Contribute
Register

[GUIDE] General Framebuffer Patching Guide (HDMI Black Screen Problem)

Joined
Apr 19, 2019
Messages
32
Motherboard
ASUS Strix Z270-F
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
HD 630
Mac
iMac
hi @CaseySJ, the system no longer starts. I replaced the config.plist you sent me and the monitors are all black. I restart with the usb and try to do what you told me.
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2019
Messages
32
Motherboard
ASUS Strix Z270-F
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
HD 630
Mac
iMac
Hi, I replaced the kext files from clover/kext/other to the Mojave library, after I started kext utility, but... it only opened a window, how can I rebuild the kernel cache? Just open kext utility?
However I restarted the system and still work only main monitor works. I attach the ioregexplorer file
 

Attachments

Joined
Apr 19, 2019
Messages
32
Motherboard
ASUS Strix Z270-F
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
HD 630
Mac
iMac
latest updates: I am reinstalling everything, in order to have a clean installation. :mad:
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
9,599
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
latest updates: I am reinstalling everything, in order to have a clean installation. :mad:
That sounds like a good idea. But please try to follow a successful User Build that uses the same motherboard. And don’t rush. Take your time. And don’t worry about activating the on-board ports. Focus on completing the installation and basic post-installation. When the system is stable, make a full backup, preferably a bootable backup.

And then try to activate the other video ports. You can revisit the earlier posts in this thread and try those suggestions carefully and methodically, making only one or two controlled changes at a time and observing the result.
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2019
Messages
32
Motherboard
ASUS Strix Z270-F
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
HD 630
Mac
iMac
Thanks @CaseySJ, I lost a lot of time to reinstall everything. Now I have a clean system, I try all the procedures described and follow your advice. I will let you know.
This is the current situation(?):
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Oct 16, 2011
Messages
61
Motherboard
ASUS Z97-PRO (WIFI ac)
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
HD4600
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hello CaseySJ
question: in the Hackintool app what should I flag in Patch - General - Advance for HD4600
Thanks
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
9,599
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks @CaseySJ, I lost a lot of time to reinstall everything. Now I have a clean system, I try all the procedures described and follow your advice. I will let you know.
This is the current situation(?):
One possible issue I see from the screenshot:
  • In the bottom section Current Framebuffer Info, "GPU Device ID" should be 0x59128086 instead of 0x59120000.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
9,599
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hello CaseySJ
question: in the Hackintool app what should I flag in Patch - General - Advance for HD4600
Thanks
That depends on several factors:
  • If you trying to activate the on-board video ports:
    • General --> Device Properties (on)
    • General --> Connectors (on)
    • General --> Graphic Device (on)
    • General --> Auto Detect Changes (off)
    • Advanced --> Hotplug Reboot Fix
  • If you are using a 4K monitor:
    • All of the above plus:
    • Advanced --> Enable HDMI20 (4K) (on)
  • If you encounter issues, then try the following items in any combination:
    • Advanced --> DVMT pre-alloc 32 MB (on)
    • Advanced --> VRAM 2048 MB (on)
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2011
Messages
61
Motherboard
ASUS Z97-PRO (WIFI ac)
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
HD4600
Mobile Phone
iOS
thanks for your answer
what interests me is the HD4600

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>Devices</key>
<dict>
<key>Properties</key>
<dict>
<key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)</key>
<dict>
<key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
<data>
AwAiDQ==
</data>
<key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
<string>Internal</string>
<key>device_type</key>
<string>VGA compatible controller</string>
<key>framebuffer-con0-busid</key>
<data>
BQAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con0-enable</key>
<data>
AQAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con0-flags</key>
<data>
hwAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con0-index</key>
<data>
AQAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con0-pipe</key>
<data>
EgAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con0-type</key>
<data>
AAQAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con1-busid</key>
<data>
BAAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con1-enable</key>
<data>
AQAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con1-flags</key>
<data>
hwAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con1-index</key>
<data>
AgAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con1-pipe</key>
<data>
EgAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con1-type</key>
<data>
AAQAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con2-busid</key>
<data>
BgAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con2-enable</key>
<data>
AQAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con2-flags</key>
<data>
EQAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con2-index</key>
<data>
AwAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con2-pipe</key>
<data>
EgAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con2-type</key>
<data>
AAQAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con3-busid</key>
<data>
AAAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con3-enable</key>
<data>
AQAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con3-flags</key>
<data>
QAAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con3-index</key>
<data>
/////w==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con3-pipe</key>
<data>
AAAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con3-type</key>
<data>
AQAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
<data>
AQAAAA==
</data>
<key>hda-gfx</key>
<string>onboard-2</string>
<key>model</key>
<string>Xeon E3-1200 v3/4th Gen Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller</string>
</dict>
</dict>
</dict>
</dict>
</plist>

how can i check if it's working
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
9,599
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
thanks for your answer
what interests me is the HD4600

how can i check if it's working
With Hackintool you can check the following 2 screens:
Screen Shot 2019-05-06 at 9.22.38 AM.png Screen Shot 2019-05-06 at 9.22.57 AM.png
Screenshot 1: Check that all the values look okay and there are no "???".
Screenshot 2: Check that VRAM is at least 1536 MB.
 
Top