Contribute
Register

[GUIDE] General Framebuffer Patching Guide (HDMI Black Screen Problem)

Joined
May 4, 2020
Messages
35
Motherboard
HP 8537
CPU
i5-8265U
Graphics
UHD 620
So today I've done the whole pathing from scratch again.

I went from:
01010900 00080000 C7030000 to 01060900 00080000 C7030000 (Pipe: 9)
01011200 00080000 C7030000 to 01061200 00080000 C7030000 (Pipe: 18)
On every conn.
Setting
00080000 (HDMI) on the one I was testing, and 00040000 (Type) and 00 (BusID) on the other two.

I've done this for every conn, trying both 18 (0x12) and the "original" Pipe values, which are:
90x09 for conn0
10
0x0A for conn1
8
0x08 for conn2

That's 6 (BusID) * 2 (Pipe) * 3 (Index) = 36 possible combinations, rebooting after changes.

And NO LUCK!

These are the starting values:
View attachment 473463
And this is at the end:
View attachment 473464

Latest WEG and Lilu (built from sources yesterday, but tried also with Release ZIPs).

I am also on 10.15.5.
Shall we downgrade? I think this is a no-go.
try updating whatevergreen kext and all the others kexts to the latest releases
they state that
Code:
Fixed framebuffer-conX-alldata patching regression
Maybe it'll help
I'm a newbie so please be cautious following my advises )
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2011
Messages
1,081
Motherboard
HP EliteDesk 800 G4 Mini
CPU
I7-8700
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I am also on 10.15.5.
Shall we downgrade? I think this is a no-go.

EDIT: Try @e285ne 's suggestion here first if you're not using the latest Lilu.kext and WhateverGreen.kext. If that doesn't work...

When you tried spoofing device-id = 0x00003E92 (reverse byte order: device-id 0x923E0000), did you also try the associated 3E92XXXX framebuffer values
  • 0x3E920000 (Reverse byte order: 0x0000923E)
  • 0x3E920009 (Reverse byte order: 0x0900923E)
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2020
Messages
10
Motherboard
Asus ROG STRIX H370-I GAMING
CPU
Intel i5 9600k
Graphics
Intel UHD Graphics 630
Hey guys thanks for the replies, yeah I'm on latest WEG and Lilu.
Tried all the framebuffers (platform-id), and also spoofing the device-id :'(
 
Joined
May 4, 2020
Messages
35
Motherboard
HP 8537
CPU
i5-8265U
Graphics
UHD 620
Actually I was the one who rolled back :)
But I have a different CPU/GPU i5-8265u with UHD620

@ffs-whatever
I looked into your EFI and you seem to be using WEG 1.3.9

I have i5 9400 / Asus Prime Z390-P and I'm running 0x3e9b0000 on 10.15.5 (DP Port)
But I still haven't fixed HDMI port
Try it out maybe this helps

You don't need to spoof device-id afaik
If you are using a 9th generation Coffee Lake Refresh processor, it is necessary to fake device-id 923E0000 for IGPU. Starting with macOS 10.14.4 the fake is not necessary.

The say Apple did changes to AppleIntelCFLGraficsFramebuffer.kext and AppleIntelCFLGraphicsVAME.bundle which has broken the patch. Maybe these are rumors but rollback to previous(actually I don't know, I haven't checked it, I downloaded the files from the net) version helped me (core i5-8265u) and fixed my HDMI.
I'm not sure this is good idea, but I checked it, it worked for me
Then I had security patch installed which has overwritten these files back to 10.15.5 apparently and I left them alone as I have HDMI hub and actually making the HDMI port work was primarily kind of a challenge :)
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2020
Messages
10
Motherboard
Asus ROG STRIX H370-I GAMING
CPU
Intel i5 9600k
Graphics
Intel UHD Graphics 630
@ffs-whatever
I looked into your EFI and you seem to be using WEG 1.3.9
Yeah, that was before updating now, I'm 200% sure I'm on the latest.

So, how does one simply downgrade? :D I am trying everything so why not!
Do I need to do a full reinstall starting from an older installer?
 
Joined
May 4, 2020
Messages
35
Motherboard
HP 8537
CPU
i5-8265U
Graphics
UHD 620
I use clonezilla
Where did you get the WEG file?
Look in you EFI/OC/kexts/WhateverGreen.kext/Contents/Info.plist
I see 1.3.9 there

Ok if you're sure that it's latest, try the FB @deeveedee has offered
Then you could try the one that worked for me (see above) but it seems to be for mobile afaik
I'm also using force-online but you should be able to go without it
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot at Jun 03 21-06-15.png
    Screenshot at Jun 03 21-06-15.png
    9.3 KB · Views: 32
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 2, 2020
Messages
10
Motherboard
Asus ROG STRIX H370-I GAMING
CPU
Intel i5 9600k
Graphics
Intel UHD Graphics 630
I use clonezilla

Ah so you restored a previous install... No luck for me then :(

I see 1.3.9 there

Yeah I've updated yesterday after seeing the alldata fix, thanks for taking the effort to check it out tho!

Schermata 2020-06-03 alle 16.04.22.png


Right now I've actually built it from source using Lilu and Friends.
 
Joined
May 4, 2020
Messages
35
Motherboard
HP 8537
CPU
i5-8265U
Graphics
UHD 620
Ah so you restored a previous install... No luck for me then :(



Yeah I've updated yesterday after seeing the alldata fix, thanks for taking the effort to check it out tho!

View attachment 473485

Right now I've actually built it from source using Lilu and Friends.
Yeah, I'm a former SysOp and currently I'm a DevOps so I love backups :)
 
Joined
May 4, 2020
Messages
35
Motherboard
HP 8537
CPU
i5-8265U
Graphics
UHD 620
Ok attach your current EFI folder zipped maybe we'll see something
I'm a no pro but maybe you are too close to the project and simply overlooking something
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2020
Messages
10
Motherboard
Asus ROG STRIX H370-I GAMING
CPU
Intel i5 9600k
Graphics
Intel UHD Graphics 630
Yeah, I'm a former SysOp and currently I'm a DevOps so I love backups :)
LOL this is my first install so I couldn't possibly have one... I'll make sure to rsync the whole drive as soon as it works as expected :D

Anyhow, if anybody has a solution for => this <= or can at least confirm that is a no-go on 10.15.5.

At this point I am seriously considering sticking a dGPU in there just to end all this pain (It's been a week of trials till 4AM), but I would still be bugged by not understanding what's going on.
 
Top