Contribute
Register

[GUIDE] General Framebuffer Patching Guide (HDMI Black Screen Problem)

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
11,050
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
sorry high sierra. thought that was in my profiles
My Hackintosh experience began with Mojave so I'm hesitant to offer advice on High Sierra, but from previous posters in this thread, I believe we need to spoof device ID to Kaby Lake:
  • Platform ID = 0x59120000
  • Device ID = 0x5912
These changes have been made in the attached config.plist. Use at your own risk! :)
 

Attachments

Joined
Sep 18, 2013
Messages
47
Motherboard
GA 97x UD7 TH
CPU
i7 4790k
Graphics
GTX 980
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
My Hackintosh experience began with Mojave so I'm hesitant to offer advice on High Sierra, but from previous posters in this thread, I believe we need to spoof device ID to Kaby Lake:
  • Platform ID = 0x59120000
  • Device ID = 0x5912
These changes have been made in the attached config.plist. Use at your own risk! :)
will try that thanks!!!
if it fails i will try mojave following your z390designare thread
Thanks again!
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2013
Messages
47
Motherboard
GA 97x UD7 TH
CPU
i7 4790k
Graphics
GTX 980
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
@CaseySJ

Tried with the new config.plist can't boot into system, screen goes black
I was able to boot in safe mode - only dvi monitor - the IGPU appears with 1536MB (screen grab)
will work on this some more tomorrow
thanks for all the help
 

Attachments

Joined
Feb 9, 2012
Messages
295
Motherboard
Razer Blade Stealth
CPU
i7-8565U
Graphics
UHD 620, 1920 x 1080
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi Casey. first thank you for your help.
I recently have tried to run Mojave on my laptop.
it has a new CPU whiskey lake i7-8565u UHD620 FHD 1920x 1080.
I have worked on other issues and done except gnu part.

When I try to patch on Hackintool, I do not see any display connected.
I followed your steps in the guide but no luck.

It might problem about belt-in monitor is not recognized or something wrong with FB patch.

it is boot on without platform id or using 0x12345678

And WEG recognized UHD620 7MB. Definitely no QE/Ci

I've tried with SKYLAKE spoof, Kaby, Coffe as well. And I know this Cpu is in CFL structure.
When I used one of those patches, boot page always stucked in "IOConsoleUsers: gIOScreenLockState 3, hs 0, bs 0, now 0, sm 0x0"

Any idea or suggestions?
Screen Shot 2019-04-22 at 10.49.19 AM.png
Screen Shot 2019-04-22 at 10.49.40 AM.png
Screen Shot 2019-04-22 at 10.50.05 AM.png
Screen Shot 2019-04-22 at 10.53.13 AM.png
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
11,050
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
@buyjoey,

My track record on laptops and on High Sierra has been very spotty! There's a reason all of the frame buffer patches in the Compilation are for Coffee Lake desktop CPUs on Mojave.

But let's give this a shot anyway.
  • Please compress/upload CLOVER folder from EFI partition of the laptop's Mojave SSD.
  • And to confirm: Mojave 10.14.4 is fully installed and running, but iGPU is not accelerated?
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2012
Messages
295
Motherboard
Razer Blade Stealth
CPU
i7-8565U
Graphics
UHD 620, 1920 x 1080
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thank you!
yes, Fully installed 10.14.4.
I see some sign for acceleration on verbose status but stacked on"IOConsoleUsers: gIOScreenLockState 3, hs 0, bs 0, now 0, sm 0x0" freezing on that moment.
 

Attachments

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
11,050
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thank you!
yes, Fully installed 10.14.4.
I see some sign for acceleration on verbose status but stacked on"IOConsoleUsers: gIOScreenLockState 3, hs 0, bs 0, now 0, sm 0x0" freezing on that moment.
Please try the attached config.plist:
  • It uses WhateverGreen to manage the iGPU (Devices --> Properties).
  • Uses Platform ID 0x3E9B0000 and Device ID 0x3E9B.
  • This will most likely produce the same result as before, but it's an incremental step.
Platform ID 0x3E9B0000 specifies LVDS on Index 0, BusID 0x00. But this default setting may not be correct. On some laptops we actually don't use LVDS, but DisplayPort. Sometimes it needs be on Index 0, sometimes on Index 1, etc.

