Contribute
Register

[GUIDE] GA-Z77-UD5H, GA-GeForce 770GTX WF, i7 3770K

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Aug 23, 2012
Messages
46
Motherboard
GigaByte GA-Z77-UD5H, 16GB Corsair Vengeance, Hydro H70 Cooling
CPU
Intel i7 3770K
Graphics
nVidia GA-GV770GTX 2GB
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yep tried all combinations with GraphicsEnabler Yes/No and PCIRootUID 1/0.

The IGFX are disabled.

Thats what the verbose mode looks like.

http://i.imgur.com/qNX5Aip.jpg


Hi, seems like the exact error which I had a while ago as I was trying different system-definitions.
Which one do u use?
Do you over clock?
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2013
Messages
3
Motherboard
MSI Z87-GD65
CPU
i5-4670K @ 4.0 GHz
Graphics
Gigabyte Windforce X3 GTX780
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I got Windows 8 on another hdd if that is what you mean and two other hdds for storage.
Yes my cpu is overclocked a bit.
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2011
Messages
193
Motherboard
HP ProBook 4540s-Clover
CPU
i7-3612QM
Graphics
HD4000, 1366x768
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, sorry guys.
I forgot to subscribe to this Post to help you. Well I hope it is not too late :)



I think so :)

@JasenJ
If you still have any troubles do not hesitate to ask.

@Justieh
I'm glad to you that my gude is working for you.
Since you have said everything is working, how about the flaws i mentioned? Did you manage to get rid of them? How?






Could you please clarify you question?
Where did you get stuck?
What did you do so far?

Well I will try to answer your questions:
* I did not removed my gtx770. I installed windows and Mountain Lion with onboard gfx. Once everything was Done I installed the gfx-card (steps 22-30)
* You don't have to disable the onboard gfx. I did it in case of any problem while booting into OSX (e.g. Display not working)
I did this to make it more easy to find out, where the problem might be located.
* If you want to use the integrated gfx you can use 64Mb, this should work.
* While Installing ML with UniBeast, I just typed the Bootflag PCIRootUID=1, once you have it installed you can edit you boot.plist in your /extra/ folder.

I won't recommend that. Maybe your permissions will be f**** up afterwards.
Boot into ML with your UniBeast Stick.
If you wish you can boot with single-mode (-s flag), navigate to the /extra/ folder and edit your plist file with nano

best regards

xtrasteven


Thanx...
Success....was archived after long hassle

http://www.tonymacx86.com/graphics/104534-nvidia-gtx-770-not-working.html#post640652
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2010
Messages
37
Motherboard
X99P-SLI
CPU
i7-6800K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
For those having problems with sleep and audio issues use mac pro 3.1 as your system definitions..

Gigabyte GA-Z77-UD5H rev 1.1
Intel Core I7 3770K
Thermaltake SMART Series 750 Watt ATX Modular Power Supply
ZOTAC NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670
Samsung 840 series 256GB SSD
Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB DDR3-1600 x2 for 32GB ram
TP-LINK TL-WDN4800 Wireless N Dual Band PCI Express Adapter
Coolermaster Hyper N520 Universal CPU Cooler
Coolermaster CM 690 II Advanced (USB 3.0 version) Case
HP GH40L Flashed to HL-DT-ST DVD-RW GH41N (Apple Shipping Drive)
D-Link DBT-122/DBT-120 Bluetooth BT v2.0 USB Adapter
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2013
Messages
1
Motherboard
OSX 10.8.4
CPU
I7 3770K
Graphics
GTX670AMP
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
[GUIDE] GA-Z77-UD5H, GA-GeForce 770GTX WF, i7 3770K -> 4GB RAM?

I have similar components and want to build a Hackintosh very soon. My components are
  • Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
  • I7 3770K
  • Zotac Geforce GTX 670 TAMP Extreme Edition
  • Seagate 3 TB 7200 U
  • SSD 840 Pro Samsung 250 GB
  • Corsair Vengeance 16 GB 2 x 8 GB
  • ...

I have a problem with your recommendet 4GB RAM.

Do I have to buy 4GB RAM to install?

3dgledis

Hey Guys, it's me again from Germany :)

Since my last Hackintosh had a malfunction/ short circuit I considered to buy a new PC with compatible components. My choice were a GA-z77-UD5H MoBo, an i7 3770K and the
NV 770GTX from Gigabyte with 2GB GDDR5 Ram.


