Contribute
Register

[GUIDE] General Framebuffer Patching Guide (HDMI Black Screen Problem)

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
10,975
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
By restarting the system I had some problems. The apple appeared, the white line came almost to the end but then the system restarted. I tried to do it again 3 times, but to no avail, so I had to restart it with the usb pendrive, and I had to change config.plist with a backup copy I had.
Maybe port aren't correct?
In the motherboard I have 1 hdm 1 dp 1 dv. Dp is connect with ad adaptor (dp to hdi) HDMI is direct, dv is connected with adaptor (dvi to hdmi). All connector work in windows (3 monitor functionally)
Video adapters can really confuse the procedure.
  • DP: DP to HDMI adapter
  • HDMI: HDMI to HDMI
  • DVI: DVI to HDMI adapter
Based on this, I've gone back to the standard Asus connector configuration from Post #1. Please try the attached config.plist.

If this also fails to boot, please try changing SMBIOS name from iMac17,1 to either iMac18,2 or iMac18,3. Be sure to keep a safe backup of the original config.plist with iMac17,1 serial numbers.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Apr 19, 2019
Messages
32
Motherboard
ASUS Strix Z270-F
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
HD 630
Mac
iMac
Thanks, I try immediately
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2019
Messages
32
Motherboard
ASUS Strix Z270-F
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
HD 630
Mac
iMac
put 18.2 in the smbios but when I connected the HDMI monitor (the direct one) the monitor connected in the DP port gave me the screen of Figure 1, I restarted without connecting HDMI but the graphics are not good (fig. 2)
 

Attachments

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
10,975
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
put 18.2 in the smbios but when I connected the HDMI monitor (the direct one) the monitor connected in the DP port gave me the screen of Figure 1, I restarted without connecting HDMI but the graphics are not good (fig. 2)
The use of video adapters may be causing a lot of issues.

Now that you know how to make changes to config.plist, you can try using only:
  • HDMI to HDMI cable
  • DP to DP cable
  • DVI to DVI cable
  • If you *must* use an adapter, DVI to HDMI would be okay, but not DP to HDMI.
You can also try:
  • iMac17,1
  • iMac18,2
  • iMac18,3
And you can try:
  • Platform ID 0x59160000
  • Platform ID 0x59120000
You should be able to follow the procedure in Post #1 now. You have one known working port (HDMI to HDMI) so the other two should be relatively easy. But you should avoid using adapters.
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2019
Messages
32
Motherboard
ASUS Strix Z270-F
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
HD 630
Mac
iMac
But... the only port that works is the one with the dp to hdmi adapter, while the direct hdmi port doesn't work (really confused...)
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
10,975
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
But... the only port that works is the one with the dp to hdmi adapter, while the direct hdmi port doesn't work (really confused...)
This is why I strongly advise against using any adapters during the test/setup procedure because it leads to a lot of confusing information in the IOReg file.

I think a lot of confusion will disappear if you just use straight DP-to-DP, HDMI-to-HDMI, and DVI-to-DVI cables that connect directly to a monitor that can receive DP, HDMI, and DVI signals directly.
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2019
Messages
32
Motherboard
ASUS Strix Z270-F
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
HD 630
Mac
iMac
Making some tests I think I understood the problem.
The second monitor has no hdmi but dvi input, and is connected to the system with a dvi to hdmi adapter and then connected to the hdmi port of the motherboard, the third monitor has instead only VGA output where a VGA to HDMi adapter is placed and is connected to the card with a DVI to HDMI adapter.
Tomorrow I buy direct cables and try everything again. Thank you very much for helping me, and sorry for the time I made you lose. Thank you!
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
10,975
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Making some tests I think I understood the problem.
The second monitor has no hdmi but dvi input, and is connected to the system with a dvi to hdmi adapter and then connected to the hdmi port of the motherboard, the third monitor has instead only VGA output where a VGA to HDMi adapter is placed and is connected to the card with a DVI to HDMI adapter.
Tomorrow I buy direct cables and try everything again. Thank you very much for helping me, and sorry for the time I made you lose. Thank you!
With "apples" to "apples" cables, please try the config.plist files again and capture the IORegistryExplorer file with each one. This file contains important information about av-signal-type and connector-type that can be used to determine the correct patch configuration. Feel free to post your results and the IOReg files.

Meanwhile, I've updated the Procedure section of the Guide as follows:

Screen Shot 2019-04-30 at 1.49.43 PM.png
 
Joined
May 5, 2018
Messages
55
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Ultra
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mobile Phone
Android
The only other thing I can think of is the Clover version running on the Mojave SSD. You may want to try using the same version that was running under 10.14.3 or updating to the latest...
In order to update to 10.14.4, I had to update clover to the latest version. Thanks.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2013
Messages
632
Motherboard
Huawei Matebook D
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620
Mobile Phone
iOS
It would be best to start a new thread in the Mojave Desktop Support forum where other Asus owners may be able to help. You should of course describe the problem, the steps taken so far, the partial results (20 successful hours with HFS+), the version of Mojave, the make/model of the NVMe drive, any USB or PCIe devices in the system, etc.
I had created a thread in Mojave Desktop Support but none replied.
Anyway, I seem to have it working now.

I eventually switched back to Bios 1.1, which is the first for this ASRock Motherboard.
I had no crashes in 48 hours. The system is working nicely I have to say.
My Config.plist has the Bios patch that was required to boot Bioses 1.2, 1.5 and 4.0. Can such bug in the Bios be the source of my issues?

The framebuffer patch is working nicely BUT I experienced an occasion in which Display Port suddenly stopped working with 60Hz in 4k and scaled back MacOS interface to a lower resolution after sleep.
With the Gigabyte Z370N WiFi motherboard and the very same i3 CPU I had huge trouble with 4k 60Hz. No matter what, even though the board had HDMI 2.0 and Display Port, the image was flickering at 60Hz. At times using Display Port the image was flickering in the Bios as well. Gigabyte support said some of these limitations lays with some Intel CPUs.
 
Top