Contribute
Register

[GUIDE] General Framebuffer Patching Guide (HDMI Black Screen Problem)

Joined
Nov 4, 2011
Messages
642
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD3 F23g
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
@Henties,

I've run IGPU in a non headless configuration along side dGPU in the past but there is absolutely no performance benefit as even a low spec dGPU will do a much better job than a IGPU. The only reason to do it is if your dGPU cant drive all the monitors your need but it does somewhat confuse MacOS as it's a non standard configuration and you may actually have reduced MacOS performance.

Best to run al your monitors of the dGPU and keep IGPU for light MacOS compute tasks in headless mode which is how MacOS is designed to run.

Cheers
Jay
@jaymonkey Thanks, your feedback is much appreciated.

Greetings

Henties
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
13,958
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Unfortunately none of these worked:

  • 0x3E9B0007/0x3E9B + iMac14.2
  • 0x3E9B0007/0x3E9B Without stolenMem
Have you tried SwitchResX from madrau.com? It has a 10-day trial period.

I would suggest trying this app with both the original platform ID (59120000) and the new (3E9B0007). Instructions for this app are on the website (“How to use it”).

Let us know whether it helps.
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2017
Messages
174
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
  4. Quadra
con1 index 1 bus Id 0x02 DP
con2 index 2 bus Id 0x04 DP
con3 index 0 bus Id 0x06 HDMI

ID: 19120000, STOLEN: 34 MB, FBMEM: 21 MB, VRAM: 1536 MB, Flags: 0x0000110F
TOTAL STOLEN: 56 MB, TOTAL CURSOR: 1 MB (1572864 bytes), MAX STOLEN: 124 MB, MAX OVERALL: 125 MB (131608576 bytes)
GPU Name: Intel HD Graphics 530
Model Name(s): iMac17,1
Camelia: Disabled, Freq: 1388 Hz, FreqMax: 1388 Hz
Mobile: 1, PipeCount: 3, PortCount: 3, FBMemoryCount: 3
[-1] busId: 0x00, pipe: 0, type: 0x00000001, flags: 0x00000020 - Dummy
[1] busId: 0x05, pipe: 9, type: 0x00000400, flags: 0x00000187 - DP
[2] bus Id: 0x04, pipe: 9, type: 0x00000400, flags: 0x00000187 - DP
[0] bus Id: 0x06, pipe: 10, type: 0x00000400, flags: 0x00000187 - HDMI
FF000000 01000000 20000000
01050900 00040000 87010000
02040A00 00040000 87010000


Find: FF000000 01000000 20000000 01050900 00040000 87010000 02040A00 00040000 87010000 03060A00 00040000 87010000
Replace: FF000000 01000000 20000000 01050900 00040000 87010000 02040900 00040000 87010000 00060A00 00080000 87010000
Comment: 0x19120000 Connector Patch by FB-Patcher (credit headkaze)

:clap: :clap:YES

xx:yyy 0:000 Framebuffer @0xD0000000 MMIO @0xE0000000 I/O Port @0x0000E000 ROM Addr @0xEFE40000:448 xx:yyy PCI region 1 = 0x00000000, region3 = 0x00000000, region5 = 0xEFE00000
xx:yyy 0:000 Use region5 as MMIO space
xx:yyy 0:000 BIOS_0_SCRATCH=0x00000000, 1=0x00000000, 2=0x00000003, 3=0x00000000, 4=0x00000000, 5=0x00000000, 6=0x00000000
xx:yyy 0:001 RADEON_CRTC2_GEN_CNTL == 0x00000000
xx:yyy 0:000 card posted because CONFIG_MEMSIZE=0x2000
xx:yyy 0:000 ATI card POSTed,
xx:yyy 0:000 Set VRAM from config=8192Mb
xx:yyy 0:000 ATI: get_vram_size returned 0x0
xx:yyy 0:000 Framebuffer set to device's default: Baladi
xx:yyy 0:000 N ports defaults to 6
xx:yyy 0:000 use N ports setting from config.plist: 6
xx:yyy 0:000 (AtiPorts) Nr of ports set to: 6
xx:yyy 0:000 ATI Ellesmere AMD Radeon RX 480 8192MB (Baladi) [1002:67DF] (subsys [1DA2:E353]):: PciRoot(0x0)\Pci(0x1,0x0)\Pci(0x0,0x0)

that is correct


thanks for andwer.

