Contribute
Register

[Guide] Dual Booting Mountain Lion and Windows 8

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
22,512
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
CPU
Intel Xeon W3670
Graphics
RX580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
iMac
It's actual order. It's GUID partitioning. I played a lot with partitions in the past (I had Win7, OSX Lion and Mountain Lion), that's why it's sort of mess.

But I already installed OSX Yosemite to 3rd 150G partition.
If you have already installed Yosemite what are you using for boot loader? Chimera/Chameleon? (not sure how you persuaded Yosemite to install with only a 100MB EFI - was it larger when you installed Yosemite?)
How are you managing the dual boot process at this time?
 
Joined
Jan 30, 2012
Messages
26
Motherboard
MSI H170i Pro AC (ALC 887, RTL8111H, Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 8260)
CPU
Core i5-6500
Graphics
Intel HD 530
Mobile Phone
Android
If you have already installed Yosemite what are you using for boot loader? Chimera/Chameleon? (not sure how you persuaded Yosemite to install with only a 100MB EFI - was it larger when you installed Yosemite?)
How are you managing the dual boot process at this time?
If I want to boot OSX I put Unibeast USB drive with Chimera. For Win8 I do normal boot without USB drive inserted (Win8 boots with UEFI). That's my dual boot :)
I don't actually remember what OS I've installed first (I think Yosemite first, then Win8), but EFI partition was not larger and now it contains only Win8 boot efi files.
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2016
Messages
7
Motherboard
Gigabyte H170M-DS3H
CPU
Intel i5-6600
Graphics
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970 Windforce
So I followed these steps (2 separate SSDs) and got OSX booted, then Windows, but once I got Windows working the Mac side stopped working. I could only boot it from a clover USB drive, and ended up with lots and lots of redundant, non-functional entries on the boot list.
I followed this guide to get rid of them, but they kept cropping up. Somewhere between flashing the BIOS and trying the fixes people listed in that thread, the OSX side stopped booting altogether, from either the HD or the USB.
Am I hosed and just need to wipe the mac drive and start the Hackintosh install anew? Is there something in the installation I should do differently when I do the new OSX install? (I checked, and Windows - which is still working - installed in Legacy mode, and other sites I looked at suggested I should thus use the Legacy mode for clover).
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
22,512
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
CPU
Intel Xeon W3670
Graphics
RX580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
iMac
So I followed these steps (2 separate SSDs) and got OSX booted, then Windows, but once I got Windows working the Mac side stopped working. I could only boot it from a clover USB drive, and ended up with lots and lots of redundant, non-functional entries on the boot list.
I followed this guide to get rid of them, but they kept cropping up. Somewhere between flashing the BIOS and trying the fixes people listed in that thread, the OSX side stopped booting altogether, from either the HD or the USB.
Am I hosed and just need to wipe the mac drive and start the Hackintosh install anew? Is there something in the installation I should do differently when I do the new OSX install? (I checked, and Windows - which is still working - installed in Legacy mode, and other sites I looked at suggested I should thus use the Legacy mode for clover).
This guide presupposes you are installing on legacy BIOS hardware. For your Shylake hardware you want to use the UEFI guides pinned at the top of this forum. You want to install Windos in UEFI mode to get the best advantages of your hardware.
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2016
Messages
7
Motherboard
Gigabyte H170M-DS3H
CPU
Intel i5-6600
Graphics
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970 Windforce
This guide presupposes you are installing on legacy BIOS hardware. For your Shylake hardware you want to use the UEFI guides pinned at the top of this forum. You want to install Windos in UEFI mode to get the best advantages of your hardware.
Thank you! Looks I'll be doing a lot of re-installing, but at least I'm not that far into software stuff so I won't weep tears of blood when I lose files. :p
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2016
Messages
29
Motherboard
Dell Vostro 3350 (Clover Legacy)
CPU
i5-2410M
Graphics
Intel HD 3000 (1366x768)
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
My HDD is now GPT and I createed 3 partitions. one for OS X , 150 GB JURNALATED, one for windows, 150GB NTFS, and one as data, 200GB exFAT which I want to be shared between them. When I install win 10, I format data drive as NTFS, and there is no issue. When I go to OSX I can open the data drive. after that, when I go to windows again, I cant see data drive,
I used disk management to create data drive again, but when I wanted to format data drive, all my drives color became yellow and I lost mac drive. When I want to go to mac, I cannot. I have to format all my drives to install osx again.
how should I use a drive as share between both OSes?
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
22,512
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
CPU
Intel Xeon W3670
Graphics
RX580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
iMac
My HDD is now GPT and I createed 3 partitions. one for OS X , 150 GB JURNALATED, one for windows, 150GB NTFS, and one as data, 200GB exFAT which I want to be shared between them. When I install win 10, I format data drive as NTFS, and there is no issue. When I go to OSX I can open the data drive. after that, when I go to windows again, I cant see data drive,
I used disk management to create data drive again, but when I wanted to format data drive, all my drives color became yellow and I lost mac drive. When I want to go to mac, I cannot. I have to format all my drives to install osx again.
how should I use a drive as share between both OSes?
Are any of your shared files larger than 2GB? If not use FAT32 for your shared partition. ExFAT is notorious for file corruption when used by multiple OSs. If larger, use the file format of the OS you use most often.
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2016
Messages
29
Motherboard
Dell Vostro 3350 (Clover Legacy)
CPU
i5-2410M
Graphics
Intel HD 3000 (1366x768)
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
They are almost larger. I have formated the shared drive as NTFS but when I go to windows disk management to create or format the partition, it seems that windows tries to change GPT to MBR.
I say this because when I want to go to osx with CLOVER USB, there is no partition except windows partition and when I try to install osx again, there is no selectable drive and I have to format my HDD again
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
22,512
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
CPU
Intel Xeon W3670
Graphics
RX580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
iMac
They are almost larger. I have formated the shared drive as NTFS but when I go to windows disk management to create or format the partition, it seems that windows tries to change GPT to MBR.
I say this because when I want to go to osx with CLOVER USB, there is no partition except windows partition and when I try to install osx again, there is no selectable drive and I have to format my HDD again
See https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-multibooting-uefi.197352/
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2016
Messages
41
Motherboard
ASUS IPIBL-LB
CPU
INTEL E2200
Graphics
EVGA nVidia 8400
Mobile Phone
Android
Okay. Thanks. I did a Snow Leopard install on a clean drive. One suggestion. When cleaning an existing drive, use the erase function with the writing zeroes to drive option (I can't remember what this is called, but it completely wipes the drive even after formatting it.) Does this method work in that situation or do I need to something else? As I get more adventuresome, and get the Boot0 error fixed, I hope to also install Linux Mint 18 on the same HDD on OSx.
 
Top