Contribute
Register

[GUIDE] General Framebuffer Patching Guide (HDMI Black Screen Problem)

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,563
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Hey guys I am on Catalina and I have Radeon Vega 56 trying to designate my FB name in clover as Iriri or Kamarang but it is not showing. I downloaded SSDT-Inject FB Name For Vega 56 to add them in /EFI/Clover/ACPI/Patched, but I don't have these folder.

@mangoicetea,

There is no need to inject a specific AMD framebuffer name when using WhatEverGreen (WEG) ...
WEG will read the port data from the Vega's VBIOS and create/inject a Framebuffer called "ATY,AMD,RadeonFramebuffer"
This approach allows WEG to support all Vega GPU's including OEM models that differ from the reference design.

There is no performance or feature loss by just letting WEG do its thing.

As @CaseySJ wrote above the black screen issue is most likely due to bad/redundant configuration data.

Cheers
Jay
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 31, 2018
Messages
8
Motherboard
LENOVO TC-O3X
CPU
i7-8700T
Graphics
UHD 630 + HD 530
(RU)Hello. I'm trying to get to work HDMI output on Kaby Lake UHD630 (Mojave) on Mono-block PC. after Framebuffer patching I'm still not getting output, and Logs have LSPCON Initialization fails (by WEG). Googling brings me Nothing. Help, Please.
 

Attachments

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
15,621
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
(RU)Hello. I'm trying to get to work HDMI output on Kaby Lake UHD630 (Mojave) on Mono-block PC. after Framebuffer patching I'm still not getting output, and Logs have LSPCON Initialization fails (by WEG). Googling brings me Nothing. Help, Please.
As per rules, please update your hardware profile to allow others to help you easier
 

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,563
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
(RU)Hello. I'm trying to get to work HDMI output on Kaby Lake UHD630 (Mojave) on Mono-block PC. after Framebuffer patching I'm still not getting output, and Logs have LSPCON Initialization fails (by WEG)

@Hex0S,

You have a Coffee Lake CPU (i7-8700T) not Kaby Lake as you state in your post.

You have errors in the device properties section of your config.plist :-

Code:
        <key>Properties</key>
        <dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0)/Pci(0x02,0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
                <data>
                AACbPg==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-fbmem</key>
                <data>
                AACQAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
                <key>framebuffer-stolenmem</key>
                <data>
                AAAwAQ==
                </data>
            </dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1f,0x3)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,31,3</string>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>Audio device</string>
                <key>hda-gfx</key>
                <string>onboard-1</string>
                <key>layout-id</key>
                <data>
                AAAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Cannon Lake PCH cAVS</string>
            </dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
                <data>
                CQClPg==
                </data>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,2,0</string>
                <key>device-id</key>
                <data>
                kj4AAA==
                </data>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>VGA compatible controller</string>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-busid</key>
                <data>
                BAAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-type</key>
                <data>
                AAgAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>hda-gfx</key>
                <string>onboard-1</string>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Intel UHD Graphics 630 (Desktop)</string>
            </dict>
        </dict>

You are injecting two sets of IGPU properties at the following PCIe paths :-
  • PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)
  • PciRoot(0)/Pci(0x02,0)
Although the two PCI paths are defined differently they equate to the same, this will confuse WEG as there is no way to know which one it will be using. Recommend you remove the key PciRoot(0)/Pci(0x02,0) and all device properties below it as its quite likely to be over-riding the properties at key PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0) which could be the source of your issue.

I suspect that you manually added the first set of IGPU properties PciRoot(0)/Pci(0x02,0) and then used Hackintool to generate patch code for the second set ... as the first set is incorrectly define (hex numbers must start with "0x") hackintool did not remove the old (incorrect) properties.

Cheers
Jay
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 31, 2018
Messages
8
Motherboard
LENOVO TC-O3X
CPU
i7-8700T
Graphics
UHD 630 + HD 530
@Hex0S,

You have a Coffee Lake CPU (i7-8700T) not Kaby Lake as you state in your post.

