Contribute
Register

[GUIDE] General Framebuffer Patching Guide (HDMI Black Screen Problem)

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
11,012
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
@mango1122,

That's another great example of how to report a problem!

Some comments and suggestions:
  • Realtek and Intel Kaby Lake audio are both necessary and indicate correct behavior.
  • If your monitor has built-in speakers, then connecting an HDMI or DisplayPort cable will not only drive the display, but will also treat the monitor as another audio device. That's why you see your monitor listed as an Audio Output device.
  • Those were the easy answers. Now let's try the following:
    • First suggestion would be to update Lilu, WhateverGreen, and AppleALC to latest versions that were released a week or so ago.
    • Next, because Mojave 10.14.4 and later has native support for 9th-Gen iGPUs (device ID 0x3E98), we should delete the device-id field from Clover Configurator --> Devices --> Properties.
    • Add -disablegfxfirmware to the Boot section.
    • The System Parameters section of config.plist has Inject Kexts set to Yes. This is okay for now, but it may be a good idea to install third-party kexts in /Library/Extensions, rebuild kernel cache with Kext Utility, and set Inject Kexts to Detect.
      • If Clover finds VirtualSMC or FakeSMC in /Library/Extensions, then it will not inject any kexts from the CLOVER/kexts/Other folder.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2019
Messages
8
Motherboard
Optiplex 7050 Micro
CPU
i5-7500T
Graphics
HD 630
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Hi @CaseySJ

Got it (4K on Kaby Lake Intel HD Graphics 630) to work in the end by modding DVMT Pre-allocated Video Memory in BIOS to 64MB.

Thanks for your help and hoping someone will find the below useful.

2019-08-26 at 18.44.png


2019-08-26 at 18.58.png


2019-08-26 at 19.00.png


2019-08-26 at 19.02.png



2019-08-26 at 19.03.png



Have you tried SwitchResX from madrau.com? It has a 10-day trial period.

I would suggest trying this app with both the original platform ID (59120000) and the new (3E9B0007). Instructions for this app are on the website (“How to use it”).

Let us know whether it helps.
 

Attachments

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
11,012
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Joined
May 23, 2019
Messages
236
Motherboard
ASRock Z390 Phantom
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thank you for the reply @CaseySJ
  1. Glad to know that the audio indicates the correct behaviour. My monitor does not have any speakers, but I am confused that it shows up as connected over DisplayPort as opposed to HDMI (even when I have the correct Framebuffer connection patch set up). I remember with the Designare it would show up as HDMI and not DP.
  2. The kexts look upto date from Hackintool and Kext Utility - I'll take a look manually tomorrow morning just to be sure.
  3. I've deleted the device ID field and and added the -disablegfxfirmware flag.
Will monitor and report back
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Dec 17, 2016
Messages
15
Motherboard
Asus Prime H310T-Clove
CPU
i5-8500
Graphics
UHD 630
All

I would like to share my experience with getting my Asus H110T + i3 6100 / HD530 build to work with DisplayPort in full 4k resolution (up to my display native resolution) - I still need to check this also works in HDMI, but I will do it only tomorrow.

I am working with Catalina 10.15 Beta 6, SMBIOS iMac 17,1...

1566948516255.png


1566948961756.png


1566948779748.png


... and I was trying since last January to get this build to work stably with by AOC U2477PWQ 4K display, either in HDMI or DisplayPort.

As you can see in my post in a different tread, https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...ching-using-whatevergreen.256490/post-1889707, I started with 10.13.6, then moved to 10.14.2 (I think) and finally with 10.15 Beta.

This Asus H110T motherboard has built in 3 connectors (LVDS, DisplayPort and HDMI), as per ig-platform-id 0x193B0000 (Device ID 0x1912). I had already discovered that the connection problems I was having in 10.13.6 and 10.14.2 were related to having DisplayPort connected to BusID 0x06 instead of BusID 0x05 at Index 3 / Port 7.

1566951005231.png


1566949432166.png


After changing the BusID, I could bet a picture in the monitor... the main problem was that I couldn't get 4k to work. I only had a 1080p picture!

I had my clover config.plist patched with the help of Hackintool (thanks headkaze, excellent tool), trying and reading everything, to understand how to get this to work.

Until today, I tried to include in config.plist all twicks and tricks I was reading, specially related to WhateverGreen/Framebuffer ... but finally tried to take out everything out of Devices/Properties that I didn't know what it was about. I updated all kexts, drivers, Clover, to latest builds, including BIOS, and just kept the following properties:

1566950186883.png

1566950214953.png


The previous properties list was as following:

1566950352052.png

1566950395983.png

1566950419918.png

1566950445780.png

1566950467938.png

1566950491272.png


Rebooted, and voila... I have a 4k picture. Still not 100% stable (sometimes I loose image for 1 second or so, and get it back, which is very annoying - but this also happens in my H310T build), but workable and manageable.

Just to let you know, my UEFI drivers and kexts (which I keep at the clover EFI space) are the following:

1566949905669.png


I will update how this goes with HDMI...

Thanks, CaseySJ, for this Guide.
 

