Contribute
Register

[GUIDE] General Framebuffer Patching Guide (HDMI Black Screen Problem)

Joined
Apr 3, 2017
Messages
34
Motherboard
Asus Z170i
CPU
i7-7700
Graphics
Sapphire RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi! Can't solve the black screen problem with Intel 630 (connection via HDMI).
Yesterday I've updated Lilu and Whatevergreen kexts but nothing has been changed.
See attached EFI
Screenshot 2020-10-09 at 11.58.08.png
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    30.9 MB · Views: 12
  • config.plist
    7.5 KB · Views: 16
Joined
Sep 22, 2011
Messages
852
Motherboard
HP EliteDesk 800 G4 Mini
CPU
I7-8700
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi! Can't solve the black screen problem with Intel 630 (connection via HDMI).
Yesterday I've updated Lilu and Whatevergreen kexts but nothing has been changed.
See attached EFI
By "can't solve" I'm guessing you mean you don't know how to patch Intel UHD 630 graphics. You need Devices->Properties in your config.plist and you should not have those DSDT renaming patches in your config.plist. Take your time and study these:
  1. WhateverGreen FAQ
  2. The first post in this thread
Also search for your board / CPU and look for others who already have macOS running on your system.
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2011
Messages
34
Motherboard
Asus ZenBook UX430UA-GV259T
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
HD 620
Hi. I have managed to get the signal through HDMI from black screen in an asus maximus hero XI with opencore adding one of your profiles, but the image compared to the Displayport output is not so smooth and the mouse has a bit of lag.

Can you help me please?


Code:
   <key>Properties</key>
        <dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
                <data>
                BwCbPg==
                </data>
                <key>device-id</key>
                <data>
                mz4AAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-busid</key>
                <data>
                AgAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-flags</key>
                <data>
                xwMAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-index</key>
                <data>
                AgAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-pipe</key>
                <data>
                CgAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-type</key>
                <data>
                AAgAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-busid</key>
                <data>
                BAAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-flags</key>
                <data>
                xwMAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-index</key>
                <data>
                AwAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-pipe</key>
                <data>
                CAAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-type</key>
                <data>
                AAgAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-busid</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-flags</key>
                <data>
                xwMAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-index</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-pipe</key>
                <data>
                CQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-type</key>
                <data>
                AAQAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
            </dict>
        </dict>
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2020
Messages
2
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Gaming X
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Saphire RX580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. Quadra
  3. Xserve
update: i noticed that your cpu is i9-9900K. so my post won't work for you. you must read the framebuffer guide. No matter if you intend to use internal graphics, or is I undestand your RX card. I can't explain the framebuffer fix on here, you'll find a couple of very clear, step by step, exhaustive guides. focus on those....
Good luck. Let me know if I can help.
I finally realized that the CPU is not the same. Although I still have some problems, I have simply changed the connection of screens (I don't use HDMI anymore) and using DP (the 580 have 2xHDMI, 2x DP and 1 DVI (not usable because pink screen)), it works reasonably well using two screens, although it always starts in the secondary, when you access the system it changes automatically... and I won't touch anything else ;o)
Anyway thank you very much for your help, despite everything it has been very useful to me.

Tnx!
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2013
Messages
154
Motherboard
GA-Z87MX-D3H
CPU
i5-4670K
Graphics
HD4600
This may be a dumb question but the instructions in post #1 say "DVI is the same as HDMI. The same BusIDs and even the same Type are used."

Does this mean that literally the exact same busid is used for DVI and HDMI in a single config.plist file (eg busid for both set as 0x01)? Or that the valid/functioning busids for dvi and hdmi need to be chosen from the limited group of valid busids for HDMI and DVI but distinct? (i.e. BusIDs 0x01, 0x02, 0x04, 0x06)

Experimenting with getting this gigabyte z390m (non-gaming) up and stable, and the combinations and permutations are taking a long time to get through. Thanks in advance.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 20, 2010
Messages
124
Motherboard
Asus
CPU
i7
Graphics
GTX 660
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. 20th Anniv. Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Disregard
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 7, 2020
Messages
1
Motherboard
Asus ROG Maximus Xl Hero Z390
CPU
Intel® Core™ i9-9900K
Graphics
Intel® UHD 630
Hi. I have managed to get the signal through HDMI from black screen in an asus maximus hero XI with opencore adding one of your profiles, but the image compared to the Displayport output is not so smooth and the mouse has a bit of lag.

Can you help me please?


Code:
   <key>Properties</key>
        <dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
                <data>
                BwCbPg==
                </data>
                <key>device-id</key>
                <data>
                mz4AAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-busid</key>
                <data>
                AgAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-flags</key>
                <data>
                xwMAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-index</key>
                <data>
                AgAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-pipe</key>
                <data>
                CgAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-type</key>
                <data>
                AAgAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-busid</key>
                <data>
                BAAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-flags</key>
                <data>
                xwMAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-index</key>
                <data>
                AwAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-pipe</key>
                <data>
                CAAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-type</key>
                <data>
                AAgAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-busid</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-flags</key>
                <data>
                xwMAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-index</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-pipe</key>
                <data>
                CQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-type</key>
                <data>
                AAQAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
            </dict>
        </dict>
hi. what is your system and processor? Starting from 10.14.4 - no need to change device-id. try to delete and check.
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2020
Messages
8
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z490-P
CPU
Core I3 10100
Graphics
UHD630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey guys been tooling around with the framebuffer this weekend trying to get my UHD630 graphics to work correctly, let me give some context first:

Asus Prime Z490-P
Intel 10100 (UHD630)
Running OC 0.6.1
Catalina 10.15.7
Let me know if you need more info of what I am using.

So my current setup works perfectly with multi monitor (note using no adapters, have HDMI and DP on my mobo and using those directly), I had an issue before with 4k on one of my monitors but I resolved that changing my SMBios to 20,1 instead of 19,1.

My main issue is that I need to hot plug the HDMI monitor every time I restart the PC (on login), or I just turn it off and back on again, basically the same thing. I want to fix that issue, is there a way. I know it was mentioned on the first post but if anyone knows some context around that I'd like to figure this out.

1603568501036.png
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2011
Messages
852
Motherboard
HP EliteDesk 800 G4 Mini
CPU
I7-8700
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey guys been tooling around with the framebuffer this weekend trying to get my UHD630 graphics to work correctly, let me give some context first:
...
My main issue is that I need to hot plug the HDMI monitor every time I restart the PC (on login), or I just turn it off and back on again, basically the same thing. I want to fix that issue, is there a way. I know it was mentioned on the first post but if anyone knows some context around that I'd like to figure this out.
Without seeing your debug files, it's a guess - you may need igfxonln=1. See these boot args. If that doesn't help, post your debug files (include sanitized config.plist).
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2020
Messages
8
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z490-P
CPU
Core I3 10100
Graphics
UHD630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Without seeing your debug files, it's a guess - you may need igfxonln=1. See these boot args. If that doesn't help, post your debug files (include sanitized config.plist).
Will try tonight thank you for helping me out with this. I will post the debug files if it doesn't work.
 
Top