Contribute
Register

[GUIDE]El Capitan 10.11.2 On MSI Z170A Gaming M7, I7 6700K, GTX970

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Dec 1, 2013
Messages
5
Motherboard
Msi Z170a Krait Gaming
CPU
Skylake i7-6700k
Graphics
MSI R9 390X
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
i7-6700k
z170a krait gaming
16gb ddr4 2666
120gb ssd
msi r9 390x 8gb

working like charm...

Cinebench R15 OpenGL 129fps & Cpu 961cb
BruceX 5k export take 11sec on FcpX.

but the only things made my head freaking dizzy is my system keep freeze/hang on certain time.
gpu works OOB. i dont think its from gpu failure but when its freeze my gpu fan spinning like hell.

sometimes my system freeze & restart itself..kernel panic report :
- cpu caller 1
- cpu caller 6
- cpu caller 7

ihv done many things, this "freeze" still there....hell man!... -_-"
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
4
Motherboard
Z390I > Need manufactor & Full model # > See Rules!
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 470
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
i7-6700k
z170a krait gaming
16gb ddr4 2666
120gb ssd
msi r9 390x 8gb

working like charm...

Cinebench R15 OpenGL 129fps & Cpu 961cb
BruceX 5k export take 11sec on FcpX.

but the only things made my head freaking dizzy is my system keep freeze/hang on certain time.
gpu works OOB. i dont think its from gpu failure but when its freeze my gpu fan spinning like hell.

sometimes my system freeze & restart itself..kernel panic report :
- cpu caller 1
- cpu caller 6
- cpu caller 7

ihv done many things, this "freeze" still there....hell man!... -_-"

I got the same motherboard, however, it got stuck when trying to load the installer. Do you have any specials configuration?
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2012
Messages
2
Motherboard
MSI Z270 Gaming M7
CPU
Intel Core i7 6700k
Graphics
MSI GTX 960 Gaming
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
i7 6700k
MSI Z170 Gaming m7
32GB DDR4
MSI GTX 960 Gaming 2GB

Installed Sierra GM and so far everything is working good with integrated HD 530 Graphics (Apart from the glitches in the top left corner). But I didn't manage to get the GTX 960 to work. I installed the newest web driver, booted with nvda_drv=1, but the graphics don't work. At the moment im using the iMac 17,1 SMBIOS, Mac Pro 3,1 does not work with Sierra. Does anyone have experience with Sierra and the 960?
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2016
Messages
2
Motherboard
MSI-MEG-Z490I-Unify
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
UHD630
Does anyone have experience with Sierra and the 960?
Use AGDPfix.v1.3 app. Before disable SIP, using: Clover Configurator > Rt Variables > BooterConfig 0x67.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2012
Messages
2
Motherboard
MSI Z270 Gaming M7
CPU
Intel Core i7 6700k
Graphics
MSI GTX 960 Gaming
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Use AGDPfix.v1.3 app. Before disable SIP, using: Clover Configurator > Rt Variables > BooterConfig 0x67.
To clarify it. The 960 works but is showing up as NVIDIA 5mb in about this mac and the resolution is wrong.
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2016
Messages
2
Motherboard
MSI-MEG-Z490I-Unify
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
UHD630
Try reinstall NVIDIA driver.
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2016
Messages
1
Motherboard
N/A
CPU
N/A
Graphics
N/A
I got sound working 100% without needing Voodoo for this board under El Capitan. It will probably work for Sierra too.


1) Remove Voodoo if you already installed it, including the AppleHDADisabler.kext. Backup AppleHDA.kext

If your AppleHDA is modified, you can get the original by using Pacifist on the installer.

2) In config.plist you need the following four changes, you should merge them with your current config. I've also attached my config in-case that helps.

Under <key>DSDT</key>

Code:
            <key>Patches</key>
            <array>
                <dict>
                    <key>Comment</key>
                    <string>100series-Rename HDAS to HDEF</string>
                    <key>Find</key>
                    <data>
                    SERBUw==
                    </data>
                    <key>Replace</key>
                    <data>
                    SERFRg==
                    </data>
                </dict>
            </array>

Under <key>Boot</key>

Code:
<string>dart=0 rootless=0 kext-dev-mode=1</string>

I don't know if it's actually needed, but disabling SIP possibly helps. My installation wouldn't boot without it.

Code:
        <key>CsrActiveConfig</key>
        <string>0x67</string>

Under <key>Devices</key>
<dict>

Code:
        <key>Audio</key>
        <dict>
            <key>Inject</key>
            <string>1</string>
        </dict>

3) Reboot

4) Download and run https://github.com/toleda/audio_CloverALC/blob/master/audio_cloverALC-120.command.zip

5) Reboot again.

This will fix sound, however it will be extremely quiet. CodecCommander solves this problem.

6) Install CodecCommander via KextInstaller etc from https://bitbucket.org/RehabMan/os-x-eapd-codec-commander/downloads

CodecCommander should start working immediately, if not reboot.


Then you have 100% working native sound via AppleHDA.

aFX14zP.png


I attached my config.plist incase it helps.
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    5.1 KB · Views: 244
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 11, 2011
Messages
64
Motherboard
.
CPU
.
Graphics
.
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Has anyone managed to get all three integrated graphics ports working at the same time on this board?
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2012
Messages
190
Motherboard
GA-P55A-UD3
CPU
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-860 CPU @ 2.8GHz
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti G1 Gaming 4GB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
El Capitan 10.11.2 On
MSI Z170A Gaming M7, I7 6700K, GTX970, 16 GB DDR4, 256GB SSD
UniBeast & MultiBeast

Can you upload the config you are currently using?

I sent a pm asking about it, for some reason it seems to have been deleted.

I plan to install 10.13.1, the generic config might get it started, but a proven config would be awesome.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2012
Messages
190
Motherboard
GA-P55A-UD3
CPU
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-860 CPU @ 2.8GHz
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti G1 Gaming 4GB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Has anyone managed to get all three integrated graphics ports working at the same time on this board?

I haven’t figured out how to even get it working at all with a dedicated card installed, enabled it in bios and even windows doesn’t see it, maybe only works if no video card is installed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top