So other configurations to try would be:

Option 1:
Index 0, BusID 0x02, Type DP
Index 1, BusID 0x05, Type DP
Index 2, BusID 0x04, Type DP
Index -1, BusID 0x00, Type Dummy

Option 2:
Index 1, BusID 0x05, Type DP
Index 2, BusID 0x04, Type DP
Index 3, BusID 0x02, Type DP
Index -1, BusID 0x00, Type Dummy

Option 3:
Repeat Option 1, but with Platform ID 0x3E9B0007

Option 4:
Repeat Option 2, but with Platform ID 0x3E9B0007
 

Attachments

Joined
Feb 9, 2012
Messages
295
Motherboard
Razer Blade Stealth
CPU
i7-8565U
Graphics
UHD 620, 1920 x 1080
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Please try the attached config.plist:
  • It uses WhateverGreen to manage the iGPU (Devices --> Properties).
  • Uses Platform ID 0x3E9B0000 and Device ID 0x3E9B.
  • This will most likely produce the same result as before, but it's an incremental step.
Platform ID 0x3E9B0000 specifies LVDS on Index 0, BusID 0x00. But this default setting may not be correct. On some laptops we actually don't use LVDS, but DisplayPort. Sometimes it needs be on Index 0, sometimes on Index 1, etc.

So other configurations to try would be:

Option 1:
Index 0, BusID 0x02, Type DP
Index 1, BusID 0x05, Type DP
Index 2, BusID 0x04, Type DP
Index -1, BusID 0x00, Type Dummy

Option 2:
Index 1, BusID 0x05, Type DP
Index 2, BusID 0x04, Type DP
Index 3, BusID 0x02, Type DP
Index -1, BusID 0x00, Type Dummy

Option 3:
Repeat Option 1, but with Platform ID 0x3E9B0007

Option 4:
Repeat Option 2, but with Platform ID 0x3E9B0007
Alright I will try those and report soon!!
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2012
Messages
295
Motherboard
Razer Blade Stealth
CPU
i7-8565U
Graphics
UHD 620, 1920 x 1080
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Please try the attached config.plist:
  • It uses WhateverGreen to manage the iGPU (Devices --> Properties).
  • Uses Platform ID 0x3E9B0000 and Device ID 0x3E9B.
  • This will most likely produce the same result as before, but it's an incremental step.
Platform ID 0x3E9B0000 specifies LVDS on Index 0, BusID 0x00. But this default setting may not be correct. On some laptops we actually don't use LVDS, but DisplayPort. Sometimes it needs be on Index 0, sometimes on Index 1, etc.

So other configurations to try would be:

Option 1:
Index 0, BusID 0x02, Type DP
Index 1, BusID 0x05, Type DP
Index 2, BusID 0x04, Type DP
Index -1, BusID 0x00, Type Dummy

Option 2:
Index 1, BusID 0x05, Type DP
Index 2, BusID 0x04, Type DP
Index 3, BusID 0x02, Type DP
Index -1, BusID 0x00, Type Dummy

Option 3:
Repeat Option 1, but with Platform ID 0x3E9B0007

Option 4:
Repeat Option 2, but with Platform ID 0x3E9B0007
So, I tried all your suggestions.

Failed.

but I found sth.

So when option2 got me black screen with backlight on. It booted. I confirmed sound working and screen shot captured.

I changed PF ID to 0007 but the same. only I got boot(black screen with backlight on) with option2.

Plus, I tried with LVDS at index1 and the same black screen.

Option1 always make boot stucked in the same error.

Sorry for very iirregural result report. I tried so many different options.

Another suggestions?
401184
 

Attachments

Top