Contribute
Register

[GUIDE] General Framebuffer Patching Guide (HDMI Black Screen Problem)

Joined
Jan 31, 2020
Messages
2
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designaire
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi, I am new to hackintosh's and am in desperate need of help.

I was brought here by- [SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

I was trying to insert the framebuffer patch according to this guide but ran into some serious issues.

After exporting and replacing the current config.plist i was prompted to restart but ever since restarting my monitor just goes black everytime.

I can get into BIOS fine and Clover's start up screen shows up but when i go to start up mac os (10.14.6 is the version i'm on) i get a black screen.

I've tried manually typing in the framebuffer patch that is recommended for my mobo (Z390 Designaire) in the UEFI Shell but still no progress.

HARDWARE
z390 designaire
i7-8700k



Please any advice or hint in the right direction will be greatly appreciated.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2019
Messages
5
Motherboard
Asrock Z390 Phantom Gaming ITX/AC
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Apple
Mobile Phone
iOS
Moderator Note:

Original quote removed.

In the future do not quote the original message. Specially when it is a detailed guide like this.


Hi CaseySJ, thanks for providing such great tutorial FBP for us.
I patched the FB under your tutorial and works fine in 10.14.6, but after upgraded to 10.15.2, I am facing some problem, could you help to advise how I can fix it?

Thanks
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Oct 25, 2019
Messages
17
Motherboard
Dell need model # > See Rules!
CPU
i5-7200U
Graphics
HD 620
Nice guide i must say. Ive followed all the detailed & able to configure mine, Dell Latitude 3480, intel i5 7200u. Built it HDMI & vga.

This my configuration, where the hdmi & vga were connected. My problem is, my internal display gone blank once the hdmi plugged in but there is display from hdmi. If the hdmi plugged while reboot, laptop display still blank but got display from hdmi. At the moment i use to get my laptop sleep & wake up then only both display working. At this stage, even the hdmi plugged out & in, display wont go blank for the laptop, hdmi working too.

Ive attached my hackintool setting as references & wish to rid my problem. Ive also attached my clover config & ioregistry before & after sleep for my laptop. Im on High Sierra, 10.3.6.

Pls guide me thx
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 25, 2019
Messages
17
Motherboard
Dell need model # > See Rules!
CPU
i5-7200U
Graphics
HD 620
C'mon guys, i need help here
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
7,580
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi, I am new to hackintosh's and am in desperate need of help.

I was brought here by- [SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

I was trying to insert the framebuffer patch according to this guide but ran into some serious issues.

After exporting and replacing the current config.plist i was prompted to restart but ever since restarting my monitor just goes black everytime.

I can get into BIOS fine and Clover's start up screen shows up but when i go to start up mac os (10.14.6 is the version i'm on) i get a black screen.

I've tried manually typing in the framebuffer patch that is recommended for my mobo (Z390 Designaire) in the UEFI Shell but still no progress.

HARDWARE
z390 designaire
i7-8700k



Please any advice or hint in the right direction will be greatly appreciated.
Please post your config.plist with serial numbers removed from SMBIOS. This should be an easy fix.

What is the make/model of your monitor?
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2020
Messages
3
Motherboard
z390 designare
CPU
i5 9400f
Graphics
amd rx580
Hi @CaseySJ
my config is z390 designare , i5 9400f (you know,model without graphics) and amd rx 580 .
After the boot the gpu stop to work ... i try to fix intel uhd (i follow your guide) , reboot but nothing to do for the amd 580 (no fans spin , no cinebench's work, seems turn off) .. any suggestion?maybe the card is broken .. but the fans spin in bios and in boot fase.

I hope you can hep me
cheers

Michele
 

Attachments

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
7,580
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi @CaseySJ
my config is z390 designare , i5 9400f (you know,model without graphics) and amd rx 580 .
After the boot the gpu stop to work ... i try to fix intel uhd (i follow your guide) , reboot but nothing to do for the amd 580 (no fans spin , no cinebench's work, seems turn off) .. any suggestion?maybe the card is broken .. but the fans spin in bios and in boot fase.

I hope you can hep me
cheers

Michele
Hello @miczic,

Because the 9400F lacks an internal GPU, you do not actually need this guide! This guide is only for iGPUs. So in your case you do not need to specify any Platform ID. Just let macOS use whatever Platform ID it wants. However, you only need to enable WhateverGreen by setting the property "framebuffer-patch-enable" to "01000000".

If you're unsure how to do this, just upload your config.plist (but remove serial numbers before uploading).

EDIT: correction -- if there's no iGPU, you do not have to do anything other than to copy Lilu and WhateverGreen to the CLOVER/kexts/Other folder. Also, fans on the AMD GPUs will turn off. This is normal. However, fans will turn on when GPU temp reaches 55-60C.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 30, 2015
Messages
35
Motherboard
Asus Vivobook Pro
CPU
i7-8750H
Graphics
UHD 630
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
goodmorning , I try to patch following your guide on , but no result yet , I try a lot of platform ID and I use Intel website for understand Device ID , but no Luck...
I will attach my screenshot about that

EDIT: This is config before I apply with Framebuffer :MacOs 10.14 . After I apply I cannot boot on it and I receive black screen and if I boot in Safemode "-x" I can see acceleration is working good.
Screenshot 2020-03-05 at 00.37.19.png
Screenshot 2020-03-05 at 00.36.48.png
Screenshot 2020-03-05 at 00.36.39.png
Screenshot 2020-03-05 at 00.36.26.png

PS: I'm using Catalina
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
7,580
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
goodmorning , I try to patch following your guide on , but no result yet , I try a lot of platform ID and I use Intel website for understand Device ID , but no Luck...
I will attach my screenshot about that

EDIT: This is config before I apply with Framebuffer :MacOs 10.14 . After I apply I cannot boot on it and I receive black screen and if I boot in Safemode "-x" I can see acceleration is working good.
View attachment 453110View attachment 453111View attachment 453112View attachment 453113
PS: I'm using Catalina
Hello @wmcore,
  • Have you tried Platform ID 0x3E9B0007? Most Coffee Lake Macs with built-in LCDs use this ID.
  • Have you searched this thread for solutions that worked for other laptop owners?
 
Top