Contribute
Register

[GUIDE] General Framebuffer Patching Guide (HDMI Black Screen Problem)

Joined
Dec 17, 2016
Messages
15
Motherboard
Asus Prime H310T-Clove
CPU
i5-8500
Graphics
UHD 630
All

I would like to share my experience with getting my Asus H110T + i3 6100 / HD530 build to work with DisplayPort in full 4k resolution (up to my display native resolution) - I still need to check this also works in HDMI, but I will do it only tomorrow.

I am working with Catalina 10.15 Beta 6, SMBIOS iMac 17,1...

1566948516255.png


1566948961756.png


1566948779748.png


... and I was trying since last January to get this build to work stably with by AOC U2477PWQ 4K display, either in HDMI or DisplayPort.

As you can see in my post in a different tread, https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...ching-using-whatevergreen.256490/post-1889707, I started with 10.13.6, then moved to 10.14.2 (I think) and finally with 10.15 Beta.

This Asus H110T motherboard has built in 3 connectors (LVDS, DisplayPort and HDMI), as per ig-platform-id 0x193B0000 (Device ID 0x1912). I had already discovered that the connection problems I was having in 10.13.6 and 10.14.2 were related to having DisplayPort connected to BusID 0x06 instead of BusID 0x05 at Index 3 / Port 7.

1566951005231.png


1566949432166.png


After changing the BusID, I could bet a picture in the monitor... the main problem was that I couldn't get 4k to work. I only had a 1080p picture!

I had my clover config.plist patched with the help of Hackintool (thanks headkaze, excellent tool), trying and reading everything, to understand how to get this to work.

Until today, I tried to include in config.plist all twicks and tricks I was reading, specially related to WhateverGreen/Framebuffer ... but finally tried to take out everything out of Devices/Properties that I didn't know what it was about. I updated all kexts, drivers, Clover, to latest builds, including BIOS, and just kept the following properties:

1566950186883.png

1566950214953.png


The previous properties list was as following:

1566950352052.png

1566950395983.png

1566950419918.png

1566950445780.png

1566950467938.png

1566950491272.png


Rebooted, and voila... I have a 4k picture. Still not 100% stable (sometimes I loose image for 1 second or so, and get it back, which is very annoying - but this also happens in my H310T build), but workable and manageable.

Just to let you know, my UEFI drivers and kexts (which I keep at the clover EFI space) are the following:

1566949905669.png


I will update how this goes with HDMI...

Thanks, CaseySJ, for this Guide.
 

Attachments

  • 1566950717316.png
    1566950717316.png
    12.7 KB · Views: 21

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
13,463
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
All

I would like to share my experience with getting my Asus H110T + i3 6100 / HD530 build to work with DisplayPort in full 4k resolution (up to my display native resolution) - I still need to check this also works in HDMI, but I will do it only tomorrow.

I am working with Catalina 10.15 Beta 6, SMBIOS iMac 17,1...

View attachment 423399

View attachment 423401

View attachment 423400

... and I was trying since last January to get this build to work stably with by AOC U2477PWQ 4K display, either in HDMI or DisplayPort.

As you can see in my post in a different tread, https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...ching-using-whatevergreen.256490/post-1889707, I started with 10.13.6, then moved to 10.14.2 (I think) and finally with 10.15 Beta.

This Asus H110T motherboard has built in 3 connectors (LVDS, DisplayPort and HDMI), as per ig-platform-id 0x193B0000 (Device ID 0x1912). I had already discovered that the connection problems I was having in 10.13.6 and 10.14.2 were related to having DisplayPort connected to BusID 0x06 instead of BusID 0x05 at Index 3 / Port 7.

View attachment 423414

View attachment 423402

After changing the BusID, I could bet a picture in the monitor... the main problem was that I couldn't get 4k to work. I only had a 1080p picture!

I had my clover config.plist patched with the help of Hackintool (thanks headkaze, excellent tool), trying and reading everything, to understand how to get this to work.

Until today, I tried to include in config.plist all twicks and tricks I was reading, specially related to WhateverGreen/Framebuffer ... but finally tried to take out everything out of Devices/Properties that I didn't know what it was about. I updated all kexts, drivers, Clover, to latest builds, including BIOS, and just kept the following properties:

View attachment 423404
View attachment 423405

The previous properties list was as following:

View attachment 423406
View attachment 423407
View attachment 423408
View attachment 423409
View attachment 423410
View attachment 423411

Rebooted, and voila... I have a 4k picture. Still not 100% stable (sometimes I loose image for 1 second or so, and get it back, which is very annoying - but this also happens in my H310T build), but workable and manageable.

Just to let you know, my UEFI drivers and kexts (which I keep at the clover EFI space) are the following:

View attachment 423403

I will update how this goes with HDMI...

Thanks, CaseySJ, for this Guide.
Good job! As I said before, often it requires a willingness to conduct controlled experiments!
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
13,463
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thank you for the reply @CaseySJ
  1. Glad to know that the audio indicates the correct behaviour. My monitor does not have any speakers, but I am confused that it shows up as connected over DisplayPort as opposed to HDMI (even when I have the correct Framebuffer connection patch set up). I remember with the Designare it would show up as HDMI and not DP.
If the monitor has a headphone jack or similar audio jack, then it will also appear as a Sound Device.
  1. The kexts look upto date from Hackintool and Kext Utility - I'll take a look manually tomorrow morning just to be sure.
  2. I've deleted the device ID field and and added the -disablegfxfirmware flag.
Will monitor and report back
As @vzmr82 described in the post above, it might also be a good idea to manually delete the connector patches for all ports except the on-board HDMI port.

And it may also be a good idea to increase DVMT-Prealloc to 64MB. This option may be available in BIOS.
 
