Contribute
Register

[GUIDE] General Framebuffer Patching Guide (HDMI Black Screen Problem)

Joined
Jul 14, 2013
Messages
8
Motherboard
ASUS Prime Z490M-PLUS
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
AMD WX 5100 / Intel UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Performa
  3. Power Mac
  4. Quadra
  5. SE
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Some of these are known issues. For example:
  • Some websites in Safari may not render or behave correctly.
  • iMovie may crash on launch.
  • Final Cut Pro may crash on launch.
  • Some graphics display glitched may be seen.
  • Other.
We recommend setting the iGPU into headless mode where it no longer drives a display monitor, but is still available for compute tasks. An AMD GPU is highly recommended.

I got it all sorted, in my trials for different bus IDs and connectors I somehow removed my Device-ID injection. I put that back in and its all better now. I noticed this by going back and seeing "???" for my graphics name in the Hackintool System tab.

I'll update my previous post to include it as well.

I have an AMD card that will be the primary display driver, but I wanted to make sure I got all the integrated stuff working too, you know, for the "fun" of it...ahahah. Sounds like I'll probably need to look into headless mode when I switch to only the AMD card.

Thanks again for the help!
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,096
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I got it all sorted, in my trials for different bus IDs and connectors I somehow removed my Device-ID injection. I put that back in and its all better now. I noticed this by going back and seeing "???" for my graphics name in the Hackintool System tab.

I'll update my previous post to include it as well.

I have an AMD card that will be the primary display driver, but I wanted to make sure I got all the integrated stuff working too, you know, for the "fun" of it...ahahah. Sounds like I'll probably need to look into headless mode when I switch to only the AMD card.

Thanks again for the help!
Does your computer sleep and wake properly (with monitor connected to on-board HDMI port)? Others are reporting that their system enters sleep and stay asleep, but the monitor remains blank upon wake-from-sleep.

P.S. Added "device-id" to the spoiler in Post 1.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2013
Messages
8
Motherboard
ASUS Prime Z490M-PLUS
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
AMD WX 5100 / Intel UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Performa
  3. Power Mac
  4. Quadra
  5. SE
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Does your computer sleep and wake properly (with monitor connected to on-board HDMI port)? Others are reporting that their system enters sleep and stay asleep, but the monitor remains blank upon wake-from-sleep.

P.S. Added "device-id" to the spoiler in Post 1.
Yes, sleep and wake are functioning as expected.

I followed the directions in the link below, I believe I had the problem where I needed to activate the keyboard twice or the keyboard and the mouse to get the display after wake.

 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2021-02-25 at 8.45.49 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2021-02-25 at 8.45.49 PM.png
    79 KB · Views: 100
Joined
Sep 19, 2015
Messages
94
Motherboard
Asus Z97 Deluxe
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
@CaseySJ

Hi, I tried many times without success and need to ask for help.

My Asus Z97 Deluxe with 4790K works well with 2560x1440 using mini DP. No sleep issue at all.

Recently I change the LCD monitor to Asus VG289G 4K and it has two problems:
1. After sleep, it can't wake up and the screen power LED is off.
2. During normal status, if I switch off the Asus monitor and switch it on manually, the display signal is not detected and the monitor is still sleeping.

I am using iGPI. I used mini DP to old monitor. And I am using normal DP to new monitor as I do not have mini DP cable.

I have to patch Framebuffer in order to get 4K activated. Without this, I get only 2560 x 1440.

The LCD is shown with 3840 x 2160, while it also shows as 2560 x 1440.

PS: Following OC doc to patch framebuffer, 4K is not enabled. The following settings work with 3840 x 2160/60Hz.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2021-03-22 at 7.48.33 PM.png
    Screenshot 2021-03-22 at 7.48.33 PM.png
    38.2 KB · Views: 99
  • Screenshot 2021-03-22 at 7.49.59 PM.png
    Screenshot 2021-03-22 at 7.49.59 PM.png
    83.3 KB · Views: 94
  • Screenshot 2021-03-22 at 7.50.39 PM.png
    Screenshot 2021-03-22 at 7.50.39 PM.png
    41.7 KB · Views: 92

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,096
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ

Hi, I tried many times without success and need to ask for help.

My Asus Z97 Deluxe with 4790K works well with 2560x1440 using mini DP. No sleep issue at all.

Recently I change the LCD monitor to Asus VG289G 4K and it has two problems:
1. After sleep, it can't wake up and the screen power LED is off.
2. During normal status, if I switch off the Asus monitor and switch it on manually, the display signal is not detected and the monitor is still sleeping.

I am using iGPI. I used mini DP to old monitor. And I am using normal DP to new monitor as I do not have mini DP cable.

I have to patch Framebuffer in order to get 4K activated. Without this, I get only 2560 x 1440.

The LCD is shown with 3840 x 2160, while it also shows as 2560 x 1440.

PS: Following OC doc to patch framebuffer, 4K is not enabled. The following settings work with 3840 x 2160/60Hz.
Hello @eos1d3,

This is not an HDMI enablement issue, but a wake-from-sleep issue on DisplayPort with a 4K monitor. Technically it's off topic, but let me at least suggest trying some AGDP patches for wake-from-sleep issues. They may or may not work, but are worth a try.
Screen Shot 2021-03-22 at 9.06.04 AM.png
Another option is to use SwitchResX (trial version available) and specify the scaled resolution (4K, but "looks like 2560x1440"). This may (or may not) help with the second issue (switching the Asus 4K monitor on and off during normal operation).
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2015
Messages
94
Motherboard
Asus Z97 Deluxe
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I believed HDMI and DP black screen are same issue though. 4K has been working with my patch above, but not the black screen issue. I am using Opencore so the AGDP patch can't be used. Anyway, thank again!
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,096
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I believed HDMI and DP black screen are same issue though. 4K has been working with my patch above, but not the black screen issue. I am using Opencore so the AGDP patch can't be used. Anyway, thank again!
We can translate the patch to OpenCore as follows:
  • Identifier: com.apple.driver.AppleGraphicsDevicePolicy
  • Comment: Black Screen Patch Vega 56/64, RX580 etc. (c)Pike R. Alpha
  • Find: 626F6172 642D6964
  • Replace: 626F6172 642D6978
  • Enabled: Check on
Screenshot is of OpenCore Configurator:
Screen Shot 2021-03-22 at 10.50.09 AM.png
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2015
Messages
94
Motherboard
Asus Z97 Deluxe
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Thanks for your great help as always!
 
Joined
May 19, 2017
Messages
122
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z590-A
CPU
i7-11700K
Graphics
6900 XT / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hi, this guide is a great help. The export as boot loader config will work in opencore right? Also, I’m unable to change the bus ID in hackintool. Tried double clicking or hitting tab from the index entry. Thoughts? Should I try an older version of hackintool?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,096
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, this guide is a great help. The export as boot loader config will work in opencore right? Also, I’m unable to change the bus ID in hackintool. Tried double clicking or hitting tab from the index entry. Thoughts? Should I try an older version of hackintool?
The option to Export to Bootloader Plist works only with Clover. With OpenCore we can first create a DeviceProperties entry for the iGPU (OpenCore Configurator allows us to do this easily) then edit the config.plist with a suitable text editor such as BBEdit (free trial version can be downloaded from their website -- BareBones Software). We can then copy the framebuffer patch segment from Hackintool and paste it into the right spot in the OpenCore config.plist.

To change BusID in Hackintool, simply double-click on it.
 
Top