Contribute
Register

[Guide] Dual Booting Mountain Lion and Windows 8

Joined
Jul 19, 2013
Messages
48
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
Intel i7 3770k
Graphics
GeForce 670 FTW 2 GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I went with the option to install Windows 7 & Mountain Lion on the same drive - a 120 GB Sandisk SSD.

Since I'm consistently running out of space on this drive, I bought a 512 GB Samsung 850 Evo Pro to replace it with. Is there a way that I can clone the entire drive - both Operating Systems and keeping the bootloader/MBR/etc in tact?

My goal was to be able to mirror what I have now onto the Samsung so that I could use that as my primary drive and keep my same setup.

However, if it would be easier/cleaner... Should I instead clone the Win partition separately, then set it up so that the Sandisk is the Windows drive and the Samsung is the Mac drive? I'm trying to avoid having to do a complete re-install.. I remember it being a struggle 2 years ago to get it fully working..

Thoughts?


Edit - also, should mention that I've been researching forums, looking at different software options and have been struggling with this for a few days. Trying to be as careful as I can before I attempt to bring in the new drive.. I rely heavily on this device and don't want to mess it up. Appreciate you taking the time to read this and any thoughts you have. Love this site and how helpful it has been in the past!
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
23,173
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I went with the option to install Windows 7 & Mountain Lion on the same drive - a 120 GB Sandisk SSD.

Since I'm consistently running out of space on this drive, I bought a 512 GB Samsung 850 Evo Pro to replace it with. Is there a way that I can clone the entire drive - both Operating Systems and keeping the bootloader/MBR/etc in tact?

My goal was to be able to mirror what I have now onto the Samsung so that I could use that as my primary drive and keep my same setup.

However, if it would be easier/cleaner... Should I instead clone the Win partition separately, then set it up so that the Sandisk is the Windows drive and the Samsung is the Mac drive? I'm trying to avoid having to do a complete re-install.. I remember it being a struggle 2 years ago to get it fully working..

Thoughts?


Edit - also, should mention that I've been researching forums, looking at different software options and have been struggling with this for a few days. Trying to be as careful as I can before I attempt to bring in the new drive.. I rely heavily on this device and don't want to mess it up. Appreciate you taking the time to read this and any thoughts you have. Love this site and how helpful it has been in the past!
post results of terminal command diskutil list - much depends on your drive structure as it exists now for best way to do this.
How do you want to do this? Both OSs on the 512GB drive or move one of them to the 512GB drive and use the space on the original drive for the other one?
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2013
Messages
48
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
Intel i7 3770k
Graphics
GeForce 670 FTW 2 GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
post results of terminal command diskutil list - much depends on your drive structure as it exists now for best way to do this.
How do you want to do this? Both OSs on the 512GB drive or move one of them to the 512GB drive and use the space on the original drive for the other one?

Thanks - appreciate the reply. I'm open to whichever option will allow me to do this in the most seamless way without having to completely reinstall.

I also just purchased a USB 3.0 dual-bay hard drive duplicator in case that will help simplify the process.
(Cavalry Retriever Series EN-CAHDD2BU3C-ZB 2.5in and 3.5in Standalone SATA Hard Drive Duplicator and USB 3.0 Dual-Bay Dock)

In the guides on here, it seems like it the preferred method is one OS per drive. When I initially set up my hackintosh 2 years ago, that wasn't an option for me as I only had one SSD. Now that I have 2 and the open bay to support another, if that will make things easier in the future, I'm open to that if I can do it without having to reinstall everything.

If it would be easiest to maintain what I have now by just keeping them on one drive with multiple partitions, I'm good with that too.

diskutil list

/dev/disk0
#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
0: GUID_partition_scheme *120.0 GB disk0
1: EFI 209.7 MB disk0s1
2: Microsoft Basic Data WIN 65.0 GB disk0s2
3: Apple_HFS Mountain 54.7 GB disk0s3
/dev/disk1
#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
0: FDisk_partition_scheme *2.0 TB disk1
1: Linux 60.0 GB disk1s1
2: Windows_NTFS WinSwap 1.0 TB disk1s3
3: Windows_NTFS MacSwap 723.5 GB disk1s4
4: Linux_Swap 32.0 GB disk1s5
5: DOS_FAT_32 TRANSFER 60.0 GB disk1s6
6: Linux 75.0 GB disk1s7
/dev/disk2
#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
0: GUID_partition_scheme *1.0 TB disk2
1: EFI 209.7 MB disk2s1
2: Apple_HFS 1TBWDpassport 999.8 GB disk2s2