You have errors in the device properties section of your config.plist :-

Code:
        <key>Properties</key>
        <dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0)/Pci(0x02,0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
                <data>
                AACbPg==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-fbmem</key>
                <data>
                AACQAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <integer>1</integer>
                <key>framebuffer-stolenmem</key>
                <data>
                AAAwAQ==
                </data>
            </dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1f,0x3)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,31,3</string>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>Audio device</string>
                <key>hda-gfx</key>
                <string>onboard-1</string>
                <key>layout-id</key>
                <data>
                AAAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Cannon Lake PCH cAVS</string>
            </dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
                <data>
                CQClPg==
                </data>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,2,0</string>
                <key>device-id</key>
                <data>
                kj4AAA==
                </data>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>VGA compatible controller</string>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-busid</key>
                <data>
                BAAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-type</key>
                <data>
                AAgAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>hda-gfx</key>
                <string>onboard-1</string>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Intel UHD Graphics 630 (Desktop)</string>
            </dict>
        </dict>

You are injecting two sets of IGPU properties at the following PCIe paths :-
  • PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)
  • PciRoot(0)/Pci(0x02,0)
Although the two PCI paths are defined differently they equate to the same, this will confuse WEG as there is no way to know which one it will be using. Recommend you remove the key PciRoot(0)/Pci(0x02,0) and all device properties below it as its quite likely to be over-riding the properties at key PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0) which could be the source of your issue.

I suspect that you manually added the first set of IGPU properties PciRoot(0)/Pci(0x02,0) and then used Hackintool to generate patch code for the second set ... as the first set is incorrectly define (hex numbers must start with "0x") hackintool did not remove the old (incorrect) properties.

Cheers
Jay
Thank you for answer. I correct Clover config and play with it. I fix some issues with USB3.0, rebooting, shutdown & etc. but I still cannot get output on HDMI. here is log (FBHDMICON) and updated CLOVER.
 

Attachments

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,563
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Thank you for answer. I correct Clover config and play with it. I fix some issues with USB3.0, rebooting, shutdown & etc. but I still cannot get output on HDMI. here is log (FBHDMICON) and updated CLOVER.

@Hex0S,

In your config.plist you are using PlatformID 0x3EA50009 which is not for UHD 630 IGPU :-

Code:
ID: 3EA50009, STOLEN: 57 MB, FBMEM: 0 bytes, VRAM: 1536 MB, Flags: 0x00830B0A
TOTAL STOLEN: 58 MB, TOTAL CURSOR: 1 MB (1572864 bytes), MAX STOLEN: 172 MB, MAX OVERALL: 173 MB (181940224 bytes)
GPU Name: Intel Iris Plus Graphics 655
Model Name(s):
Camelia: V3
Mobile: 1, PipeCount: 3, PortCount: 3, FBMemoryCount: 3
[0] busId: 0x00, pipe: 8, type: 0x00000002, flags: 0x00000098 - LVDS
[1] busId: 0x05, pipe: 9, type: 0x00000400, flags: 0x000001C7 - DP
[2] busId: 0x04, pipe: 10, type: 0x00000400, flags: 0x000001C7 - DP
00000800 02000000 98000000
01050900 00040000 C7010000
02040A00 00040000 C7010000

A better match would be PlatformID 0x3E9B0009 which is for Mobile UHD 630 IGPU :-

Code:
ID: 3E9B0009, STOLEN: 57 MB, FBMEM: 0 bytes, VRAM: 1536 MB, Flags: 0x0083130A
TOTAL STOLEN: 58 MB, TOTAL CURSOR: 1 MB (1572864 bytes), MAX STOLEN: 172 MB, MAX OVERALL: 173 MB (181940224 bytes)
GPU Name: Intel UHD Graphics 630
Model Name(s):
Camelia: V3
Mobile: 1, PipeCount: 3, PortCount: 3, FBMemoryCount: 3
[0] busId: 0x00, pipe: 8, type: 0x00000002, flags: 0x00000098 - LVDS
[1] busId: 0x05, pipe: 9, type: 0x00000400, flags: 0x00000187 - DP
[2] busId: 0x04, pipe: 10, type: 0x00000400, flags: 0x00000187 - DP
00000800 02000000 98000000
01050900 00040000 87010000
02040A00 00040000 87010000

You will then need to configure one of the the DP connectors as a HDMI port using the guide in post #1 :-



I dont have a Coffee Lake Mobile system to test with, but that is what i would do ...

