop
CPU
i7-8750H
Graphics
UHD630 (1920 x 1080)
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Is this still working in High Sierra 10.13.5? This is a great guide and I have 3 Radeon HD 7970's, one is a Sapphire Vapor-X HD 7970 6GB with 5 ports (2xDP, 1xHDMI, 1xDVI-SL, 1xDVI-DL). Another Sapphire 3GB memory that has all the ports except DVI-DL and a Gigabyte same as the 3GB Sapphire 4 ports. The assigned data from OP is basically the same as mine, I just get a black screen on boot. All the ports are active according to the monitor. I have WEG and Lilu in Clover/kexts/Other. All the same settings as in OP. Tried 3 FB so far the ones mentioned in the OP. Also tried one of the 5 port FB's from FB list that Pavo's script generates.

Namako framebuffer does not work for me, monitor shows no active ports, the Hamachi and Futomaki framebuffers both show ports as active just black screen when I get to Desktop, helper card shows Desktop.

My Helper card is Nvidia GT 640 on the 16x primary PCIe slot and AMD on the 8x PCIe slot. I reversed that and made no difference.

No Problem reporting files now until I find out if these cards still work in 10.13.5.

Thanks!

Edited:

Solved didn't realize you cannot have both Nvidia and AMD installed at the same time, AMD will give black screen but Nvidia works just fine with the AMD card.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 22, 2014
Messages
12
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3L
CPU
E5440
Graphics
RX 560
the algorithm is not understandable, where do the numbers of colored tints come from? Can you mark them with arrows? please))
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2011
Messages
111
Motherboard
Lenovo u330 Touch
CPU
i7-4500U
Graphics
HD 4400
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hello. I wonder if some of you can help me to get my VBIOS extracted.
I've tried GPU-Z (Windows), DPCIManager(macOS) and using the PCI sysfs interface to dump the video bios rom (Ubuntu).
It's an AMD Radeon HD 6770M, device id 1002:6740, from an HP Pavilion dv6-6196ss laptop (very similar to an MBP8,3).

I've tried a different approach, to get VBIOS from a Bios update package (called sp55068.exe) using Universal Extractor, Radeon Bios Editor and Phoenix-Insyde-EFI SLIC (Windows). The problem is that "Universal Extractor" reads only the first 64 KB and my VBIOS is 128KB long.

I attach here the BIOS (bin file) that contains the VBIOS, the three VBIOS 64KB files I could get and some images showing the errors I'm facing.

Thank you very much.
Finally I left the config as it was, not trying to get the HD6770M working anymore. Thank you.
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2011
Messages
19
Motherboard
Snow Leopard
CPU
C2D imac 2006 sold
Graphics
Ati x1600
Mac
iMac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
The guide works perfectly in 10.13.6, it is a bit confusing to look for the first digits.

First, you have to search in DPCI which framebuffer uses the video card.

Second, create your custom framebuffer with the video output you are using.

Third, patch the original with the new one.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 23, 2011
Messages
309
Motherboard
Acer SF314-52
CPU
i5 7200U
Graphics
HD620
Mac
MacBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
I tried 2 mod on Namako and Futomaki but none is success. Still black screen on DVI, worse HDMI not working too. Please can people with more experiences help me to check if these patches are correct?
have you ever succeeded? i have the same card. i can get 2 monitors without any problem if i use one DVI and one HDMI.
if i plug in the second DVI the first DVI and HDMI get the same picture and no screen on the second DVI port.
i tried already a lot of options but still only 2 monitors are working.
what i do not understand is, why the BIOS shows 5 ports if i have only 4 physical ports

Code:
R927XO2D.F1 :