Thoughts?
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
23,173
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
diskutil list

/dev/disk0
#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
0: GUID_partition_scheme *120.0 GB disk0
1: EFI 209.7 MB disk0s1
2: Microsoft Basic Data WIN 65.0 GB disk0s2
3: Apple_HFS Mountain 54.7 GB disk0s3
/dev/disk1
#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
0: FDisk_partition_scheme *2.0 TB disk1
1: Linux 60.0 GB disk1s1
2: Windows_NTFS WinSwap 1.0 TB disk1s3
3: Windows_NTFS MacSwap 723.5 GB disk1s4
4: Linux_Swap 32.0 GB disk1s5
5: DOS_FAT_32 TRANSFER 60.0 GB disk1s6
6: Linux 75.0 GB disk1s7
/dev/disk2
#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
0: GUID_partition_scheme *1.0 TB disk2
1: EFI 209.7 MB disk2s1
2: Apple_HFS 1TBWDpassport 999.8 GB disk2s2

Thoughts?

OK, given what I see in /dev/disk0 your easiest path is to use CCC or SuperDuper to clone the OS X partition to the new SSD, then delete the partition using the Windows disk management tool and then extend the Windows partition to include the resulting free space.
If you want to eliminate the hybrid GUID/MBR disk format, use the Windows disk management tool to create an image of the Windows install and burn it to dvd or save it on a USB.
Then boot the Windows install media and format the SSD MBR/NTFS and use the recovery tools to restore the image to the SSD - note the format should make the 1st partition you are restoring to the exact same size as the current partition before restoring. You can always use the management tool to extend the partition to take up the entire SSD.

Another option requiring more work, if you want the new, larger SSD for Windows, use the Windows disk management tool to format the new SSD MBR/NTFS and create a partition the exact same size as the existing partition on /dev/disk0. Then boot Linux and use the terminal to dd the Windows to the new partition. Another option is to use the Windows disk management tool to create an image of the Windows partition you can then restore to the new partition on the new SSD. Once you have done this you can boot the Windows SSD and extend the partition to include the entire drive if you want or leave it as it is and use the second partition as storage or for scratch files for apps.

Once Windows is out of the way, backup your OS X partition, reformat the SSD GUID/Mac OS and restore OS X to the SSD.
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2012
Messages
32
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 5
CPU
Intel i7 7700k
Graphics
Asus Strix GTX 960
Hello,

I have a problem with dual booting from 1 HDD.
I did everything like in tutorial, first I made two partitions, then on first I installed Windows 8.1. On second I installed Yosemite. And everything is working.
But when I start my PC, it automatically boots Windows.
I can only boot in Yosemite when I insert bootable USB. Then it automatically shows 3 options: USB, WINDOWS, YOSEMITE.
But without USB, I don't see Yosemite to boot in.

Can i fix this somehow?

Thanks

I have the same problem right now. Its automatically boots into windows 8. Got chimera bootloader, did all the settings and boot order. Whats the best solution? Using clover instead of chimera?
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
23,173
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I have the same problem right now. Its automatically boots into windows 8. Got chimera bootloader, did all the settings and boot order. Whats the best solution? Using clover instead of chimera?
In BIOS did you change the boot system from Windows to Other OS?
Since you don't have your mainboard listed in the system block of your profile it is not possible to tell you where this setting is located.
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2014
Messages
34
Motherboard
I didn't read
CPU
the RULES
Graphics
so ignore me
OK, given what I see in /dev/disk0 your easiest path is to use CCC or SuperDuper to clone the OS X partition to the new SSD, then delete the partition using the Windows disk management tool and then extend the Windows partition to include the resulting free space.
If you want to eliminate the hybrid GUID/MBR disk format, use the Windows disk management tool to create an image of the Windows install and burn it to dvd or save it on a USB.
Then boot the Windows install media and format the SSD MBR/NTFS and use the recovery tools to restore the image to the SSD - note the format should make the 1st partition you are restoring to the exact same size as the current partition before restoring. You can always use the management tool to extend the partition to take up the entire SSD.