by the way i havent not in tool hackintool for model 14,2 and 17,1
the intel generation is still ??? as GPU name
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2019
Messages
8
Motherboard
Optiplex 7050 Micro
CPU
i5-7500T
Graphics
HD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Have you tried SwitchResX from madrau.com? It has a 10-day trial period.

I would suggest trying this app with both the original platform ID (59120000) and the new (3E9B0007). Instructions for this app are on the website (“How to use it”).

Let us know whether it helps.

I tried both in various combination with SwitsresX with no joy.

Looks like HD 630 is such a difficult iGPU, If I didn't an Optiplex Micro form factor, I'd have bought a dGPU to make things easier

Thanks.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2018
Messages
12
Motherboard
MSI MPG Z390 Gaming Edge AC
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, I've MSI MPG Z390 GAMING EDGE AC and i5 9600k. I'm using HDMI to display. When open Hackintool in connectors (Coffe Lake and 0x3E9B0007 selected) not appears any red line over anything connector. I tried to disconnect the hdmi and reconnect it, but it doesn't work.

Can someone help me please?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
13,958
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, I've MSI MPG Z390 GAMING EDGE AC and i5 9600k. I'm using HDMI to display. When open Hackintool in connectors (Coffe Lake and 0x3E9B0007 selected) not appears any red line over anything connector. I tried to disconnect the hdmi and reconnect it, but it doesn't work.

Can someone help me please?
Hackintool has a predefined connector patch for the MSI Z390M Gaming Edge AC. Have you tried to import that one? If you upload your config.plist, I can add the connector patch.

Screen Shot 2019-08-16 at 4.48.11 AM.png
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2018
Messages
12
Motherboard
MSI MPG Z390 Gaming Edge AC
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
<
Hackintool has a predefined connector patch for the MSI Z390M Gaming Edge AC. Have you tried to import that one? If you upload your config.plist, I can add the connector patch.

View attachment 421992

My motherboard is Z390 ATX no Z390 mATX, works fine?
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    6.4 KB · Views: 20

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
13,958
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
<


My motherboard is Z390 ATX no Z390 mATX, works fine?
Yes there's a good change it will work because the video port layout seems to be the same. Attached is the modified config.plist. Please backup your current file and try this. It does, however, require both:
  • Lilu
  • WhateverGreen
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    8.6 KB · Views: 18
Joined
Nov 1, 2018
Messages
12
Motherboard
MSI MPG Z390 Gaming Edge AC
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes there's a good change it will work because the video port layout seems to be the same. Attached is the modified config.plist. Please backup your current file and try this. It does, however, require both:
  • Lilu
  • WhateverGreen

I replace config.plist and get blackscreen again. I've this kexts in the 'Other' folder.
 

Attachments

  • Captura de pantalla 2019-08-16 a las 14.19.24.png
    Captura de pantalla 2019-08-16 a las 14.19.24.png
    137.6 KB · Views: 16

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
13,958
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I replace config.plist and get blackscreen again. I've this kexts in the 'Other' folder.
That looks correct. Some questions:
  • Have you finished the installation and post-installation? Or are you using the USB install disk to install macOS?
  • If post-installation is done, it means your Mojave SSD can boot directly (non need for USB disk). But in this case, your config.plist is not set up completely -- the SMBIOS section is mostly empty.
  • If post-installation is done, please post a screenshot of your /Library/Extensions folder.
 
Top