Contribute
Register

[GUIDE] Getting R9 290/390 (non-X) to work on Sierra (10.12) AND High Sierra (10.13)

Joined
May 24, 2011
Messages
13
Motherboard
MSI Z97 G55 SLI
CPU
i5 4690K
Graphics
R9 290 4GB TRI-X OC
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Does anyone have a similar issue when the 290 is plugged in = gioscreenlockstate? When I unplug it, I can boot with the integrated onto 10.13.3.

Update: Tested a fresh install on another HDD and SSD. Those didn't need much setup. Running on PEG with Hex edited files.The card was working as normal at 13000 Luxmark Ball. Need to find a way to do it on my working SSD.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 3, 2016
Messages
12
Motherboard
ASROCK B85M PRO4
CPU
Intel Xenon 1231v3
Graphics
Radeon 390 8GB VRam
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi Guys
I have a R9 390 That ham Currently trying to get to work ...
Can somebody help me out with that ..
I tried fake id
I tried with and without injecting ati
I tried prepping the old kext like describe in this guide but that did not work also...
The card is getting recognized but no acceleration what so ever ..
i am running High Sierra
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2017
Messages
9
Motherboard
ASRock H97 Anniversary
CPU
i5-4440
Graphics
R9 290
Mobile Phone
Android
Hi! Thanks for the guide, my Sapphire R9 290 finally works. I'm on High Sierra, and I followed these steps:
- Set iGPU as primary;
- Hex edits of the first post;
- Checked ATI injection;
- Fake Id: 0x067B01002
- FB: Baladi;
- Latest version of WhatEverGreen, AppleALC and Lilu copied in Clover's kexts folder;
- Reboot.
During bootloader and system loading, screen is blank, but after a while, login screen compares.

But I've a doubt and a problem:

Doubt: system sees that there are two monitors connected; one to the iGPU (named "Monitor") and one (REAL monitor) to the 290 (in my case "Samsung"), although I connected HDMI only to R9 290. Is it normal?

Problem: I don't know if it's the right section, but I'm not able to enable HDMI audio. I follow this guide (https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/applehda-hdmi-audio-guide.234735/), but it doesn't work. Can anyone help me, telling me how can I enable audio on this GPU? Thanks a lot!




EDIT: I fix audio problem! If I can help someone, FIRST I followed this guide (https://www.reddit.com/r/hackintosh/comments/4sil5p/audio_mechanic_old_patchfix_removal_applealc/), and THEN this (https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/applehda-hdmi-audio-guide.234735/).
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 11, 2018
Messages
3
Motherboard
Gigabyte H97M-D3H
CPU
i5-4590
Graphics
Gigabyte AMD R9 390
Hello,
I just want to give a little feedback. I'm currently on Sierra 10.12.6 with working R9 390.
What did the trick for me was what @slead wrote: Oct 13, 2017 at 6:27 PM.
I have a two Monitor setup. Both are working connected to the R9 390. The first at DP and the other at HDMI.
At this moment I'm testing to install High Sierra but have a few problems.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2018
Messages
3
Motherboard
Gigabyte H97M-D3H
CPU
i5-4590
Graphics
Gigabyte AMD R9 390
Update:
I managed to install High Sierra by removing my R9 390 for installing.
After install I made the same steps like I did at Sierra to use my R9 but it doesn't work.
High Sierra recognizes my HP Display which I plugged in at a DP Port but I can't see anything at the display.
I have once seen the mouse cursor but nothing more than that or a black picture.
At an HDMI or DVI I get the same result. I also tried "inject ATI" with FB name: Baladi and fake id:0x67B11002.

Has somebody another idea?

BTW: In Sierra I can use my both monitors plugged in at DP and an HDMI.
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2011
Messages
3,736
Motherboard
GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
CPU
i5-2500K
Graphics
Sapphire r9 390
Hello,
I just want to give a little feedback. I'm currently on Sierra 10.12.6 with working R9 390.
What did the trick for me was what @slead wrote: Oct 13, 2017 at 6:27 PM.
I have a two Monitor setup. Both are working connected to the R9 390. The first at DP and the other at HDMI.
At this moment I'm testing to install High Sierra but have a few problems.
Where did you download the AppleALC.kext from?

I got my 390 to work somewhat on Sierra but still issues cropping up after security install update.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2018
Messages
3
Motherboard
Gigabyte H97M-D3H
CPU
i5-4590
Graphics
Gigabyte AMD R9 390
@jester969
I'got a clover bundle from a tutorial from another side which fits to my mainboard.
 
Top