Contribute
Register

[GUIDE] Full Power Management w/ Dual/Single Broadwell-EP/Haswell-EP CPUs on 10.12.

Joined
Nov 19, 2015
Messages
58
Motherboard
Gigabyte UD4 X99 v1.1 / Bios F23
CPU
Intel i7 5820k CPU OC 4.5ghz
Graphics
EVGA Nvidia GTX 960
Adding them, you're kidding right... Oh my.

Thanks Asus I really appreciate your help, this nearly fixed it, I managed to get 3.40Ghz flat-line using Geekbench with a default bios setup following you advice.

So next I ran ssdtPRGen.sh. to create an ssdt.aml using this command:

./ssdtPRGen.sh -turbo 4300 -b Mac-F60DEB81FF30ACF6 -x 1

Then copied the ssdt.aml from ~/Library/ssdtPRGen into EFI/CLOVER/ACPI/patched and went back to my bios and set my O/C to Auto 4.3ghz and Set XMP Profile 1 for memory, but when I boot it froze?.. see pic below

Strangely I didn't have a boot problem using XMP Profile 1 before adding your test-config.plist, so I'm thinking it may have something to do with this?....

I then tried using just the only the Auto O/C 4.30Ghz without using XMP Profile 1 memory and this fixed the boot issue...however the results I get now when running Geekbench doesn't go any higher than 3.70Ghz?..... see below

Please can you help?
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0477.JPG
    IMG_0477.JPG
    3 MB · Views: 186
  • IMG_0482.JPG
    IMG_0482.JPG
    3.9 MB · Views: 177
Last edited:
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
2,634
Motherboard
GA-X99M-Gaming 5
CPU
Intel Core i7-5930K
Graphics
MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Your experience may vary; core frequencies on my X99 jump around during Geekbench in Linux, Windows and OS X. Here is what a Geekbench run looks like on my stock i7-4770k.
View attachment 218839

Running a stress test will peg the CPU to turbo frequency unless there is a problem with frequency scaling. Running a benchmark will not necessary do so. Thus, if you want to test whether your CPU maintains its turbo frequency under load, run a stress test. If you want to benchmark your rig, run a benchmark.
Then you also have problems with your 4770 box...
 

GDS

Joined
May 23, 2010
Messages
229
Motherboard
X99 Deluxe II
CPU
Xeon 2696 v4
Graphics
Gigabyte Aorus 1080 Ti Waterforce
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I am stuck on the black screen
the underscore drop 3 times and bye bye
i followed this great tutorial 2 times at 100%
without mod from my side and nothing goes on installation :(

I will try another one, but i dont know where is the problem,
i already installed 6950x under X.11.5, in the past
and no problem fully Ok
it is not my 1st hack :(



my system for trying to install the mac os right now:
E5 2696v4
X99 deluxe II (last bios)
Titan X (dual after everything installed)
and 32GB of DDR4 (128GB if everything is ok)
SM961 on Pcie

no hardware problems under W$ 10: i can launch hyper Pi 32M during one day and no errors
a helping hand would be deeply appreciated :) :) :)
PS: is there any modifications to do on the BIOS?

edit: did it again (step by step, modded some infos in the bios), and now:
i a stuck after this:

Freeing low memory (up to 0x200000000)..
Result=0
OsxAptioFixDrv: Starting overrides for \.IABootFiles\boot.efi
Using reloc block: no, hibernate wake: no
asked for SMC=4D535463 (MSTc) len=1
asked for SMC=4D534163 (MSAc) len=2
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

if someone knows about it?

thx a lot
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 31, 2012
Messages
601
Motherboard
Asus Sage 10/G X299
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
AMD Radeon VII
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I am stuck on the black screen
the underscore drop 3 times and bye bye
i followed this great tutorial 2 times at 100%
without mod from my side and nothing goes on installation :(

I will try another one, but i dont know where is the problem,
i already installed 6950x under X.11.5, in the past
and no problem fully Ok
it is not my 1st hack :(



my system for trying to install the mac os right now:
E5 2696v4
X99 deluxe II (last bios)
Titan X (dual after everything installed)
and 32GB of DDR4 (128GB if everything is ok)
SM961 on Pcie

no hardware problems under W$ 10: i can launch hyper Pi 32M during one day and no errors
a helping hand would be deeply appreciated :) :) :)
PS: is there any modifications to do on the BIOS?

