Contribute
Register

[GUIDE] General Framebuffer Patching Guide (HDMI Black Screen Problem)

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
7,542
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Oh jeez! oops yes, i7-9700K is correct thanks! Thank you so much for the response!

that frame buffer/connector patch seems to be doing something, but it's not booting fully.
it gets to a point in verbose then the screen goes black and starts flashing with a cursor every 5-10 seconds

but that's new, usually it either boots, or boots to black and doesn't flash
Please try the attached config.plist. Also:
  • What is the make/model of your monitor?
  • Are you using a straight HDMI-to-HDMI cable (no adapters for DisplayPort or VGA or DVI)?
 

Attachments

Joined
Feb 8, 2013
Messages
92
Motherboard
GA-H270N-Wifi
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
GTX 1070
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Does this guide not apply to motherboards older than Intel 300 chipsets?

In my case I have a Gigabyte H270N-Wifi and a Intel HD 630 iGPU from a i5-7600T (device-id 0x5912). Currently Mojave 10.14.4 is running fine with a Radeon 560 which I'd like to remove. The motherboard provides DVI + 2x HDMI. Will this just work injecting the correct device-id and this guide doesn't apply?
 

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,559
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
In my case I have a Gigabyte H270N-Wifi and a Intel HD 630 iGPU from a i5-7600T (device-id 0x5912). Currently Mojave 10.14.4 is running fine with a Radeon 560 which I'd like to remove. The motherboard provides DVI + 2x HDMI. Will this just work injecting the correct device-id and this guide doesn't apply?

@Bradamante,

The guide applies to all motherboard hardware generations old and new, the main reason to patch the IGPU framebuffer is to ensure that the defined connectors in MacOS's IGPU framebuffer match the physical display connectors on the motherboard.

Cheers
Jay
 

msh

Joined
Oct 31, 2013
Messages
212
Motherboard
GA-Z97GAMING 5
CPU
i5-4690S
Graphics
RX Asus AREZ 550 2gb
Mobile Phone
Android
hi guys, I patched my mobo z77 Framebuffer all seem working. Just I have in gnu name Intel Xeon E3-1200 v2/3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller instead HD Graphics 4000 2048 MB. is it normal? Thanks for your times.

Screenshot 2019-11-21 at 21.02.00.png
 
Last edited:

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,559
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
hi guys, I patched my mobo z77 Framebuffer all seem working. Just I have in gnu name Intel Xeon E3-1200 v2/3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller instead HD Graphics 4000 2048 MB. is it normal?

@msh,

Yes for Haswell IGPU such as HD 4600 that is the default IGPU name .... it comes from an on-line PCI device database.

You can change it to whatever you want by editing the string value for the "model" device property in your IGPU patch.
Just make sure that the model name starts with "Intel" ... EG "Intel HD 4600"

Cheers
Jay
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2013
Messages
92
Motherboard
GA-H270N-Wifi
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
GTX 1070
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Assume I forego the framebuffer patching for now, because I just want to experiment with the iGPU a bit (in fact I have been building hackintoshes since 2012, but always with a dGPU of some sorts). Removing the Radeon 560 under 10.14.4 what settings do I have to set in the BIOS and the Clover Configurator so it "magically" works? I guess I know about the BIOS settings but about Clover I am not sure. I have a single 1440p display to connect to. The specific connector (1x DVI, 2x HDMI) wouldn't matter really.

@Bradamante,

The guide applies to all motherboard hardware generations old and new, the main reason to patch the IGPU framebuffer is to ensure that the defined connectors in MacOS's IGPU framebuffer match the physical display connectors on the motherboard.

Cheers
Jay
 

msh

Joined
Oct 31, 2013
Messages
212
Motherboard
GA-Z97GAMING 5
CPU
i5-4690S
Graphics
RX Asus AREZ 550 2gb
Mobile Phone
Android
@msh,

Yes for Haswell IGPU such as HD 4600 that is the default IGPU name .... it comes from an on-line PCI device database.

You can change it to whatever you want by editing the string value for the "model" device property in your IGPU patch.
Just make sure that the model name starts with "Intel" ... EG "Intel HD 4600"

Cheers
Jay
Thanks jay, it is working now.

Screenshot 2019-11-21 at 22.14.08.png
 
Joined
Oct 31, 2016
Messages
20
Hi,

I'm having an issue with Hackintool, it makes "empty patches"(see picture attached), I was trying to find the right busID/index combination to make my 2 HDMI ports working (I have 1 DP which is working and 2 HDMI port on my Asrock Fatal1ty z170 - HD 530), when I noticed whatever I was changing, it was always that empty patch as result.
I'm pretty sure it's a simple issue, but can't find the cause.

Any idea?
 

Attachments

Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
101
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Ultra Gaming WiFi
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
Sapphire RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
hi CaseySJ I read your well detail guide is there anyway you could help me get sound from my hdmi?Am not really interested in the onboard hdmi I see we got similar graphics card if not the same and am using the gigabyte z370 aorus ultra gaming wifi motherboard.
Your help Is highly appreciated
 
Top