Contribute
Register

[GUIDE] General Framebuffer Patching Guide (HDMI Black Screen Problem)

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
3,220
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks for the helpful reply @CaseySJ!
So I just tested the H370 Aorus Gaming 3 WIFI, and got the following:

Index 1/port 5: not used. I set it to BusID 00, pipe 0 and type to dummy.
Index 2/port 6: physical DVI. BusID set to 02, type to HDMI of course. I first tried BusIDs 06 and 05, neither worked.
Index 3/port 7: physical HDMI. BusID set to 04, type to HDMI. That was the first BusID I tried as per @CaseySJ's note about Gigabyte boards' HDMI, so it worked right away!
For the 2 working ports I set pipe to 18.
Well done!!
...

@CaseySJ, here is the code generated by Hackintool, so you can add it to the boards configurations list. If something's missing or you need something else added/tested, let me know! :)
Awesome. I’ll add it to the Compilation and inform HeadKaze to incorporate it into the next Hackintool release.

I didn't include the keys/values marked with a * in my config, as I didn't feel I needed them for things to work. I left them here for the sake of completeness and just in case.
Should I put them in? Or are they not needed if things are showing up fine in system info?
Those are optional and informational (not functional).
...

Any comments? Did I miss something? Can I improve it somehow? :)
You have a good working configuration now so anything beyond this point is optional or dictated by future issues. If you plan to use 4K displays (retina mode) then you might consider HDMI20 and VRAM 2048K. But for now I would suggest leaving things as they are.
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2013
Messages
64
Motherboard
HP Probook 450 G5-Clover
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620, 1920x1080
Mobile Phone
iOS
You have a good working configuration now so anything beyond this point is optional or dictated by future issues. If you plan to use 4K displays (retina mode) then you might consider HDMI20 and VRAM 2048K. But for now I would suggest leaving things as they are.
Thanks! Don't plan to use 4k with this machine, so we'll let it be for a few days, see how things work out. Now that I know what I'm doing, will get the other boards done and post those as well :)

Thanks for all your help!
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
3,220
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hello @CaseySJ , the current situation is this:
Monitor 1 (main) HP 24o
Out PC HDMI, direct cable HDMI to HDMI connected to the monitor in HDMI port:
Perfectly working

Monitor 2 (Samsung 2243WM)
Out port PC DVI direct cable DVI to DVI connected to the monitor in DVI port:
Black screen.

DP Cable not connected.

I noticed that if I use 18.3 instead of 17.1 the connectors index2 Bus id 04 and Index 3 Bus id 0x06 turn red, but monitor 1 creates strips and monitor 2 remains off.
While if I use 17,1 the monitor 1 works well but only one connector (index 2 0x04) turns red and monitor 2 is always off.

ps: the monitor 1 ram is correct (2048 MB)?
Some comments / suggestions:
  • When you use iMac18,3 and monitor 1 has stripes, do the stripes disappear if you reduce the resolution from System Preferences —> Displays?
  • Have you tried iMac18,1 or Macmini8,1? (Not iMac8,1)
    • If HDMI works on Index 2, BusID 0x04 then try DVI by setting the connector type to HDMI and use different BusIDs.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 3, 2018
Messages
39
Motherboard
q77
CPU
Core i5 3570 3.40Ghz
Graphics
Nvidia GTX 1050
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
There's certainly no harm in disabling unused connectors. You should try that. Also feel free to post your config.plist with serial numbers redacted from SMBIOS. There might be some power management checkboxes or ACPI flags (such as Fix HPET, Fix IPIC, etc.) that may help.
I was trying to figure out some things before bothering again! I have learned that my alternatives configs plist was not working when I was choosing another one from clover bootloader menu. The settings only reverted back when I renamed back to config.plist. Also when I patched connectors using indexes to -1 value (the ones to disable) I was getting black screen. Now I think I sucede disabling by having the unwanted connectors to bus 0x00 and type zero. My HDMI connection is the only one now and working with bus 0x04. System loads faster now, but sleep still doesn't work!!
I have attached my config.plist if you could please have a look!!
Thanks a lot.
 

Attachments

Joined
May 11, 2019
Messages
3
CPU
i3-7100
Graphics
HD 630
Mobile Phone
Android
Hello, my machine is desktop computer with Intel I3 7100, video card is HD630, Motherboard chip is intel H110 series, LCD screen is directly connected to the motherboard's LVDS port. And there are two other ports on this motherboard, it is a vga and a hdmi, after I use heckontools to make a path and inject to config.plist. and then the computer restart and the LCD screen becomes blackscreen, but computer is still loading. how can i set busID and which type will i chose how can i get this monitor working. if you can help me to fix my problem, I will appreciate your help very much.
 