edit: did it again (step by step, modded some infos in the bios), and now:
i a stuck after this:

Freeing low memory (up to 0x200000000)..
Result=0
OsxAptioFixDrv: Starting overrides for \.IABootFiles\boot.efi
Using reloc block: no, hibernate wake: no
asked for SMC=4D535463 (MSTc) len=1
asked for SMC=4D534163 (MSAc) len=2
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

if someone knows about it?

thx a lot
I recently tried a 2696v4 too into an Asus X99 Deluxe 3.1 and i've your same issue at boot...after launched clover system reboots after that line and i'm not ble to boot on Sierra...
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2015
Messages
94
Motherboard
Asus X99A-USB3
CPU
Intel Core i7-6850K
Graphics
Asus Strix 970
Saving 10w @ idle and losing cpu max doesn't make much sense... You might try these:
Code:
        <dict>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>xcpm_bootstrap Sierra</string>
                <key>Disabled</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>
                g8PEg/si
                </data>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>
                g8PBg/si
                </data>
            </dict>
            <dict>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>SammlerG Sierra xcpm MSR Patch 1 / xcpm support Pike R. Alpha</string>
                <key>Disabled</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>
                qgEAANwzAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAQ==
                </data>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>
                qgEAANwzAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA==
                </data>
            </dict>
            <dict>
                <key>Disabled</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>
                QgYAANwzAAAAAAAAAAAAAB8AAAAAAAAAGAAAAAAAAAAA
                AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
                </data>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>
                QgYAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAB8AAAAAAAAAGAAAAAAAAAAA
                AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
                </data>
            </dict>
            <dict>
                <key>Disabled</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>
                idjB4Ai5mQE=
                </data>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>
                uAAlAAC5mQE=
                </data>
            </dict>
            <dict>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>SammlerG Sierra xcpm MSR Patch 5 / xcpm support Pike R. Alpha</string>
                <key>Disabled</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>
                4gAAAEwAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA8EAAAAAAAABQAAHg==
                </data>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>
                4gAAAEwAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA8EAAAAAAAAAwQAfg==
                </data>
            </dict>
            <dict>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>SammlerG Sierra xcpm MSR Patch 3 / xcpm support Pike R. Alpha</string>
                <key>Disabled</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>
                OgYAANwzAAAAAAAAAAAAAB8AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
                AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
                </data>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>
                OgYAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
                AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
                </data>
            </dict>
            <dict>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>_cpuid_set_info Sierra</string>
                <key>Disabled</key>
                <true/>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>
                D7bEg8Dpg/hH
                </data>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>
                D7bEg8Dmg/hH
                </data>
            </dict>
            <dict>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>reboot fix Sierra (c) Pike R. Alpha</string>
                <key>Disabled</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>
                VUiJ5UFXQVZBVUFUU1BBidZBifdIiftFhf8PhA==
                </data>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>
                w5CJ5UFXQVZBVUFUU1BBidZBifdIiftFhf8PhA==
                </data>
            </dict>


Hi, Asus-Freak

I noticed some patched not seen in the first post and I am wondering if these patches could help my 6850K.

I followed the guide and

* X86PlatformPlugin is loaded
* sysctl -n machdep.xcpm.mode returns 1

However, the Geekbench scores are even less than before and PowerGadget curves looks terrible.

3f33ce2a-a2e6-11e6-8c3a-f900c07b68aa.png


4520a5d8-a2e6-11e6-81f4-fe948c1a4eff.png


config.plist and AppleIntelInfo.dat are attached.

Thanks!
 

Attachments

  • config 2.plist.zip
    6.3 KB · Views: 115
  • AppleIntelInfo_2.txt
    9.2 KB · Views: 229

GDS

Joined
May 23, 2010
Messages
229
Motherboard
X99 Deluxe II
CPU
Xeon 2696 v4
Graphics
Gigabyte Aorus 1080 Ti Waterforce
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I recently tried a 2696v4 too into an Asus X99 Deluxe 3.1 and i've your same issue at boot...after launched clover system reboots after that line and i'm not ble to boot on Sierra...