I don't want to beat around the bush. Let's get started.
Note: I used the Unibeast & Multibeast method. This guide assumes you already have a working Unibeast-Thumbdrive and another media (cd/ dvd/ thumb drive) with the latest Multibeast. I connected my Monitor via HDMI.

1. Assemble your PC and make sure to use only a max of 4GB Ram and the Onboard GFX.
2. I have an SSD, but I recommend to use the white SATA3-0 port for normal HDDs, too.
3. Check you BIOS/ UEFI settings. A simple Guide for new boards is described here.

Step 1 - OSX-Installation

4. I prefer to install ML first and then Win7, but you can do it either way.
5. You can run the Installation without any boot arguments. Just put in your USB-Thumb and
make sure to press F12 during the Logo-Show to boot from it.
6. As the install-screen appears navigate to the disk-utility.
7. Highlight the Name of your hdd/sdd and click "partition"
8. Make sure to choose "2 partitions" and check options to choose (if necessary) the GUID partition table.
9. Choose "Mac-OSX Journaled" for your Mac-partition and windows filesystem for your windows partition.
10. Rename your partitions as desired. Try not to use spaces.
11. click "partition"
12. close disk utility
13. Install OSX, this will take a few minutes. Take a deep breath, get a coffee and wait :)
14. Once installation is complete boot from USB-Again. This time you can choose your hdd
on the chimera screen.
15. I don't know why, but from at this point my mac did not boot. Try "PCIRootUID=1" or 0"
This worked for me.
16. Connect the USB-Drive with Multibeast
17. Run Multibeast.
18. Check the options as seen on the screenshot:
View attachment 60591

19. If you have NO SSD you do not need to enable TRIM. If you want to use the G-Sata ports you should install the JMicron 3rdParty drivers. I also checked the "USB 3.0" Options in "misc"
20. Click "continue" to install all selected options.
21. Try a reboot to make sure your hackintosh is booting properly.
22. Shutdown your hack.
23. Disconnect the power cord
24. Install your GTX770 and (if you have) the remaining RAM-bars :)
25. Connect the Monitor with your preferred connector on the card (Only HDMI and the bottom DVI is working on my machine, DUAL-Mode is working) I used HDMI
26. connect the power cord to you pc and boot in the BIOS (F2, or F12 and chose enter setup)
27. Disable the Onboard GFX and chose "init display first" as PEG.
28. At this point it arises to check the bios settings if everything is fine.
29. Hit F10 and save your changes.
30. Chose "PCIRootUID=1". (Make sure to change your boot.plist to make this standard)

Your hack should boot properly :)

Step 2 - Installing Windows 7

31. Put in your Win7 DVD and restart your PC
32. Boot the DVD from the F12 Menu (otherwise the Installer from Windows won't let you install win7)
33. When prompted press any key
34. The installation is quite simple. Just make sure the partition you wan't to install is in the first 4 displayed on the screen. (OSX creates several other partitions during installation)
35. Windows will overwrite your bootloader, this is normal. Boot up windows and install
all required software and drivers.

36. Shutdown windows.
37. Connect your Unibeast-USB-Drive
38. Boot from USB
39. Boot OSX
40. Install the boot loader from Multibeast (only)
41. enjoy your new dual-boot system.
If you Install windows first and then OSX you can skip step 37 to 40

What is working:
- transparent System-Bar
- DVD-Player, Photo Booth
- Appstore, Itunes, iMessage, iCloud
- USB-Ports
- Dual Monitors on DVI (bottom) and HDMI
- Monitor-Sleep/ Screensaver
- TRIM
- SOUND (only tried the black output, front not tested, spdif too)
- HDMI-Onboard Port (others not tested)
- WLAN with RALINK 2070 device (from Edimax), just load the newest software: click here
(no native WiFi, you need the util from ralink to connect to WiFi)
-
Well this is my system. It works quite fine but it has some flaws:
- Until now I can't put my hack to sleep (Monitor goes off, no resume possible)
- my old Monitor with DVI is selected FIRST from the MoBo and therefor for the whole boot process is on the old screen.(about 20sec) -> I had to switch it after installation. (does not affect boot)
- Sometimes it reboots after shutdown, but i don't know why. It is not repeatable, just "sometimes".
- Firefox (somehow) can't connect to sync and some buttons (like the "x" for each tab) can not be clicked. I use Safari instead
- All my contacts from iMessage are displayed offline. (I can write messages and receive them too)
- no ripples when I add a new widget on the dashboard (is this removed from OSX?)