GV-R927XOC-2GD/F1                                                           

Subsystem Vendor ID: 1458
       Subsystem ID: 2272
Object Header Structure Size: 355
Connector Object Table Offset: 48
Router Object Table Offset: 0
Encoder Object Table Offset: fd
Display Path Table Offset: 12
Connector Object Id [19] which is [DISPLAY_PORT]
   encoder obj id [0x21] which is [INTERNAL_UNIPHY2 (osx txmit 0x12 [duallink 0x2] enc 0x4)] linkb: false
Connector Object Id [12] which is [HDMI_TYPE_A]
   encoder obj id [0x21] which is [INTERNAL_UNIPHY2 (osx txmit 0x22 [duallink 0x2] enc 0x5)] linkb: true
Connector Object Id [2] which is [DVI_I]
   encoder obj id [0x1e] which is [INTERNAL_UNIPHY (osx txmit 0x10 [duallink 0x0] enc 0x0)] linkb: false
Connector Object Id [2] which is [DVI_I]
   encoder obj id [0x15] which is [INTERNAL_KLDSCP_DAC1 (osx txmit 0x00 enc 0x10?)] linkb: false
Connector Object Id [4] which is [DVI_D]
   encoder obj id [0x20] which is [INTERNAL_UNIPHY1 (osx txmit 0x11 [duallink 0x1] enc 0x2)] linkb: false
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2011
Messages
3
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
One of the DVI_D and DVI_D probably combine into one port.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2013
Messages
78
Motherboard
HP Pavillion 15-cx0500nd
CPU
i7-8750H
Graphics
HD630 / GTX1060
Hiya friends, I have a MSI RX480 Gaming X 8GB (2x DP, 2x HDMI, 1x DVI-D) but the DisplayPorts won't do anything. I've been digging through these framebuffer topics, but I'm stuck regardless whether option I input, the card works fine except for the DP ports. This is on 10.13.6

Code:
Hack-Pro:ATI hans$ /Users/hans/Desktop/ATI/radeon_bios_decode < /Users/hans/Desktop/ATI/rx480.rom
ATOM BIOS Rom:
    SubsystemVendorID: 0x1462 SubsystemID: 0x3413
    IOBaseAddress: 0x0000
    Filename: 06s.r01   
    BIOS Bootup Message:
113-MSITV341MH.154                                                         

PCI ID: 1002:67df
Connector at index 0
    Type [@offset 40760]: DisplayPort (10)
    Encoder [@offset 40764]: INTERNAL_UNIPHY2 (0x21)
    i2cid [@offset 40870]: 0x90, OSX senseid: 0x1
Connector at index 1
    Type [@offset 40770]: DisplayPort (10)
    Encoder [@offset 40774]: INTERNAL_UNIPHY2 (0x21)
    i2cid [@offset 40897]: 0x92, OSX senseid: 0x3
Connector at index 2
    Type [@offset 40780]: HDMI-A (11)
    Encoder [@offset 40784]: INTERNAL_UNIPHY1 (0x20)
    i2cid [@offset 40924]: 0x91, OSX senseid: 0x2
Connector at index 3
    Type [@offset 40790]: HDMI-A (11)
    Encoder [@offset 40794]: INTERNAL_UNIPHY1 (0x20)
    i2cid [@offset 40951]: 0x93, OSX senseid: 0x4
Connector at index 4
    Type [@offset 40800]: DVI-D (3)
    Encoder [@offset 40804]: INTERNAL_UNIPHY (0x1e)
    i2cid [@offset 40978]: 0x95, OSX senseid: 0x6
Hack-Pro:ATI hans$ /Users/hans/Desktop/ATI/radeon_bios_decode_fork < /Users/hans/Desktop/ATI/rx480.rom
ATOM BIOS Rom:
    SubsystemVendorID: 0x1462 SubsystemID: 0x3413
    IOBaseAddress: 0x0000
    Filename: 06s.r01   
    BIOS Bootup Message:
113-MSITV341MH.154                                                         