Another option requiring more work, if you want the new, larger SSD for Windows, use the Windows disk management tool to format the new SSD MBR/NTFS and create a partition the exact same size as the existing partition on /dev/disk0. Then boot Linux and use the terminal to dd the Windows to the new partition. Another option is to use the Windows disk management tool to create an image of the Windows partition you can then restore to the new partition on the new SSD. Once you have done this you can boot the Windows SSD and extend the partition to include the entire drive if you want or leave it as it is and use the second partition as storage or for scratch files for apps.

Once Windows is out of the way, backup your OS X partition, reformat the SSD GUID/Mac OS and restore OS X to the SSD.


Hi Going Bald

I am in a similar condition and was confused a little by what you wrote above :crazy:..

My diskutil list is that:

Last login: Mon May 4 15:26:03 on console
Nikoss-MacBook-Pro:~ Nikos$ diskutil list
/dev/disk0
#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
0: GUID_partition_scheme *500.1 GB disk0
1: EFI EFI 209.7 MB disk0s1
2: Microsoft Basic Data 122.9 GB disk0s2
3: Apple_HFS Hackintosh 324.1 GB disk0s3
4: Apple_HFS Osx Backup 52.1 GB disk0s4

So i have a dual boot Windows 7 and Osx Yosemite on a 500gb HDD and i just bought Samsung 850evo 250gb SSD to migrate my files.All files are around 150gb only and the rest is empty on my HDD, so is there any way to copy the whole disk as is to my new SSD without needing to install all over again?

I know that i can use Carbon Copy Cloner for my Osx Partition but what about my windows 7 partition?
Also can i copy my EFI partition the same way with CCC?

This is my n5110 laptop and i am using UEFI clover bootloader for my OSX and Hard drive option for Win 7(i mean i press F12 and choose boot from HDD for Win 7 booting).

Something i am thinking to do is:

1.Connect SSD with usb to sata cable to laptop
2.Format it with 3 partitions GUID paartition table (Osx, EFI and windows)
3.Restore with an app like Acronis True Image windows 7 and fix with windows media if there is any MBR error
4.Copy with CCC the EFI partion and OSX partition
5.Done???

Would Acronis True Image for Mac do a whole simple copy?
Any suggestions?
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
23,173
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi Going Bald
Would Acronis True Image for Mac do a whole simple copy?
Any suggestions?
For single drive dual boot OS X + Windows + Linux (optional) there are 2 ways to do it that I know of:
1. Boot a Linux Live DVD and open terminal and use the dd command. Note that if you get the if /device/xxxx of /device/yyyy backwards you will wipe your drive. This command is not known as "disk destroyer" for nothing :mrgreen:

2. You can use a disk duplicator like the one linked by neilhart at post #5 in this thread http://www.tonymacx86.com/multi-booting/155896-those-you-who-dual-boot-windows-osx.html
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2014
Messages
34
Motherboard
I didn't read
CPU
the RULES
Graphics
so ignore me
The DD command does it mean to duplicate the exact size of the partition?

What in case you want to duplicate to a smaller partition?


Edit.

What about if i follow these steps:

1.Partition SSD with 2 partitions (Win 7 and Osx on GUID format)
2.Use Carbon Copy Cloner to copy Yosemite partition
3.Use acronis true image 2015 to restore Windows 7
4.Next?
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
23,173
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
The DD command does it mean to duplicate the exact size of the partition?

What in case you want to duplicate to a smaller partition?


Edit.

What about if i follow these steps:

1.Partition SSD with 2 partitions (Win 7 and Osx on GUID format)
2.Use Carbon Copy Cloner to copy Yosemite partition
3.Use acronis true image 2015 to restore Windows 7
4.Next?
Assuming 2 and 3 work, 4 would be "install a boot loader on the OS X drive to make it bootable"
 
Top