Hi i found the solution i shooted everything

Sierra and this kind of processor is more tricky than el capitan
i went above this and i installed sierra and so on (sound, wifi, lan etc etc)
2 huge problems:
1/ my processor was recognized as 22 cores and fully Ok without anything to do (geekbench was around 28 000 / 30 000)
but didnt go deeper to optimize
2/ the very very big problem: my titan x and the last nvidia webdriver, i never had it totally OK (and i tried with one titan x not the both i have), sometimes i was able to go to the webdriver menu and choose "driver for nvidia" sometimes no boot so i reseted and hop boot and no access to the panel nvidia

so sierra: not at all for me now
there is many kexts and modifications to do to have it ok
AND the scores in use are much better under el capitan than sierra
it is not great so for now i erased the SSD and will manage for El capitan
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2012
Messages
601
Motherboard
Asus Sage 10/G X299
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
AMD Radeon VII
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi i found the solution i shooted everything

Sierra and this kind of processor is more tricky than el capitan
i went above this and i installed sierra and so on (sound, wifi, lan etc etc)
2 huge problems:
1/ my processor was recognized as 22 cores and fully Ok without anything to do (geekbench was around 28 000 / 30 000)
but didnt go deeper to optimize
2/ the very very big problem: my titan x and the last nvidia webdriver, i never had it totally OK (and i tried with one titan x not the both i have), sometimes i was able to go to the webdriver menu and choose "driver for nvidia" sometimes no boot so i reseted and hop boot and no access to the panel nvidia

so sierra: not at all for me now
there is many kexts and modifications to do to have it ok
AND the scores in use are much better under el capitan than sierra
it is not great so for now i erased the SSD and will manage for El capitan
I solved the problem. It was related (i refer to Sierra) to a DSDT problem. If you have not a valid DSDT the cpu will not be recognized so you will have always kp at the beginning.
I solved in this way....in config.plist with clover configurator i enabled at ACPI tab "Drop OEM_DSM" so i was enable to boot without a DSDT.
I think you should try too.
 

GDS

Joined
May 23, 2010
Messages
229
Motherboard
X99 Deluxe II
CPU
Xeon 2696 v4
Graphics
Gigabyte Aorus 1080 Ti Waterforce
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I solved the problem. It was related (i refer to Sierra) to a DSDT problem. If you have not a valid DSDT the cpu will not be recognized so you will have always kp at the beginning.
I solved in this way....in config.plist with clover configurator i enabled at ACPI tab "Drop OEM_DSM" so i was enable to boot without a DSDT.
I think you should try too.

Thx but i did it and i can boot w/o problems
my pb now, is that I cannot use the webdriver NVIDIA (last version) on my hack
impossible to install them or if by chance i can instal it and i reboot (cause it is necessary), when i uncheck or check, on the option of the boot: with / without nvidia webdriver and/or others points...
it is not useful the webdriver is not installed so my titan x is not used as i expect...

i didnt try anything more right now

but i definitily think to go to el capitan, lot of ppl are ok with X.11.6 and great score on geekbench (better than sierra)

anyway i will try when i will have time

PS: maybe it is linked but i cannot access to "about this mac" and the "system report"
maybe the DSDT will help i dont know
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2011
Messages
138
Motherboard
Asus X-299 Prime deluxe,Asus X-99 Deluxe II
CPU
i9-7980XE, Xeon E5-2696 v4
Graphics
XFX Radeon VII, Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX Vega 64 8GB
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I solved the problem. It was related (i refer to Sierra) to a DSDT problem. If you have not a valid DSDT the cpu will not be recognized so you will have always kp at the beginning.
I solved in this way....in config.plist with clover configurator i enabled at ACPI tab "Drop OEM_DSM" so i was enable to boot without a DSDT.
I think you should try too.

Hi,
You got the E52696v4 to work by using the guide exactly with "Drop OEM_DSM"?
I seriously need some help here.... Just got a E5-2696v4 but the board is Asus X99 Deluxe2
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2012
Messages
601
Motherboard
Asus Sage 10/G X299
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
AMD Radeon VII
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi,
You got the E52696v4 to work by using the guide exactly with "Drop OEM_DSM"?
I seriously need some help here.... Just got a E5-2696v4 but the board is Asus X99 Deluxe2
Your board is perfect...another user here has a working build with sierra and xeon E5 2696v4 + Asus X99 Deluxe 2 so it should work for you too
 
Top