Additional Info: You have to install x11 separate, otherwise x11 apps won't work (like GIMP)
I migrated my Apps from my old TimeMachine Drive. Microsoft Office needs to be activated again..., other Software (textwrangler) needs to be activated again with applie ID and password.
iTunes needs to be updated, it seems my old hack had a newer iTunes than the one which came with Mountain Lion.

Now it's your turn.
Build your own hack and let me know if you have any troubles if you have similar hardware.

good hack
best
xtrasteven
View attachment 60603View attachment 60600View attachment 60604View attachment 60601View attachment 60602
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2012
Messages
10
Motherboard
ECS B75H2-AM
CPU
i3 2100
Graphics
Zotac Gt-730
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
hello,
For your sleep problem, you may try to run older Multibeast version and install power management kext from there. For example is my hackintosh. Way back with OSX Lion, using Multibeast 4.6.1, I never had problem with sleep process (auto/manual) on 10.7.3. But when updated to 10.7.4 up to 10.7.5, power management kext for dedicated lion version, wouldn't make sleep working properly. So for 10.7.3 thru 10.7.5, I used kext for 10.7.3.
Same happened with Mountain Lion. From 10.8.1 thru 10.8.3, used from Multibeat 5.3.0. I even tried kext for 10.7.3 for my Mountain Lion and still sleep working.
To let you know, I never used dsdt or patched bios for my mobo (MSI H77MA-G43).
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2011
Messages
193
Motherboard
HP ProBook 4540s-Clover
CPU
i7-3612QM
Graphics
HD4000, 1366x768
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have similar components and want to build a Hackintosh very soon. My components are
  • Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
  • I7 3770K
  • Zotac Geforce GTX 670 TAMP Extreme Edition
  • Seagate 3 TB 7200 U
  • SSD 840 Pro Samsung 250 GB
  • Corsair Vengeance 16 GB 2 x 8 GB
  • ...

I have a problem with your recommendet 4GB RAM.

Do I have to buy 4GB RAM to install?

3dgledis


mix your flags with the 1., such as 2.
1.
-v -f maxmem=4096


2.
-v -f maxmem=4096 GE=NO npci=0x3000 PCIRoot=0,1,2,3,4,5


3.
if 1 & 2 fails Buy 4gig ram
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2012
Messages
46
Motherboard
GigaByte GA-Z77-UD5H, 16GB Corsair Vengeance, Hydro H70 Cooling
CPU
Intel i7 3770K
Graphics
nVidia GA-GV770GTX 2GB
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
hello,
For your sleep problem, you may try to run older Multibeast version and install power management kext from there. For example is my hackintosh. Way back with OSX Lion, using Multibeast 4.6.1, I never had problem with sleep process (auto/manual) on 10.7.3. But when updated to 10.7.4 up to 10.7.5, power management kext for dedicated lion version, wouldn't make sleep working properly. So for 10.7.3 thru 10.7.5, I used kext for 10.7.3.
Same happened with Mountain Lion. From 10.8.1 thru 10.8.3, used from Multibeat 5.3.0. I even tried kext for 10.7.3 for my Mountain Lion and still sleep working.
To let you know, I never used dsdt or patched bios for my mobo (MSI H77MA-G43).



Okay, i will try to use the PowerManagement.kext from Multibeast and post my result.
Which system def. are you using?

Best
xtraSteven
 
Joined
May 21, 2013
Messages
9
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi,
1. I have a problem with usb port; some work but not all. Usb 3.0 work but some 2.0 not.
2. I have 2 SSD Hd; is it true that trim must be enabled only for old SSD models?
P.S. How can I know if usb 3.0 ports work 2.0 or 3.0?
Ciao
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2012
Messages
46
Motherboard
GigaByte GA-Z77-UD5H, 16GB Corsair Vengeance, Hydro H70 Cooling
CPU
Intel i7 3770K
Graphics
nVidia GA-GV770GTX 2GB
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You have to install TRIM for each SSD (AFAIK).

I don't know why some of your USB-Ports do not work.

To check if your USB3 Ports work as USB3 you could simply
try to copy a file from/ to the USB-Drive and take a look at your
activity monitor -> Written Data.

If you have more than 60mb/s it is usb3 (USB 2.0 is theortical 60mb/s, everything more has to be usb3)

Best

xtraSteven
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top