Contribute
Register

[Guide] El Capitan on the Intel Skylake NUC

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Apr 30, 2016
Messages
3
I'ts me again :)

If someone else has the same issue with the NUC6I5SYH and the Intel Iris graphics 540 i'm happy to say that i could get it working as expected..

The only issue was, that i had to change the ig-platform-id to 0x19260002 and reboot... since then everything graphic related is working fine.

I've found the following list from where i got the right platform id. probably usefull for someone else too.

0x191e0000 - Intel® HD Graphics 515..........(ULX GT2)
0x19160000 - Intel® HD Graphics 520..........(ULT GT2)
0x19260000 - Intel® Iris™ Graphics 550.......(ULT GT3)
0x191b0000 - Intel® HD Graphics 530..........(Halo GT2)
0x193b0000 - Intel® Iris™ Pro Graphics 580...(Halo GT4)
0x19120000 - Intel® HD Graphics 530..........(Desktop GT2)
0x19160002 - Intel® HD Graphics 520..........(ULT GT2)
0x19260002 - Intel® Iris™ Graphics 540.......(ULT GT3)
0x191e0003 - Intel® HD Graphics 515..........(ULX GT2)
0x19260004 - Intel® Iris™ Graphics 540.......(ULT GT3)
0x193b0005 - Intel® Iris™ Pro Graphics 580...(Halo GT4)
0x193b0006 - Intel® Iris™ Pro Graphics 580...(Halo GT4)
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2012
Messages
5
Motherboard
Intel NUC 6i5SYH
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
I'ts me again :)

If someone else has the same issue with the NUC6I5SYH and the Intel Iris graphics 540 i'm happy to say that i could get it working as expected..

The only issue was, that i had to change the ig-platform-id to 0x19260002 and reboot... since then everything graphic related is working fine.

I've found the following list from where i got the right platform id. probably usefull for someone else too.

0x191e0000 - Intel® HD Graphics 515..........(ULX GT2)
0x19160000 - Intel® HD Graphics 520..........(ULT GT2)
0x19260000 - Intel® Iris™ Graphics 550.......(ULT GT3)
0x191b0000 - Intel® HD Graphics 530..........(Halo GT2)
0x193b0000 - Intel® Iris™ Pro Graphics 580...(Halo GT4)
0x19120000 - Intel® HD Graphics 530..........(Desktop GT2)
0x19160002 - Intel® HD Graphics 520..........(ULT GT2)
0x19260002 - Intel® Iris™ Graphics 540.......(ULT GT3)
0x191e0003 - Intel® HD Graphics 515..........(ULX GT2)
0x19260004 - Intel® Iris™ Graphics 540.......(ULT GT3)
0x193b0005 - Intel® Iris™ Pro Graphics 580...(Halo GT4)
0x193b0006 - Intel® Iris™ Pro Graphics 580...(Halo GT4)

Thanks, but my second (HDMI) display still isn't working :( I have two same full-hd displays, isn't there a way to set them manually? Maybe just auto detection isn't working correctly because when I turn off miniDP display HDMI one is working (after reboot ofc). They just don't work together. I tried to reinstall OS X with both displays turned on and they were working correctly, second one was in mirroring mode though. Right after drivers installation both screens went black and I can't log in. I have to turn one display off and reboot every time.

P.S: Friend had issue with two displays as well but he just told me that he solved it by simply plugging second display in right after the boot - having both displays turned on at the boot time isn't working for him as well. He doesn't have NUC though.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 6, 2011
Messages
19
Motherboard
Intel NUC 6i5SYH
CPU
i5-6260U
Graphics
Integrated
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The only issue was, that i had to change the ig-platform-id to 0x19260002 and reboot... since then everything graphic related is working fine.

Thanks! Took me a minute to figure out where to change this in the Clover Configurator but now I can game again!
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2014
Messages
27
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i7BEH
CPU
i7-8559U
Graphics
Iris Plus 655
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello Everybody,

First of all thanks for the awsome Guide !

My build is :
- NUC6I3SYH
- 2x8GB RAM DDR4 2133Mhz (HyperX)
- Crucial Mx200 500GB m.2 2280 SS SSD
- Samsung SSD 2.5" 850 Evo 1TB

I successfully installed and postinstalled everything, as directed.
But I got 2 issues, one with Network, and one with the 2.5" SSD :

A) Network : it's not possible to build a network configuration,
from the System Preferences pane : after selecting Network,
and trying to add a config, I only get : "An error occured in Network Preferences",
and the app return to the main SP pane.
Details : when in Multibeast config building (step 4 of postintall of this guide),
I selected the IntelMausiEthernet v2.1.0d3. Is this wrong ?

B) While the Crucial m.2 SSD is seen with no issue by Disk Utility,
the Samsung 2.5" SSD is not visible. What's up, please ?

Thanks in advance for any help, Regards, Gilbert.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 20, 2012
Messages
4
Motherboard
osx lion 10.10.4
CPU
intel e8400 (+ asus p5qem)
Graphics
nvidia quadrofx3700
Hello Everybody,

First of all thanks for the awsome Guide !

My build is :
- NUC6I3SYH
- 2x8GB RAM DDR4 2133Mhz (HyperX)
- Crucial Mx200 500GB m.2 2280 SS SSD
- Samsung SSD 2.5" 850 Evo 1TB

I successfully installed and postinstalled everything, as directed.
But I got 2 issues, one with Network, and one with the 2.5" SSD :

A) Network : it's not possible to build a network configuration,
from the System Preferences pane : after selecting Network,
and trying to add a config, I only get : "An error occured in Network Preferences",
and the app return to the main SP pane.
Details : when in Multibeast config building (step 4 of postintall of this guide),
I selected the IntelMausiEthernet v2.1.0d3. Is this wrong ?

B) While the Crucial m.2 SSD is seen with no issue by Disk Utility,
the Samsung 2.5" SSD is not visible. What's up, please ?

Thanks in advance for any help, Regards, Gilbert.



Hi grodid0

For your first question go to Post #144
It's working for me
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2011
Messages
61
Motherboard
NUC6i5SYK
CPU
Intel Core i5-6260U
Graphics
Intel Iris 540
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Thanks, but my second (HDMI) display still isn't working :( I have two same full-hd displays, isn't there a way to set them manually? Maybe just auto detection isn't working correctly because when I turn off miniDP display HDMI one is working (after reboot ofc). They just don't work together. I tried to reinstall OS X with both displays turned on and they were working correctly, second one was in mirroring mode though. Right after drivers installation both screens went black and I can't log in. I have to turn one display off and reboot every time.

P.S: Friend had issue with two displays as well but he just told me that he solved it by simply plugging second display in right after the boot - having both displays turned on at the boot time isn't working for him as well. He doesn't have NUC though.
Try the fix in problem 4/method 2. Worked for me.
Solving NVIDIA Driver Install & Loading Problems

Finally got my 2 displays working :)
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2012
Messages
5
Motherboard
Intel NUC 6i5SYH
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Interested in a DPCIManager/Status screenshot for Skylake NUC.
Reply with screenshot and model.

NUC 6i5SYH:
1.png
2.png
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top