Contribute
Register

[GUIDE] General Framebuffer Patching Guide (HDMI Black Screen Problem)

Joined
Aug 12, 2019
Messages
5
Motherboard
Optiplex 7050 Micro
CPU
i5-7500T
Graphics
HD 630
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Looks promising! The entry is correctly specified, however:
  • Try again without the stolenmem parameter.
  • Try also iMac14,2
(Make one change at a time.)
Unfortunately none of these worked:

  • 0x3E9B0007/0x3E9B + iMac14.2
  • 0x3E9B0007/0x3E9B Without stolenMem
 

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
2,879
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Just wandering if the mods in the OP will make it possible to use 2 ports (DP) on my RX580 simultaneously with 1 (properly patched framebuffer of cause) HDMI port on the mobo - IGPU that is?
@Henties,

The method posted in this guide is for patching IGPU framebuffer only.

If you need to patch the AMD framebuffer connector types then you need to apply a patch to the AMD driver.
See this guide for more info :-


See section 3 for specifics on AMD framebuffer patching.

Cheers
Jay
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2011
Messages
487
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-UD3 F23g
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX-580
Mac
iMac
@Henties,

The method posted in this guide is for patching IGPU framebuffer only.

If you need to patch the AMD framebuffer connector types then you need to apply a patch to the AMD driver.
See this guide for more info :-


See section 3 for specifics on AMD framebuffer patching.

Cheers
Jay
@jaymonkey Thank you for your response. My Asus RX580 Strix is and has been working OOB without any issues whatsoever, with framebuffer patching never having been required. My onboard Intel IGPU 530 has been configured as a headless device in the "Devices" section of the Skylake config.plist with the connectorless AAPL.lg-platform-id 01001219 and device-id of 12190000 being used. Everything works perfectly indeed. I am just wandering whether the onboard IGPU could be put to better use and drive a monitor, or 2 for that matter, as well. I realize that Apple does not use such a configuration for it's own machines which sport a dGPU as well as an IGPU. Therefore this idea of mine, which is perhaps even doable, requires one to venture into totally uncharted territory. Hoping, with my enquiry in this thread, that I could actually connect with somebody that has actually already tried this, with findings which could prove tremendously invaluable for my own endeavors in this regard.

Greetings

Henties
 

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
2,879
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
@Henties,

I've run IGPU in a non headless configuration along side dGPU in the past but there is absolutely no performance benefit as even a low spec dGPU will do a much better job than a IGPU. The only reason to do it is if your dGPU cant drive all the monitors your need but it does somewhat confuse MacOS as it's a non standard configuration and you may actually have reduced MacOS performance (depending SMBIOS used).

Best to run all your monitors of the dGPU if possible and let MacOs use the IGPU in headless mode for light compute tasks which is how MacOS is designed to run.

Cheers
Jay
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 4, 2011
Messages
487
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-UD3 F23g
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX-580
Mac
iMac
@Henties,

I've run IGPU in a non headless configuration along side dGPU in the past but there is absolutely no performance benefit as even a low spec dGPU will do a much better job than a IGPU. The only reason to do it is if your dGPU cant drive all the monitors your need but it does somewhat confuse MacOS as it's a non standard configuration and you may actually have reduced MacOS performance.

Best to run al your monitors of the dGPU and keep IGPU for light MacOS compute tasks in headless mode which is how MacOS is designed to run.

Cheers
Jay
@jaymonkey Thanks, your feedback is much appreciated.

Greetings

Henties
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
3,974
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Unfortunately none of these worked:

  • 0x3E9B0007/0x3E9B + iMac14.2
  • 0x3E9B0007/0x3E9B Without stolenMem
Have you tried SwitchResX from madrau.com? It has a 10-day trial period.

I would suggest trying this app with both the original platform ID (59120000) and the new (3E9B0007). Instructions for this app are on the website (“How to use it”).

