Contribute
Register

[GUIDE] El Capitan on the GA-Z170X-UD3

Joined
Feb 21, 2011
Messages
313
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-UD3
CPU
I5-6600K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Code:
cat /private/var/log/system.log | grep X86PlatformShim
Not found in my log, but I am running as iMac17,1 still.
Yeah it doesn't happen on iMac17,1.

But thanks for confirming :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 13, 2014
Messages
55
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-UD3
CPU
i7-6700K 4.0GHz
Graphics
HD 530 | GTX 970
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
A few notes first:

You have modified the config.plist making it invalid:
Code:
    <key>ACPI<key>DropTables</key>
        <array>
            <dict>
                <key>Signature</key>
                <string>SSDT</string>
                <key>TableId</key>
                <string>xh_rvp10</string>
              </dict>
          </array></key>
    <dict>
This is already included:
Code:
        <key>DropTables</key>
        <array>
            <dict>
                <key>Signature</key>
                <string>SSDT</string>
                <key>TableId</key>
                <string>xh_rvp10</string>
              </dict>
          </array>
Why have you added FakePCIID.kext and FakePCIID_XHCIMux.kext? These are not used for Z170.

Now to the fun part:

I have attached the EFI folder I used for the picture above. It's pretty much the same as your's (Without the errors above, so you were close :) ). That one /should/ allow you to boot.

Please delete your EFI folder and replace it with the one I attached.
Hello, I appreciate your help on all this but I am still not getting it to work. It goes to circle with line around the same place <can not find blue tooth controller | or something>. I am about ready to install windows 10 and sell this on craigs list LOL!

In case you're interested, here is a screenshot of where the boot hangs briefly before going to circle with line...20160824_162341.jpg
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 21, 2011
Messages
313
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-UD3
CPU
I5-6600K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hello, I appreciate your help on all this but I am still not getting it to work. It goes to circle with line around the same place <can not find blue tooth controller | or something>. I am about ready to install windows 10 and sell this on craigs list LOL!

In case you're interested, here is a screenshot of where the boot hangs briefly before going to circle with line...View attachment 208066
Looks like you have an Atheros wifi card installed?

If yes try pulling that out.

If we can get the bare minimum to work then it is easier to work on any add-in cards (other than GPU) after.

Also could you give me a full list of all hardware and peripherals?

BTW: I'm also getting the missing Bluetooth controller transport. That is because OS X expect Bluetooth but doesn't find it.

EDIT: we are getting much further now. Don't give up ;-)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 13, 2014
Messages
55
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-UD3
CPU
i7-6700K 4.0GHz
Graphics
HD 530 | GTX 970
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Looks like you have an Atheros wifi card installed?

If yes try pulling that out.

If we can get the bare minimum to work then it is easier to work on any add-in cards (other than GPU) after.

Also could you give me a full list of all hardware and peripherals?

BTW: I'm also getting the missing Bluetooth controller transport. That is because OS X expect Bluetooth but doesn't find it.

EDIT: we are getting much further now. Don't give up ;-)
The wifi card is a TP Link card, recommended in the buyer's guide. At one point I removed all the hardware not required to install OSX but I remember now I forgot to take out the wifi card. I will try that in awhile when I get a few minutes.

Here is a list of the components minus the case:

components.JPG
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2011
Messages
313
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-UD3
CPU
I5-6600K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
The wifi card is a TP Link card, recommended in the buyer's guide. At one point I removed all the hardware not required to install OSX but I remember now I forgot to take out the wifi card. I will try that in awhile when I get a few minutes.

Here is a list of the components minus the case:

View attachment 208071
Great thanks for the list.

I don't really have any experience with wifi cards. (Other than a native iMac card which is the one I use).

What I would try to do is this:

Pull out all add-in cards other than the GPU.

Attach a mouse and keyboard as the only USB devices (other than the installer).

