Contribute
Register

[GUIDE] Getting R9 290/390 (non-X) to work on Sierra (10.12) AND High Sierra (10.13)

Joined
Dec 3, 2016
Messages
12
Motherboard
ASROCK B85M PRO4
CPU
Intel Xenon 1231v3
Graphics
Radeon 390 8GB VRam
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi Guys
I have a R9 390 That ham Currently trying to get to work ...
Can somebody help me out with that ..
I tried fake id
I tried with and without injecting ati
I tried prepping the old kext like describe in this guide but that did not work also...
The card is getting recognized but no acceleration what so ever ..
i am running High Sierra
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2017
Messages
9
Motherboard
ASRock H97 Anniversary
CPU
i5-4440
Graphics
R9 290
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi! Thanks for the guide, my Sapphire R9 290 finally works. I'm on High Sierra, and I followed these steps:
- Set iGPU as primary;
- Hex edits of the first post;
- Checked ATI injection;
- Fake Id: 0x067B01002
- FB: Baladi;
- Latest version of WhatEverGreen, AppleALC and Lilu copied in Clover's kexts folder;
- Reboot.
During bootloader and system loading, screen is blank, but after a while, login screen compares.

But I've a doubt and a problem:

Doubt: system sees that there are two monitors connected; one to the iGPU (named "Monitor") and one (REAL monitor) to the 290 (in my case "Samsung"), although I connected HDMI only to R9 290. Is it normal?

Problem: I don't know if it's the right section, but I'm not able to enable HDMI audio. I follow this guide (https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/applehda-hdmi-audio-guide.234735/), but it doesn't work. Can anyone help me, telling me how can I enable audio on this GPU? Thanks a lot!




EDIT: I fix audio problem! If I can help someone, FIRST I followed this guide (https://www.reddit.com/r/hackintosh/comments/4sil5p/audio_mechanic_old_patchfix_removal_applealc/), and THEN this (https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/applehda-hdmi-audio-guide.234735/).
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 11, 2018
Messages
3
Motherboard
Gigabyte H97M-D3H
CPU
i5-4590
Graphics
Gigabyte AMD R9 390
Hello,
I just want to give a little feedback. I'm currently on Sierra 10.12.6 with working R9 390.
What did the trick for me was what @slead wrote: Oct 13, 2017 at 6:27 PM.
I have a two Monitor setup. Both are working connected to the R9 390. The first at DP and the other at HDMI.
At this moment I'm testing to install High Sierra but have a few problems.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2018
Messages
3
Motherboard
Gigabyte H97M-D3H
CPU
i5-4590
Graphics
Gigabyte AMD R9 390
Update:
I managed to install High Sierra by removing my R9 390 for installing.
After install I made the same steps like I did at Sierra to use my R9 but it doesn't work.
High Sierra recognizes my HP Display which I plugged in at a DP Port but I can't see anything at the display.
I have once seen the mouse cursor but nothing more than that or a black picture.
At an HDMI or DVI I get the same result. I also tried "inject ATI" with FB name: Baladi and fake id:0x67B11002.

Has somebody another idea?

BTW: In Sierra I can use my both monitors plugged in at DP and an HDMI.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2016
Messages
39
Motherboard
ASRock Z77 Fatal!ty Professional
CPU
i5
Graphics
R9 290
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi,
I have followed this guide, however when I boot I only get 7MB RAM and no acceleration. Can someone help me out? :)
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2018-03-01 at 02.25.57.png
    Screen Shot 2018-03-01 at 02.25.57.png
    114.5 KB · Views: 213
Joined
Aug 25, 2011
Messages
3,705
Motherboard
GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
CPU
i5-2500K
Graphics
Sapphire r9 390
Hello,
I just want to give a little feedback. I'm currently on Sierra 10.12.6 with working R9 390.
What did the trick for me was what @slead wrote: Oct 13, 2017 at 6:27 PM.
I have a two Monitor setup. Both are working connected to the R9 390. The first at DP and the other at HDMI.
At this moment I'm testing to install High Sierra but have a few problems.