Attachments

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
3,220
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
I was trying to figure out some things before bothering again! I have learned that my alternatives configs plist was not working when I was choosing another one from clover bootloader menu. The settings only reverted back when I renamed back to config.plist. Also when I patched connectors using indexes to -1 value (the ones to disable) I was getting black screen. Now I think I sucede disabling by having the unwanted connectors to bus 0x00 and type zero. My HDMI connection is the only one now and working with bus 0x04. System loads faster now, but sleep still doesn't work!!
I have attached my config.plist if you could please have a look!!
Thanks a lot.
If you're still having issues with Sleep, please try the attached config.plist, but copy your serial numbers and UUIDs back into SMBIOS.

A handful of changes were made, but the main ones are:
  • Inject Intel = disabled now because you're using WhateverGreen to manage the iGPU
  • ig-platform-id = empty now for the same reason
I noticed that you're using a USB port limit patch. Are you still on 10.14.3? Have you updated to 10.14.4 or 10.14.5? If so, they require different USB port limit patches.

Many sleep issues are related to USB devices and Bluetooth devices. Some suggestions:
  • Create a custom USB SSDT for your motherboard. Invest an hour or two into this and never worry about USB port limit patches again. This can also solve some USB-related sleep problems. The most user-friendly guide for this is located here.
  • Disconnect all USB devices except keyboard and mouse. Then disconnect all Bluetooth devices except keyboard/mouse (this does not mean un-pair; it just means disconnect from the Bluetooth menu).
  • If sleep works, then reattach USB devices one by one, and reconnect Bluetooth devices one by one until sleep no longer works. That will identify the offending device.
 

Attachments

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
3,220
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hello, my machine is desktop computer with Intel I3 7100, video card is HD630, Motherboard chip is intel H110 series, LCD screen is directly connected to the motherboard's LVDS port. And there are two other ports on this motherboard, it is a vga and a hdmi, after I use heckontools to make a path and inject to config.plist. and then the computer restart and the LCD screen becomes blackscreen, but computer is still loading. how can i set busID and which type will i chose how can i get this monitor working. if you can help me to fix my problem, I will appreciate your help very much.
Several questions:
  1. Have you tried following the Guide in post #1?
  2. If so, how far did you get and what Platform IDs, BusIDs, and Types did you try?
  3. What is the exact model number of your motherboard?
  4. Have you tried using Type = DP instead of LVDS?
 
Joined
Feb 16, 2011
Messages
4
Motherboard
MSI H310M PRO-M2
CPU
i5 8400
Graphics
GTS250 / UHD 630
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hey! Great info you have here!
I have a MSI H310M PRO-M2 motherboard and i5 8400, the board has 3 ports (VGA, DVI, HDMI). I can only use the VGA port, single monitor in HDMI will blank out when reaching desktop, and when trying dual monitor same thing happens.

I'm using SMBios iMac18,1 (tried 18,3, 19,2, macmini8,1 but they cause all my usb ports to stop working)
I have acceleration, but couldn't find a patch that enables my HDMI port (don't have any DVI to test)
My VGA is at Index 3, works with many Buses and Types no problem.
Tried both Index 1 and Index2 with Type HDMI with Buses ranging from 0x01 to 0x07 and none is able to give any signal :(
Is there anything else I could do to try and make this work ?

Started with Mojave 10.14.3 and now testing with 10.14.5

Thanks!

Edit: My IGPU is a 0x3e92, I'm using Platform ID 0x3e9b0007
 
Joined
Feb 16, 2011
Messages
4
Motherboard
MSI H310M PRO-M2
CPU
i5 8400
Graphics
GTS250 / UHD 630
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'm just about to bite the bullet and get a discrete GPU and leave the IGPU alone.
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2018
Messages
39
Motherboard
q77
CPU
Core i5 3570 3.40Ghz
Graphics
Nvidia GTX 1050
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
If you're still having issues with Sleep, please try the attached config.plist, but copy your serial numbers and UUIDs back into SMBIOS.

A handful of changes were made, but the main ones are:
  • Inject Intel = disabled now because you're using WhateverGreen to manage the iGPU
  • ig-platform-id = empty now for the same reason
I noticed that you're using a USB port limit patch. Are you still on 10.14.3? Have you updated to 10.14.4 or 10.14.5? If so, they require different USB port limit patches.

Many sleep issues are related to USB devices and Bluetooth devices. Some suggestions:
  • Create a custom USB SSDT for your motherboard. Invest an hour or two into this and never worry about USB port limit patches again. This can also solve some USB-related sleep problems. The most user-friendly guide for this is located here.
  • Disconnect all USB devices except keyboard and mouse. Then disconnect all Bluetooth devices except keyboard/mouse (this does not mean un-pair; it just means disconnect from the Bluetooth menu).
  • If sleep works, then reattach USB devices one by one, and reconnect Bluetooth devices one by one until sleep no longer works. That will identify the offending device.
Ohh thanks a lot!
I was worried with the reviews of my motherboard, some people saying that sleep was not working even with windows... So, my Amazon protection was almost expiring I preferred to return it and ordered a asus h110i plus. But as soon as it arrives I'll post the results with the new config.plist!
I had already done the custom ssdt for usb, but I didn't know I had to remove the port limit patch...
Now with the new motherboard I will do it again.
Thank you!!
 
Top