Oh and just so you don't forget: remember to add the nv_disable=1 boot flag :)

I know it probably doesn't help much, but I know that feeling of frustration when stuff that should be working or is working for someone else, just won't work.

I don't know if I'll be answering anymore for the next couple of hours as it's 4:30 AM here and I should probably get some sleep.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2011
Messages
313
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-UD3
CPU
I5-6600K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Ok tried all that and now we're back to this "Still waiting for root device" message after boot hangs, following Bluetooth controller messageView attachment 208074 View attachment 208075
Of course, we all need to sleep sometime ;)
Hmm try going in to the BIOS, reset everything to default, reboot and then follow the BIOS setup part of the guide again. (Also the BIOS settings can sometimes reset after an update).

If that does not help, then my next step would be to try another USB drive for installing. (Preferably a USB 2.0 drive).

And just to be sure you are using one of the two black ports at the top of the I/O (the ones beside the PS2 port), right?

EDIT: you could also try downloading a new copy of the El Captain installer, could have been corrupted somehow.

EDIT2: i just took another look at your verbose boot, it seems like it isn't creating any USB 2.0 or 3.0 ports (But only the 3.1 type A and type C)

If the BIOS changes doesn't help, could you please dump all your original tables for me?

To do this: When in Clover press F4 (it won't show anything and it may seem frozen, when it unfreezes shut off the machine, plug the USB into your MacBook, mount the EFI partition and you will find all the tables in EFI/Clover/ACPI/origin
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 13, 2014
Messages
55
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-UD3
CPU
i7-6700K 4.0GHz
Graphics
HD 530 | GTX 970
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Hmm try going in to the BIOS, reset everything to default, reboot and then follow the BIOS setup part of the guide again. (Also the BIOS settings can sometimes reset after an update).

If that does not help, then my next step would be to try another USB drive for installing. (Preferably a USB 2.0 drive).

Always using the black usb ports by the ps2 port, although I have also tried every other usb port just in case.

And just to be sure you are using one of the two black ports at the top of the I/O (the ones beside the PS2 port), right?

EDIT: you could also try downloading a new copy of the El Captain installer, could have been corrupted somehow.
I will download a new installer.
Hey, inside the clover options, it says "version 10.10.10 change if not this version". Don't know if I am supposed to change any of that but I did try.
I have also moved my sata cables to different ports and switched between my HD and ssd and of course none of that has worked.

I have been into the bios ad nauseum to make sure settings are correct. Maybe it's worth noting that the only option is have to boot from is the cruzer usb drive? Is that because of the bios settings?
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2011
Messages
313
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-UD3
CPU
I5-6600K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I will download a new installer.
Hey, inside the clover options, it says "version 10.10.10 change if not this version". Don't know if I am supposed to change any of that but I did try.
I have also moved my sata cables to different ports and switched between my HD and ssd and of course none of that has worked.

I have been into the bios ad nauseum to make sure settings are correct. Maybe it's worth noting that the only option is have to boot from is the cruzer usb drive? Is that because of the bios settings?
Yeah that is because CSM (Legacy BIOS emulation) is disabled.

I added an EDIT2 to the other post, just as you were writing an answer.

Would it be possible for you to dump those tables?

Mine also says 10.10.10 :) (Which is why I like to use the Others folder, as Clover is sometimes wrong about it).

EDIT: While I take a look at your tables you can try the EFI folder below. (If that does not work, try removing the USB-SSDT.aml file in EFI/Clover/ACPI/patched).

EDIT2: I'm off to bed, will take a look later today (Probably night for you).

Even if the EFI folder attached works, could you still dump the tables for me? As I would love to know if there is any difference between yours and the one my script is creating.

The reason I think it isn't working is because none of the USB ports are enabled, which could be one of two things:
1. Your xh_rvp10 table differs from mine somehow (Which a dump would show).
2. Clover is somehow not injecting the patched xh_rvp10 table (The table defines all USB 2.0 and 3.0 port, so dropping that without injecting a new table would "delete" all USB ports).
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Top