Let us know whether it helps.
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2017
Messages
45
Motherboard
Z170X-UD5-TH
CPU
i7 6700k
Graphics
RX580
Mac
iMac
Classic Mac
iMac, LC, Power Mac, Quadra
con1 index 1 bus Id 0x02 DP
con2 index 2 bus Id 0x04 DP
con3 index 0 bus Id 0x06 HDMI

ID: 19120000, STOLEN: 34 MB, FBMEM: 21 MB, VRAM: 1536 MB, Flags: 0x0000110F
TOTAL STOLEN: 56 MB, TOTAL CURSOR: 1 MB (1572864 bytes), MAX STOLEN: 124 MB, MAX OVERALL: 125 MB (131608576 bytes)
GPU Name: Intel HD Graphics 530
Model Name(s): iMac17,1
Camelia: Disabled, Freq: 1388 Hz, FreqMax: 1388 Hz
Mobile: 1, PipeCount: 3, PortCount: 3, FBMemoryCount: 3
[-1] busId: 0x00, pipe: 0, type: 0x00000001, flags: 0x00000020 - Dummy
[1] busId: 0x05, pipe: 9, type: 0x00000400, flags: 0x00000187 - DP
[2] bus Id: 0x04, pipe: 9, type: 0x00000400, flags: 0x00000187 - DP
[0] bus Id: 0x06, pipe: 10, type: 0x00000400, flags: 0x00000187 - HDMI
FF000000 01000000 20000000
01050900 00040000 87010000
02040A00 00040000 87010000


Find: FF000000 01000000 20000000 01050900 00040000 87010000 02040A00 00040000 87010000 03060A00 00040000 87010000
Replace: FF000000 01000000 20000000 01050900 00040000 87010000 02040900 00040000 87010000 00060A00 00080000 87010000
Comment: 0x19120000 Connector Patch by FB-Patcher (credit headkaze)

:clap: :clap:YES

xx:yyy 0:000 Framebuffer @0xD0000000 MMIO @0xE0000000 I/O Port @0x0000E000 ROM Addr @0xEFE40000:448 xx:yyy PCI region 1 = 0x00000000, region3 = 0x00000000, region5 = 0xEFE00000
xx:yyy 0:000 Use region5 as MMIO space
xx:yyy 0:000 BIOS_0_SCRATCH=0x00000000, 1=0x00000000, 2=0x00000003, 3=0x00000000, 4=0x00000000, 5=0x00000000, 6=0x00000000
xx:yyy 0:001 RADEON_CRTC2_GEN_CNTL == 0x00000000
xx:yyy 0:000 card posted because CONFIG_MEMSIZE=0x2000
xx:yyy 0:000 ATI card POSTed,
xx:yyy 0:000 Set VRAM from config=8192Mb
xx:yyy 0:000 ATI: get_vram_size returned 0x0
xx:yyy 0:000 Framebuffer set to device's default: Baladi
xx:yyy 0:000 N ports defaults to 6
xx:yyy 0:000 use N ports setting from config.plist: 6
xx:yyy 0:000 (AtiPorts) Nr of ports set to: 6
xx:yyy 0:000 ATI Ellesmere AMD Radeon RX 480 8192MB (Baladi) [1002:67DF] (subsys [1DA2:E353]):: PciRoot(0x0)\Pci(0x1,0x0)\Pci(0x0,0x0)

that is correct

thanks for andwer.

by the way i havent not in tool hackintool for model 14,2 and 17,1
the intel generation is still ??? as GPU name
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2019
Messages
5
Motherboard
Optiplex 7050 Micro
CPU
i5-7500T
Graphics
HD 630
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Have you tried SwitchResX from madrau.com? It has a 10-day trial period.

I would suggest trying this app with both the original platform ID (59120000) and the new (3E9B0007). Instructions for this app are on the website (“How to use it”).

Let us know whether it helps.
I tried both in various combination with SwitsresX with no joy.

Looks like HD 630 is such a difficult iGPU, If I didn't an Optiplex Micro form factor, I'd have bought a dGPU to make things easier

Thanks.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2018
Messages
8
Motherboard
MSI MPG Z390 Gaming Edge AC
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi, I've MSI MPG Z390 GAMING EDGE AC and i5 9600k. I'm using HDMI to display. When open Hackintool in connectors (Coffe Lake and 0x3E9B0007 selected) not appears any red line over anything connector. I tried to disconnect the hdmi and reconnect it, but it doesn't work.

Can someone help me please?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
3,974
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi, I've MSI MPG Z390 GAMING EDGE AC and i5 9600k. I'm using HDMI to display. When open Hackintool in connectors (Coffe Lake and 0x3E9B0007 selected) not appears any red line over anything connector. I tried to disconnect the hdmi and reconnect it, but it doesn't work.

Can someone help me please?
Hackintool has a predefined connector patch for the MSI Z390M Gaming Edge AC. Have you tried to import that one? If you upload your config.plist, I can add the connector patch.

Screen Shot 2019-08-16 at 4.48.11 AM.png
 
Top