Where did you download the AppleALC.kext from?

I got my 390 to work somewhat on Sierra but still issues cropping up after security install update.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2018
Messages
3
Motherboard
Gigabyte H97M-D3H
CPU
i5-4590
Graphics
Gigabyte AMD R9 390
@jester969
I'got a clover bundle from a tutorial from another side which fits to my mainboard.
 
Joined
Sep 12, 2011
Messages
18
Motherboard
Asus Maximus Gene VII
CPU
i74790k
Graphics
Asus R9 290 DCII OC
Hi sorry this is not in the expected format, it was hard enough doing the Mac never mind trying to understand the build post page, well, this isn't really a build post, it's more a R9 290 non X post . Please allow, thnx., after many many attempts to get this Asus R9 290 Direct CU II R9290-DC2OC-4GD5 https://www.asus.com/uk/Graphics-Cards/R9290DC2OC4GD5/ to work on an Asus Maximus Gene VII, i7 4790k 'Sierra' build... , I've finally done it. I'll attempt to explain how with lots of pics and few words. Oh, I'm using the display port at 1440 currently, I have not checked other ports yet.
pRtVgpX.png


QO2YlFR.png

KS3gZ8V.png


1. I installed Sierra according to this video,
2.Plugged in the R9 and booted from internal gpu via the bios.
3.Copied this 2 files AMDRadeonX4000.kext and AMD8000Controller.kext from system/library/extensions to a folder on the desktop.
Kq0Uk6w.png
.
4. Right mouse click the AMDRadeonx4000.kext that's in your folder on your desktp and select 'Show Package Contents', then open the 'contents' folder, you will see this
0jccLlf.png
.
5. Have TextEdit program icon in your dock, drag and drop Info.plist on to TextEdit
5. scroll down to the 'AMDHawaiiGraphicsAccelerator part and add the last numbers 0x67b11002 where I have down the bottom of this pic
6WfaWEU.png
and save.
6. do step 4 and step 5 on the AMD8000Controller.kext in the folder on your desktop
7. Scroll down to the AMD8000Controller/IOPCIMatch part and add 0x67b11002 to the end of the numbers as I have done in this pic
P7lVmSq.png
and save.
8. I used Kext Utility http://cvad-mac.narod.ru/index/0-4 to insert the AMDX4000 and AMD8000Controller kexts from the folder on the desktop back in to 'System/Library/Extensions folder, it also repairs permissions etc.
9.Use Clover Configurator to open the EFI partition.
7.Navigate to EFI/EFI/ClOVER
8 open config.plist with Clover Configurator app.
9. this is how mine looks
PLmbUKb.png

0OrCMQ6.png

mAG8wC7.png

WMmVDrx.png

0CULC91.png

000800000402000000010101000000002205040300000000000400000403000000010200000000001204010100000000000400000403000000010300000000001000020500000000000400000403000000010400000000002001030600000000040000001402000000010500000000001102050400000000000400000403000000010600000000002001060600000000
26Zxpm3.png
Data 000400000403000000010300120403030004000004030000000101001102010100040000040300000001020021030202000400000403000000010400220504040004000004030000000105001000050500040000040300000001060020010606
Patch 000400000403000000010100120402010400000014020000000102001102010400040000040300000001050021030202000800000002000000010300220503030400000014020000000104001000060600040000040300000001060020010605
T2MHRCv.png

hUWgIvT.png

save.
10.i used DPCIManager_ML on Mac to get the rom file from the R9 , by clicking the eye next to the card you can select a folder to save it to.
K5CTOVB.png

11. I renamed this file to SSDT290 and changed the extension to .aml, SSDT290.aml and put it in EFI/EFI/CLOVER/ACPI/patched folder
9m0Id07.png
, I also downloaded Lilu.kext and WhateverGreen.kext and put them in EFI/EFI/ClOVER/kexts/Other folder.
12. reboot with PCIe or auto selected via bios and hopefully you will have the same results as i.
 
Last edited:
Top