Contribute
Register

[GUIDE] General Framebuffer Patching Guide (HDMI Black Screen Problem)

Joined
Jan 23, 2016
Messages
73
Motherboard
Z170X-Designare
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
750 TI
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
@shuhung What config you made to work with UHD 630? mine is impossible to work, only says UHD 630 7MB. @CaseySJ was trying to help me but no luck. The maximum DVMT that my bios accept is 64MB. I have MSI H370M Bazooka, I7 8700 (Non K).
Now I'm trying to do a fresh Mojave install (I've tried Mojave, high Sierra, Sierra...) but no luck on any of these installs.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 26, 2013
Messages
946
Motherboard
MSI B250M PRO-VHD
CPU
i3-7100
Graphics
RX 570
@shuhung What config you made to work with UHD 630? mine is impossible to work, only says UHD 630 7MB. @CaseySJ was trying to help me but no luck. The maximum DVMT that my bios accept is 64MB. I have MSI H730M Bazooka, I7 8700 (Non K).
Now I'm trying to do a fresh Mojave install (I've tried Mojave, high Sierra, Sierra...) but no luck on any of these installs.
DVMT 64M OK, attached sample config should work from 10.13.6 (17G4015) and Mojave
1547389081741.png
 

Attachments

Joined
Jan 23, 2016
Messages
73
Motherboard
Z170X-Designare
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
750 TI
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
DVMT 64M OK, attached sample config should work from 10.13.6 (17G4015) and Mojave
View attachment 378897
Thank you for your help but is not working on Mojave, all works fine but when the loading bar reaches 3/4 the screen goes black and says no signal from hdmi, the same with dvi cable.

I replaced my config.plist with the one you attached.

I saw that FakeID is 0x00000000
and platform-id: 0x00000000
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 26, 2013
Messages
946
Motherboard
MSI B250M PRO-VHD
CPU
i3-7100
Graphics
RX 570
Thank you for your help but is not working on Mojave, all works fine but when the loading bar reaches 3/4 the screen goes black and says no signal from hdmi, the same with dvi cable.

I replaced my config.plist with the one you attached.

I saw that FakeID is 0x00000000
and platform-id: 0x00000000
I use VGA or DVI for primary display, hotplug HDMI for multi displays, no FB patch or WEG, Mojave also OK.
Pls upload your EFI folder for test.
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2016
Messages
73
Motherboard
Z170X-Designare
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
750 TI
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I use VGA or DVI for primary display, hotplug HDMI for multi displays, no FB patch or WEG, Mojave also OK.
Pls upload your EFI folder for test.
Here is my efi folder with original config.plist
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 26, 2013
Messages
946
Motherboard
MSI B250M PRO-VHD
CPU
i3-7100
Graphics
RX 570
Here is my efi folder with original config.plist
Repeat tested your EFI folder with my sample config, only add FakePCIID and FakePCIID_Intel_HD_Graphics for UHD630 spoofing (my IGPU is HD630), all ports work.

Can you take a snapshot of your /L/E folder.
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2016
Messages
73
Motherboard
Z170X-Designare
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
750 TI
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Repeat tested your EFI folder with my sample config, only add FakePCIID and FakePCIID_Intel_HD_Graphics for UHD630 spoofing (my IGPU is HD630), all ports work.

Can you take a snapshot of your /L/E folder.
I have the same error as before, now appears the verbose log and after that the screen goes black.

I installed FakePCIID and FakePCIID_Intel_HD_Graphics on /L/E and EFI/CLOVER/KEXTS/OTHER

Still appearing UHD 630 7 MB

I have a little problem and is that I can't mount the efi partition. I tried with clover configurator, efi mounter... the only way that I can is running multibeast and installing one kext that I already have installed.

problem on mount efi: mkdir: /volumes/efi: permission denied
 

Attachments

Last edited:

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
24,458
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
512K, LC, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
  • BusID 0x02 supported VGA up to Broadwell. Now this is used as the LVDS connector with a mobile framebuffer for Mobile CPUs. It should not be used with Desktop processors.
  • BusID 0x05 supports VGA with Skylake and up, effectively adapting it to a supported digital connector.
macOS native, neither statement is true.
BusID 0x02: ig-platform-id was introduced on Ivy Bridge/HD4000 with BusID 0x02 supporting LVDS; not VGA, ever
BusID 0x05: Intel HD Graphics stopped supporting VGA with Skylake/HD530; no VGA

Desktop/motherboards have an onboard BusID 0x02 or BusID 0x05 DP2VGA converter.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
5,399
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
macOS native, neither statement is true.
BusID 0x02: ig-platform-id was introduced on Ivy Bridge/HD4000 with BusID 0x02 supporting LVDS; not VGA, ever
BusID 0x05: Intel HD Graphics stopped supporting VGA with Skylake/HD530; no VGA
Ok. I was trying to interpret Headkaze's BusID description in the image below.
Bus ID Description.png


Desktop/motherboards have an onboard BusID 0x02 or BusID 0x05 DP2VGA converter.
If a motherboard has an onboard VGA connector, it means there's a separate converter that's converting DP output from Intel HD graphics into a VGA output to drive the VGA connector? Therefore a motherboard's VGA port is actually generated from a DisplayPort output from Intel HD graphics, hence BusID 0x05?
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 9, 2010
Messages
219
Motherboard
ASUS Prime Z390-A
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mobile Phone
Android
@CaseySJ - Hi, thank you for this guide. I've been able to get the Intel UHD 630 Graphics on my i5-9600K CPU working with acceleration, thanks to your help. I used the patch for the "ASUS Prime H370-Plus and Coffee Lake CPU" in your original post (I think you've read my post detailing this on the ASUS ROG STRIX Z390-I thread).

It's getting late here in the UK, so I'm going to see if if this still works when I upgrade to Mojave tomorrow (it should be problem free, I hope).
 
Top