Contribute
Register

[GUIDE] General Framebuffer Patching Guide (HDMI Black Screen Problem)

Joined
Jan 21, 2012
Messages
907
Motherboard
HP 8300 Elite
CPU
i5-3570
Graphics
GT 710
Mobile Phone
Android
No, we should not change those hex values!

DVMT is being set to 96MB inside the firmware itself (inside BIOS). Those hex bytes are modifying the AppleIntelFrameBufferAzul to enable 4K, but this patch does not affect DVMT Pre-Alloc.

Are you getting 4K output with the original unmodified patch?
Thanks for the explanation.
Yes, 4k using the original patch, altering it to the new number seemed not to change anything but I did read that that byte was setting the DVMT but can't find the info that showed that.
Do you know; where can you find the info on what the byte in question does?
Or what the issues are with the HD4600? There seem to be a lot of similar reports - black screen/wake issues that are overcome by turning on "allow legacy option roms".

Edit: your reply set off some thoughts and I reverted both of the firmware changes and tried only using the Framebuffer patch- it all works - still not certain if we need to unlock Cfg in uefi firmware to make the change effective - ie will it work without ever making the change (or do you need to make it but can then roll back). Still testing.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 6, 2019
Messages
21
Motherboard
Lenovo SuperX 5B
CPU
i7-6700H
Graphics
HD530 / GTX 960M
Mobile Phone
Android
I have tried all of above BusID,but, unfortunately, there aren't work.
I change the smbios to Macbookpro13,1 and then it can work.
1568090962121.png

1568090975757.png



But there is another problem:
Stuck few second when login to system after boot.

By the way, how to understand the SMBIOS effects HDMI output.
 

Attachments

Joined
Dec 31, 2013
Messages
633
Motherboard
Huawei Matebook D
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620
Mobile Phone
iOS
The fix (or workaround) for HDMI hot-plug issues is to set all Pipes to the same number such as 8 or 18. For example, if you have enabled 3 connectors, all of their Pipe values should be the same.

Also try the following settings with Hackintool 2.8.0. After specifying connector Bus IDs, Pipes, and Types, make the selections shown below and click Generate Patch.

View attachment 425279 View attachment 425278
This may have some effect on the HDMI hot-plug issue, but probably won't affect sleep/wake issues from closing the lid.
All pipes are set to the same number. I've used Hackintool 2.7.9 though.
I will generate another Patch using exactly those settings, thanks!

I found out the issue with closing the lid. It was an option in the Bios that was about sleep with different methods.
Now closing the lid makes the PC sleep and opening it TWICE make it wake from sleep.

Now the situation is this:
- ONLY AFTER the 1st sleep HDMI unplug leads to no issues.
- BEFORE ANY asleep HDMI unplug leads to a black internal monitor that requires hard shut down.

Also I'm experiencing issues after rendering in Final Cut Pro X with H264 High Quality settings (I guess is a dual pass encoding). The machine can't complete that rendering.
if I render H264 Normal Quality (1 pass) the encoding is completed.
BUT in both cases after a rendering a log out leads to a black screen, and the machine isn't able to reboot as it gets stuck on black screen.

This notebook has an i5-8250U with UHD 620. You suggest spoofing an UHD 630. Is that correct?

Thanks for your help.
 

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,838
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
But there is another problem: Stuck few second when login to system after boot.

@RMTT,

Some MacbookPro13,X models shipped with a TouchID sensor ... When those SMBIOS are used on a Hackintosh you will have a delay at login and when entering a admin password because your laptop does not have a TouchID sensor.

You can use this Lilu plugin to disable TouchID in MacOS to get rid of the delay :-


Cheers
Jay
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2019
Messages
21
Motherboard
Lenovo SuperX 5B
CPU
i7-6700H
Graphics
HD530 / GTX 960M
Mobile Phone
Android
@RMTT,

Some MacbookPro13,X models shipped with a TouchID sensor ... When those SMBIOS are used on a Hackintosh you will have a delay at login and when entering a admin password because your laptop does not have a TouchID sensor.

You can use this Lilu plugin to disable TouchID in MacOS to get rid of the delay :-


Cheers
Jay
Thanks for your reply.But unfortunately, it seems doesn't work, i place the NoTouchId.kext to /Clover/kexts/Other, and reboot, still stuck few seconds.
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2012
Messages
187
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z490-E
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RTX 2080 Ti (Win) / RX 560 (Mac)
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hello,

I'm trying to get my 2nd monitor to work with my internal HD 630 via the HDMI port.

MB: Asus Maximus IX Hero
CPU: 7700K
Monitor: Asus 1080p connected via HDMI.

My main monitor is an LG running at 2560x1440 connected via DP. All acceleration functions are perfect.

The kicker is I HAD this working previously but like an idiot I didn't backup that particular config.plist.

When I attempt to hot plug (can't have connected during boot, even when it worked before) my main screen immediately goes dark and the system reboots about 10 seconds later.

I'm still trying to find a good source for log files. I have the debug version of Whatevergreen loaded to assist with logging, but not sure where that's dumping stuff.

Any assistance will be GREATLY appreciated!

hackintool.png


connectors.png


about.png
 

Attachments

Last edited:

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,838
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Thanks for your reply.But unfortunately, it seems doesn't work, i place the NoTouchId.kext to /Clover/kexts/Other, and reboot, still stuck few seconds.

@RMTT,

Try installing your kexts in /L/E see this guide for more info :-


Cheers
Jay
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2012
Messages
187
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z490-E
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RTX 2080 Ti (Win) / RX 560 (Mac)
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'm trying to get my 2nd monitor to work with my internal HD 630 via the HDMI port.

When I attempt to hot plug (can't have connected during boot, even when it worked before) my main screen immediately goes dark and the system reboots about 10 seconds later.
So I ended up solving this with these edits and doing the OPPOSITE... booting with HDMI monitor ONLY and hot plugging the DP monitor once I'm at the desktop:

BOTH working boot HDMI 1st, hot DP.png


About - Displays.png


Pretty impressive that the HD 630 can drive a 144Hz 1440p and 1080p 60Hz at the same time.
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2019
Messages
21
Motherboard
Lenovo SuperX 5B
CPU
i7-6700H
Graphics
HD530 / GTX 960M
Mobile Phone
Android
@RMTT,

Try installing your kexts in /L/E see this guide for more info :-


Cheers
Jay
I placed all kexts to /L/E using Hackintool, and the NoTouchID.kext seems no effect, my laptop still few seconds when login.
And i can see the NoTouchID has already loaded.
1568266619814.png

But this time I removed all kexts of Clover/kexts/Other except FakeSMC and ApplePS2SmartTouchpad, and power seems work as before :)
 
Last edited:

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,838
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I placed all kexts to /L/E using Hackintool, and the NoTouchID.kext seems no effect, my laptop still few seconds when login.

But this time I removed all kexts of Clover/kexts/Other except FakeSMC and ApplePS2SmartTouchpad, and power seems work as before :)

@RMTT,

I have not used that kext myself but have seen a number of users report success with it so I have no reason to doubt it.

Which SMBIOS are you using ?

Cheers
Jay
 
Top