PCI ID: 1002:67df
Connector at index 0
    Type [@offset 40760]: DisplayPort (10)
    Encoder [@offset 40764]: INTERNAL_UNIPHY2 (0x21)
    i2cid [@offset 40870]: 0x90, OSX senseid: 0x1
    HotPlugID: 6
Connector at index 1
    Type [@offset 40770]: DisplayPort (10)
    Encoder [@offset 40774]: INTERNAL_UNIPHY2 (0x21)
    i2cid [@offset 40897]: 0x92, OSX senseid: 0x3
    HotPlugID: 4
Connector at index 2
    Type [@offset 40780]: HDMI-A (11)
    Encoder [@offset 40784]: INTERNAL_UNIPHY1 (0x20)
    i2cid [@offset 40924]: 0x91, OSX senseid: 0x2
    HotPlugID: 1
Connector at index 3
    Type [@offset 40790]: HDMI-A (11)
    Encoder [@offset 40794]: INTERNAL_UNIPHY1 (0x20)
    i2cid [@offset 40951]: 0x93, OSX senseid: 0x4
    HotPlugID: 5
Connector at index 4
    Type [@offset 40800]: DVI-D (3)
    Encoder [@offset 40804]: INTERNAL_UNIPHY (0x1e)
    i2cid [@offset 40978]: 0x95, OSX senseid: 0x6
    HotPlugID: 3

Hack-Pro:~ hans$ /Users/hans/Desktop/ATI/redsock_bios_decoder < /Users/hans/Desktop/ATI/rx480.rom
06s.r01     :

113-MSITV341MH.154                                                         

Subsystem Vendor ID: 1462
       Subsystem ID: 3413
Object Header Structure Size: 350
Connector Object Table Offset: 48
Router Object Table Offset: 0
Encoder Object Table Offset: fb
Display Path Table Offset: 12
Connector Object Id [19] which is [DISPLAY_PORT]
    encoder obj id [0x21] which is [INTERNAL_UNIPHY2 (osx txmit 0x12 [duallink 0x2] enc 0x4)] linkb: false
Connector Object Id [19] which is [DISPLAY_PORT]
    encoder obj id [0x21] which is [INTERNAL_UNIPHY2 (osx txmit 0x22 [duallink 0x2] enc 0x5)] linkb: true
Connector Object Id [12] which is [HDMI_TYPE_A]
    encoder obj id [0x20] which is [INTERNAL_UNIPHY1 (osx txmit 0x11 [duallink 0x1] enc 0x2)] linkb: false
Connector Object Id [12] which is [HDMI_TYPE_A]
    encoder obj id [0x20] which is [INTERNAL_UNIPHY1 (osx txmit 0x21 [duallink 0x1] enc 0x3)] linkb: true
Connector Object Id [4] which is [DVI_D]
    encoder obj id [0x1e] which is [INTERNAL_UNIPHY (osx txmit 0x10 [duallink 0x0] enc 0x0)] linkb: false
From this I made the following Orinoco FB patch:

Code:
00040000 04030000 00010000 00000000 12040601 00000000
00040000 04030000 00010000 00000000 22050403 00000000
00080000 04020000 00010000 00000000 11020102 00000000
00080000 04020000 00010000 00000000 21030504 00000000
04000000 14020000 00010000 00000000 10000306 00000000
It doesn't seem to matter whether I inject any properties, or use Whatevergreen.kext, or even inject ATI besides RadeonDeinit, the result is the same.

Screens, connectors, and cables are tested and working on Windows the the rest of the machine:
X299-Deluxe
i9-7900X
32GB DDR3-3000

2x HP E231 1080p (DVI or DP, testing HDMI with DVI<>HDMI adapter).


Hope I supplied the right information for a pro to figure this out :)
 

Attachments

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
21,755
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hope I supplied the right information for a pro to figure this out
Try this slightly modified version of your config.plist :
 

Attachments

Joined
Jun 20, 2013
Messages
78
Motherboard
HP Pavillion 15-cx0500nd
CPU
i7-8750H
Graphics
HD630 / GTX1060
@P1LGRIM Thank you!

I had exactly the same framebuffer patch before, but didn't see a change. I'm sure I must have set one of the Graphics sections flags wrong at that point, so I missed my chance.

Cheers!
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
21,755
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
@P1LGRIM Thank you!

I had exactly the same framebuffer patch before, but didn't see a change. I'm sure I must have set one of the Graphics sections flags wrong at that point, so I missed my chance.

Cheers!
I didn't change any patches.
 
Top