Joined
May 23, 2019
Messages
242
Motherboard
ASRock Z390 Phantom
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The monitor has a headphone jack, so it should appear as an audio device - why DisplayPort is beyond me (the PC is connected to the monitor over HDMI and the Framebuffer is setting the connecter as HDMI). Monitor also has DisplayPort and so does the Mobo. I've noticed the connection is stable and no loss of video signal was observed over the past 24 hours over this DP connection.I'll continue the monitoring for next 24 hours and try the HDMI patch as suggested before. Thank you for helping
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2013
Messages
684
Motherboard
Huawei Matebook D
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @CaseySJ and everyone else.

I'm setting up a Huawei Matebook D Intel i5-8250U.
A lot of things are working but a couple related to the internal UHD 620 GPU are still giving problems so I thought to post a question here.

The issues I have:
- When I connect an external monitor the the HDMI port all works as expected. BUT when I unplug the HDMI cable I loose the image on the internal display. Also the notebook becomes not visible in the network suggesting some kind of panic goes on.
- When I close the lid the notebook goes into sleep mode BUT when I open the lid the notebook display doesn't wake up. In this case the notebook is available through the network as I can connect to it. Sleep works fine if I initiate it through the button or if the timer kicks it. So if the notebook goes to sleep with the open lid and then I close the lid when I open the lid and press a keyboard key or power button to wake it from sleep it all works great. It is the closing prior to sleep that leads to the black screen.

For the rest acceleration works, I can render in FCPX.
Any advice?
Thanks a lot.

UPDATE:
I tried changing the laptop internal connectors properties. Found that both 00 and 04 BusID work. I tried a different pipes value. The original was 8 I used 18, but it makes no difference. As I unplug the internal monitor goes black.
This notebook only has iGPU, the UHD 620.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 23, 2019
Messages
242
Motherboard
ASRock Z390 Phantom
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok so the hdmi problem did not get solved. I reset the BIOS, upgraded to 4.1, set the DVMT memory and tried the Framebuffer patch edited as detailed in the post before. The DP connection on the other hand has been quiet stable, so I'll stick with it. Sleep/wake works fine.
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2019
Messages
7
Motherboard
HUANANZHI X79-ZD3
CPU
Xeon E5-2689
Graphics
Saphire Nitro+ RX 590
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I have a laptop with a built-in screen and with one external HDMI port.
If I correctly make all the settings in accordance with this magnificent Guide, would it be correct to use both of these options:
1. Laptop cold start with external monitor connected via HDMI
2. Hot-plug an external monitor when the laptop is running
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2012
Messages
954
Motherboard
HP 8300 Elite
CPU
i5-3570
Graphics
GT 710
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi in this thread it describes setting the DVMT pre allocation to 96MB by poking values into the UEFI firmware variables and then patching AppleIntelFrameBufferAzul, this is to get 4K working on a Dell 7020 with just Intel HD 4600 graphics.
It says;
"Name: AppleIntelFramebufferAzul
Find:
0300220D 00030303 00000002 00003001
Replace:
0300220D 00030303 00000004 00000003 "

I have tried to understand what is being set and think the "00000004" that is being set refers to DVMT pre allocation and it is being set to 64MB, if that is correct, should it be set to 96MB because that's what we have set it in the UEFI firmware?

Ie should i change the replacement with;
0300220D 00030303 00000006 00000003 ?
(which I think sets it to 96mb)
I have tested the change and it does not break anything immediately and wonder if there are any tests that will show that the right setting is in place?

Thanks
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2019
Messages
19
Motherboard
Lenovo SuperX 5B
CPU
i7-6700H
Graphics
HD530 / GTX 960M
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi,guys. The card of my laptop is Intel HD530, and use the platform id 0x191B0000,and the spec is:
1568076733329.png

1568076775720.png

Actually,the index 0 connector should be the built in display.But when i plug my HDMI wire, there was nothing changes.
By the way,I use SMBIOS: Macbookpro 13,3, as same as the framebuffer's model.
So,why my laptop cannot detect HDMI wire.

Appreciate any answers.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
13,463
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @CaseySJ and everyone else.

I'm setting up a Huawei Matebook D Intel i5-8250U.
A lot of things are working but a couple related to the internal UHD 620 GPU are still giving problems so I thought to post a question here.

The issues I have:
- When I connect an external monitor the the HDMI port all works as expected. BUT when I unplug the HDMI cable I loose the image on the internal display. Also the notebook becomes not visible in the network suggesting some kind of panic goes on.
- When I close the lid the notebook goes into sleep mode BUT when I open the lid the notebook display doesn't wake up. In this case the notebook is available through the network as I can connect to it. Sleep works fine if I initiate it through the button or if the timer kicks it. So if the notebook goes to sleep with the open lid and then I close the lid when I open the lid and press a keyboard key or power button to wake it from sleep it all works great. It is the closing prior to sleep that leads to the black screen.

For the rest acceleration works, I can render in FCPX.
Any advice?
Thanks a lot.

UPDATE:
I tried changing the laptop internal connectors properties. Found that both 00 and 04 BusID work. I tried a different pipes value. The original was 8 I used 18, but it makes no difference. As I unplug the internal monitor goes black.
This notebook only has iGPU, the UHD 620.
The fix (or workaround) for HDMI hot-plug issues is to set all Pipes to the same number such as 8 or 18. For example, if you have enabled 3 connectors, all of their Pipe values should be the same.

Also try the following settings with Hackintool 2.8.0. After specifying connector Bus IDs, Pipes, and Types, make the selections shown below and click Generate Patch.

Screen Shot 2019-09-09 at 7.07.09 PM.png Screen Shot 2019-09-09 at 7.05.12 PM.png
This may have some effect on the HDMI hot-plug issue, but probably won't affect sleep/wake issues from closing the lid.
 
Top