Attachments

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
11,012
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
All

I would like to share my experience with getting my Asus H110T + i3 6100 / HD530 build to work with DisplayPort in full 4k resolution (up to my display native resolution) - I still need to check this also works in HDMI, but I will do it only tomorrow.

I am working with Catalina 10.15 Beta 6, SMBIOS iMac 17,1...

View attachment 423399

View attachment 423401

View attachment 423400

... and I was trying since last January to get this build to work stably with by AOC U2477PWQ 4K display, either in HDMI or DisplayPort.

As you can see in my post in a different tread, https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...ching-using-whatevergreen.256490/post-1889707, I started with 10.13.6, then moved to 10.14.2 (I think) and finally with 10.15 Beta.

This Asus H110T motherboard has built in 3 connectors (LVDS, DisplayPort and HDMI), as per ig-platform-id 0x193B0000 (Device ID 0x1912). I had already discovered that the connection problems I was having in 10.13.6 and 10.14.2 were related to having DisplayPort connected to BusID 0x06 instead of BusID 0x05 at Index 3 / Port 7.

View attachment 423414

View attachment 423402

After changing the BusID, I could bet a picture in the monitor... the main problem was that I couldn't get 4k to work. I only had a 1080p picture!

I had my clover config.plist patched with the help of Hackintool (thanks headkaze, excellent tool), trying and reading everything, to understand how to get this to work.

Until today, I tried to include in config.plist all twicks and tricks I was reading, specially related to WhateverGreen/Framebuffer ... but finally tried to take out everything out of Devices/Properties that I didn't know what it was about. I updated all kexts, drivers, Clover, to latest builds, including BIOS, and just kept the following properties:

View attachment 423404
View attachment 423405

The previous properties list was as following:

View attachment 423406
View attachment 423407
View attachment 423408
View attachment 423409
View attachment 423410
View attachment 423411

Rebooted, and voila... I have a 4k picture. Still not 100% stable (sometimes I loose image for 1 second or so, and get it back, which is very annoying - but this also happens in my H310T build), but workable and manageable.

Just to let you know, my UEFI drivers and kexts (which I keep at the clover EFI space) are the following:

View attachment 423403

I will update how this goes with HDMI...

Thanks, CaseySJ, for this Guide.
Good job! As I said before, often it requires a willingness to conduct controlled experiments!
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
11,012
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thank you for the reply @CaseySJ
  1. Glad to know that the audio indicates the correct behaviour. My monitor does not have any speakers, but I am confused that it shows up as connected over DisplayPort as opposed to HDMI (even when I have the correct Framebuffer connection patch set up). I remember with the Designare it would show up as HDMI and not DP.
If the monitor has a headphone jack or similar audio jack, then it will also appear as a Sound Device.
  1. The kexts look upto date from Hackintool and Kext Utility - I'll take a look manually tomorrow morning just to be sure.
  2. I've deleted the device ID field and and added the -disablegfxfirmware flag.
Will monitor and report back
As @vzmr82 described in the post above, it might also be a good idea to manually delete the connector patches for all ports except the on-board HDMI port.

And it may also be a good idea to increase DVMT-Prealloc to 64MB. This option may be available in BIOS.
 
Joined
May 23, 2019
Messages
236
Motherboard
ASRock Z390 Phantom
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
The monitor has a headphone jack, so it should appear as an audio device - why DisplayPort is beyond me (the PC is connected to the monitor over HDMI and the Framebuffer is setting the connecter as HDMI). Monitor also has DisplayPort and so does the Mobo. I've noticed the connection is stable and no loss of video signal was observed over the past 24 hours over this DP connection.I'll continue the monitoring for next 24 hours and try the HDMI patch as suggested before. Thank you for helping
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2013
Messages
633
Motherboard
Huawei Matebook D
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi @CaseySJ and everyone else.

I'm setting up a Huawei Matebook D Intel i5-8250U.
A lot of things are working but a couple related to the internal UHD 620 GPU are still giving problems so I thought to post a question here.

The issues I have:
- When I connect an external monitor the the HDMI port all works as expected. BUT when I unplug the HDMI cable I loose the image on the internal display. Also the notebook becomes not visible in the network suggesting some kind of panic goes on.
- When I close the lid the notebook goes into sleep mode BUT when I open the lid the notebook display doesn't wake up. In this case the notebook is available through the network as I can connect to it. Sleep works fine if I initiate it through the button or if the timer kicks it. So if the notebook goes to sleep with the open lid and then I close the lid when I open the lid and press a keyboard key or power button to wake it from sleep it all works great. It is the closing prior to sleep that leads to the black screen.

For the rest acceleration works, I can render in FCPX.
Any advice?
Thanks a lot.

UPDATE:
I tried changing the laptop internal connectors properties. Found that both 00 and 04 BusID work. I tried a different pipes value. The original was 8 I used 18, but it makes no difference. As I unplug the internal monitor goes black.
This notebook only has iGPU, the UHD 620.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 23, 2019
Messages
236
Motherboard
ASRock Z390 Phantom
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Ok so the hdmi problem did not get solved. I reset the BIOS, upgraded to 4.1, set the DVMT memory and tried the Framebuffer patch edited as detailed in the post before. The DP connection on the other hand has been quiet stable, so I'll stick with it. Sleep/wake works fine.
 
Top