Contribute
Register

Guide for Gigabyte H/Z97N-WIFI Using HD4600 - Chimera/MultiBeast Method

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,673
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
...
Z97N Wifi
i7 4790
Zalman low profile CPU fan
16GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical
Realan EQ6 case (red one - sweet!) with upgraded 200W PSU
Internal 4600 GFX, not discrete
OSX 10.10.5
Multibeast 7.5.0

... I've got a few questions:

- Does the guide in this thread apply to the newer version of Multibeast that uses Clover? If not, can you point me towards a more appropriate thread?
See my signature block for the El Capitan guide.

- Do folks installing Mavericks instead of Yosemite on this mobo have the same freezing issues?
The freezing problem (commonly called "the Haswell Freeze") is due to non matching memory and/or PSU. Make sure your memory is on your motherboard's Memory Support List (yours is), and the PSU is rated as Haswell "ready" or "certified". Haswell processors have lower idle power use which can cause shutdown or freezes on older PSUs.

- I can't get Bluetooth to work. I've searched around a little, but can't seem to find anything on point. BT seems to be frozen in the ON position in System Prefs, but it doesn't see my kbd, trackpad or phone in the discovery window. Was there an antenna somewhere that needs connecting - even if I'm *not* using the wifi?

I've bought the Kinivo BTD-300 adapter, but how does a USB BT adapter work without any drivers or app to install?...
The Gigabyte supplied WiFi/BT card with the H/Z97N motherboards uses the Intel chipset which is not compatible with OS X. Some users have success with the BT portion of the WiFi/BT miniPCIe card, but most replace it like I did (see procedure link in my signature block). Or if you don't need WiFi and are using Ethernet, then remove the WiFi/BT card and use a compatible USB BT dongle such as the ones listed in the tonymacx86 Buyer's Guide, Accessories section. (I'm not familiar with the Kinivo BTD-300 adapter.)

Good luck! :thumbup:
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2011
Messages
9
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hello. Tell me, why after installing by this method cannot run Windows 8 from another disk? To start it you have to change BIOS setting and make boot disk Windows?
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,673
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello. Tell me, why after installing by this method cannot run Windows 8 from another disk? To start it you have to change BIOS setting and make boot disk Windows?
There are several wonderful guides in the Forum's MultiBoot section > http://www.tonymacx86.com/multi-booting/. I don't use any version of MicroSloth's Windoze OS.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2014
Messages
2
Motherboard
I still didn't read
CPU
the RULES
Graphics
so ignore me
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Other
Hi did you manage to get the power button working. On my install it simply does nothing. If I press it longer system powers off (no shutdown).
My install: GA-H97N wifi, el-capitan 10.11.3, using internal graphics, installation following straight forward the tonymac86 10.11. proposal using clover and uefi boot.:roll2:
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,673
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi did you manage to get the power button working. On my install it simply does nothing. If I press it longer system powers off (no shutdown).
My install: GA-H97N wifi, el-capitan 10.11.3, using internal graphics, installation following straight forward the tonymac86 10.11. proposal using clover and uefi boot.:roll2:
My Power Button works. Make sure you are use the pwr + & - on the motherboard (case) Front Panel header - Check your connection. Otherwise it sounds like your case's power button is broken.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2014
Messages
2
Motherboard
I still didn't read
CPU
the RULES
Graphics
so ignore me
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Other
hi,

unfortunately that is not the solution- powerswitch itself is not broken it works for power up, it works for other operating systems as well. It also works for 10.9 only for 10.11 it drives me crazy.
No idea as I strictly followed your build except I am using internal graphics?????
Is there something I can do wrong with Clover- the working 10.9 was on Chameleon? Otherwise no glue.
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2014
Messages
7
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97N-WIFI
CPU
i7-4790
Graphics
HD 4600
Hello,

My hackintosh:
Z97N-wifi
i7 4790k
8GB RAM (Crucial Ballistix Sport)
Corsair H80i CPU Cooler
Corsair CS450M PSU
Yosemite installed on 120GB SSD (Intel 530 Series)


Current monitor used through DVI at 1080p (both monitor and motherboard end) - BENQ G2420HDB.

This all works great. Thank you for this guide, it pretty much allowed me to make the above - and saved me 1500 GBP!

My latest mission is to get my Panosonic TX L19X5B monitor working with this setup. At the moment I'm not being successful with it even working by itself (i.e not dual monitor).

I was wondering if anyone could help?

__________________________________________________________________

- I'm using the HDMI interface at both ends
- Max resolution the Pano screen takes is 720p (is this a problem with using HDMI?)
- Screen successfully works in safe mode

Fault:
- When booting normally (i.e not in safe mode...) the screen distorts and the hack freezes during boot, straight after it's finished with all the text during verbose mode.

__________________________________________________________________

Thanks all
 
Top