Why do you have UHD 630 + HD 530 defined in your Hardware Profile ?, does not make any sense ....

Cheers
Jay
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 31, 2018
Messages
8
Motherboard
LENOVO TC-O3X
CPU
i7-8700T
Graphics
UHD 630 + HD 530
@Hex0S,

In your config.plist you are using PlatformID 0x3EA50009 which is not for UHD 630 IGPU :-

Code:
ID: 3EA50009, STOLEN: 57 MB, FBMEM: 0 bytes, VRAM: 1536 MB, Flags: 0x00830B0A
TOTAL STOLEN: 58 MB, TOTAL CURSOR: 1 MB (1572864 bytes), MAX STOLEN: 172 MB, MAX OVERALL: 173 MB (181940224 bytes)
GPU Name: Intel Iris Plus Graphics 655
Model Name(s):
Camelia: V3
Mobile: 1, PipeCount: 3, PortCount: 3, FBMemoryCount: 3
[0] busId: 0x00, pipe: 8, type: 0x00000002, flags: 0x00000098 - LVDS
[1] busId: 0x05, pipe: 9, type: 0x00000400, flags: 0x000001C7 - DP
[2] busId: 0x04, pipe: 10, type: 0x00000400, flags: 0x000001C7 - DP
00000800 02000000 98000000
01050900 00040000 C7010000
02040A00 00040000 C7010000

A better match would be PlatformID 0x3E9B0009 which is for Mobile UHD 630 IGPU :-

Code:
ID: 3E9B0009, STOLEN: 57 MB, FBMEM: 0 bytes, VRAM: 1536 MB, Flags: 0x0083130A
TOTAL STOLEN: 58 MB, TOTAL CURSOR: 1 MB (1572864 bytes), MAX STOLEN: 172 MB, MAX OVERALL: 173 MB (181940224 bytes)
GPU Name: Intel UHD Graphics 630
Model Name(s):
Camelia: V3
Mobile: 1, PipeCount: 3, PortCount: 3, FBMemoryCount: 3
[0] busId: 0x00, pipe: 8, type: 0x00000002, flags: 0x00000098 - LVDS
[1] busId: 0x05, pipe: 9, type: 0x00000400, flags: 0x00000187 - DP
[2] busId: 0x04, pipe: 10, type: 0x00000400, flags: 0x00000187 - DP
00000800 02000000 98000000
01050900 00040000 87010000
02040A00 00040000 87010000

You will then need to configure one of the the DP connectors as a HDMI port using the guide in post #1 :-



I dont have a Coffee Lake Mobile system to test with, but that is what i would do ...

Why do you have UHD 630 + HD 530 defined in your Hardware Profile ?, does not make any sense ....

Cheers
Jay
Jay, I have UHD 630 + AMD 530, but idk why "AMD" is gone. My current PlatformID is 0x3E920000 (Hackintool && DPCIManager said me that.) I already follow that guide, but I may did some mistakes.
Снимок экрана 2019-11-02 в 0.16.24.pngСнимок экрана 2019-11-02 в 0.17.21.png
 

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,563
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Jay, I have UHD 630 + AMD 530, but idk why "AMD" is gone. My current PlatformID is 0x3E920000 (Hackintool && DPCIManager said me that.) I already follow that guide, but I may did some mistakes.

@Hex0S,

Is this a Lenovo Desktop or Laptop system ?

Cheers
Jay
 
Top