Contribute
Register

[GUIDE] General Framebuffer Patching Guide (HDMI Black Screen Problem)

Joined
Sep 28, 2012
Messages
71
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390M Gaming
CPU
i5-9400f
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Lisa
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've never worked with F-Series CPUs, so I did some reading. The F-Series CPUs don't have an iGPU, so as you read, you can completely ignore Intel framebuffer patching. This thread is not for you - it is for Intel iGPU Framebuffer patching. If you are trying to get your RX560 graphics working, this is NOT the thread. Search for "WhateverGreen RX560" and you'll find solutions using Lilu/WhateverGreen. You will use the video ports on your RX560 card and not the video ports on your motherboard (if there are any). Ask your questions in the appropriate RADEON GPU graphics threads and ignore threads about Intel UHD graphics. Sorry I mislead you in my last post - I haven't worked with F-Series CPUs. You will probably need to use SMBIOS MacModel iMac19,1 or IMacPro1,1.
thank you very much. I was actually reading how about whatevergreen:
https://github.com/acidanthera/WhateverGreen/blob/master/Manual/FAQ.Radeon.en.md
not sure if this is could work. I extracted vbios.rom so far. let's see if I can get more info. I really appreciate your help.
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2012
Messages
71
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390M Gaming
CPU
i5-9400f
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Lisa
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
thank you very much. I was actually reading how about whatevergreen:
https://github.com/acidanthera/WhateverGreen/blob/master/Manual/FAQ.Radeon.en.md
not sure if this is could work. I extracted vbios.rom so far. let's see if I can get more info. I really appreciate your help.
<CATALINA: SUCCESS Z 390M GAMING + I5-9400 + RADEON RX560>
Thanks for your help. the dual screen issue is way easier to solve than anyone would expect. in my case, no frame buffering, no fake ID, all I needed was and Edid Script.
Once I found it, the fix took me 3 minutes!
Thanks again for your help, now dual screen both working with no black, no magenta, juast perfect!!!!!
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2017
Messages
5
Motherboard
B250-Mortar
CPU
i5-7500
Graphics
HD630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
I think this patch would solve my problem.
But after trying, there is no change and one interesting thing is I found the info shown in Hackintool is not changed,
is this normal? It seems that my modification has no effect...
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2020
Messages
1
Motherboard
GB Z390 UD
CPU
i3 9100
Graphics
intel UHD 630
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Share with my HDMI black screen solving: I have Gigabyte Z390 UD mb and UHD 630 graphics on my i3 9100
I use Whatevergreen 1.4.2 and Lilu 1.4.7
Here my config:
Снимок экрана 2020-09-20 в 08.40.24.png

As you see my MB use 3 index and 4 idBus for HDMI out (for more info look here https://dortania.github.io/OpenCore...s.html#converting-a-clover-fakeid-to-opencore )
In result:
Снимок экрана 2020-09-19 в 18.04.42.png
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2016
Messages
5
Motherboard
K650D i7 d3
CPU
i7-4710MQ
Graphics
HD4600 & gtx950M
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Now thats called a proper connector patching tutorial. Very detailed explanation. It clears a lot of confusion.
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2020
Messages
3
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Gaming X
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Saphire RX580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. Quadra
  3. Xserve
<CATALINA: SUCCESS Z 390M GAMING + I5-9400 + RADEON RX560>
Thanks for your help. the dual screen issue is way easier to solve than anyone would expect. in my case, no frame buffering, no fake ID, all I needed was and Edid Script.
Once I found it, the fix took me 3 minutes!
Thanks again for your help, now dual screen both working with no black, no magenta, juast perfect!!!!!
Hi mate, I have the same problem that you with dual monitor on Catalina, can you explain your solution a litle more, please?
Thanks,
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2011
Messages
18
Motherboard
Z390 Aorus Pro Wifi
CPU
i7 9700k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I think this patch would solve my problem.
But after trying, there is no change and one interesting thing is I found the info shown in Hackintool is not changed,
is this normal? It seems that my modification has no effect...
Could it be the "Apply Current Patches" from the Patches Menu isn't checked?
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2019
Messages
21
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 UD
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
intergrated
can you help me with this, my new mobo is MSI Z390 Gaming Plus, my old mobi is Gigabyte Z390 UD, the old mobo work fine but it was broken by me after the heavy case kick, I replace the new mobo but cannot boot, so I borrow a hackintosh usb installer from my colleague, now I can't see the red line if I choose the right Platform ID for desktop
1602150160639.png
1602150181341.png
1602150196425.png

but with others Laptop Platform ID I can see the red line,
1602150248813.png
1602150260090.png

but when I generate the patch of this, my computer can boot but no graphics at all, only code running display
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2017
Messages
34
Motherboard
Asus Z170i
CPU
i7-7700
Graphics
Sapphire RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi! Can't solve the black screen problem with Intel 630 (connection via HDMI).
Yesterday I've updated Lilu and Whatevergreen kexts but nothing has been changed.
See attached EFI
Screenshot 2020-10-09 at 11.58.08.png
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    30.9 MB · Views: 8
  • config.plist
    7.5 KB · Views: 11
Top