Contribute
Register

[Guide] El Capitan on the Skylake H170N-WIFI

Joined
Sep 29, 2016
Messages
2
Motherboard
GA-H170N-WIFI
CPU
Intel Core i3-6100 6th Gen LGA 1151 Processor
Graphics
Intel HD 530 graphics
Mac
iMac
Classic Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android
Thanks for the detailed guide. I was able to successfully install Sierra using this guide.
Everything is working fine except the audio. I have tried both ALC1150 and VoodooHDA but without success.
I used MultiBeast 9.1.0 to install the drivers. I am able to boot from HDD.
Please help in fixing the audio.
My Hardware Configuration-
MotherBoard- GA-H170N-WIFI
Processor-Intel Core i3-6100 6th Gen LGA 1151 Processor
OnBoard Graphics- Intel HD 530
 
Joined
May 29, 2017
Messages
15
Motherboard
HA H170N Wifi
CPU
i3 6100
Graphics
HD 530
Mobile Phone
Android
Can you see your Audio Devices in the Systempreferences? Can you choose your output?
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2016
Messages
2
Motherboard
GA-H170N-WIFI
CPU
Intel Core i3-6100 6th Gen LGA 1151 Processor
Graphics
Intel HD 530 graphics
Mac
iMac
Classic Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android
Can you see your Audio Devices in the Systempreferences? Can you choose your output?
No. Output devices is blank. I tried plugging / unplugging my speaker.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2011
Messages
112
Motherboard
Asus P8C WS
CPU
Xeon E3-1245v2
Graphics
Asus GeForce GT 640
Classic Mac
LC
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hello. I have El Capitan running on GA-H170N-WIFI. I bought the Broadcom Wifi solution recommended in the guide. My problem is that I can't get 5 GHz to work. I have used 2.4 GHz for a long time with no problems. But once I attempt to connect to 5 GHz, the supported channels line in System Information only shows 2.4 GHz channels:

Card Type: AirPort Extreme (0x14E4, 0x19)
Firmware Version: Broadcom BCM43xx 1.0 (7.21.95.175.1a6)
MAC Address: xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
Locale: Unknown
Country Code: FI
Supported PHY Modes: 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac
Supported Channels: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13
AirDrop: Supported, Channel 0
Status: Connected

I have installed the four .kext as recommended. Was there something I should have added to the Clover config to enable this?

An update, a day later:

I have changed the country code to FI, i.e. I patch in ZscGRknrKw== instead of ZscGVVPrKw==. As soon as I changed it back, 5 GHz seems to be working normally. Problem is, I have now lost two 2.4 GHz channels and gained a boatload of 5 GHz channels I think I should not be using here.

I'll look again into the instructions for changing the country code. I think there must be more than one place where the patching is needed, or it might as well be impossible.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 6, 2016
Messages
11
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z-370i Gaming
CPU
i3-8300
Graphics
UHD 630
There are 2 ethernet ports on GA-H170N-WIFI. So do the both of them dont work?
In the guide it is written
  • Intel i211 Ethernet port (the port above the USB3 type C connector) -- reasonably often gets a kernel panic during startup or regular operation
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2017
Messages
14
Motherboard
gigabyte h170n-wifi
CPU
i5 6500
Graphics
hd530
There are 2 ethernet ports on GA-H170N-WIFI. So do the both of them dont work?
In the guide it is written
  • Intel i211 Ethernet port (the port above the USB3 type C connector) -- reasonably often gets a kernel panic during startup or regular operation
Intel i219 Ethernet port (the port next to the audio jacks) works fine. Im on it right now
But I do have Sierra, but it should be working fine on El Capitan too
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2016
Messages
27
Motherboard
Gigabyte H-170
CPU
Intel Skylake i5
Graphics
EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti CLASSIFIED GAMING ACX 2.0+ 6GB
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android
Built this setup to spec. The only difference is i started without the Nvidia card and my sound worked. Added the 980 ti and sound worked for a little while, but now sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't over the 3.5mm jack. When audio wont work i switch over to my Corsair USB headset and it works 100% of the time. Anyone have any ideas what i should look into?
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2017
Messages
20
Motherboard
Gigabyte H-170N-WIFI
CPU
I7-6700
Graphics
Integrated HD530 graphics
Mac
Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Please help!!!!
I installed Apple's latest security update today, 7-24-2017. When restarting, my computer fails to boot to El Capitan and restarts once again. (It shows the apple logo with no progress bar and then restarts). I can follow step-by-step instructions, so if you can help, I will need the steps. Before the security update, everything was working fine. All previous updates worked flawlessly.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 4, 2016
Messages
27
Motherboard
Gigabyte H-170
CPU
Intel Skylake i5
Graphics
EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti CLASSIFIED GAMING ACX 2.0+ 6GB
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android
Please help!!!!
I installed Apple's latest security update today, 7-24-2017. When restarting, my computer fails to boot to El Capitan and restarts once again. (It shows the apple logo with no progress bar and then restarts). I can follow step-by-step instructions, so if you can help, I will need the steps. Before the security update, everything was working fine. All previous updates worked flawlessly.

First thing I would do is run through the instructions and check that there isnt a setting in BIOS that was reset
 
Top