Contribute
Register

[Guide] Disabling discrete graphics in dual-GPU laptops

Joined
Dec 26, 2011
Messages
177
Motherboard
I still didn't read
CPU
the RULES
Graphics
so ignore me
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Impressive laptop hardware configuration you have there...



On my z270/1050Ti desktop, I use Intel IGPU during install/updates and spoof the 1050 (with config.plist entries) to prevent this problem. Simple matter of changing a few BIOS options, moving an HDMI cable, and choosing a different plist in Clover.

I am getting exactly the same installation error on a desktop using an Nvidia chipset. Gestalt aside, the source of the problem si the same, and I've been running in circles, with people claiming "it's really easy to fix" when it's not or being vague about their answers, or with endless threads with hundreds of messages, often written in a rush.

I am asking for help, this is what forums are there for, and I am no troll, I've been in the scene since the start. I just can't get this particular installation to work and it's the first time, up to 10.12 I had no issues at all.

Most importantly, can you help me, considering that I did read with all the attention I have your guide and was unable to understand it?

I can provide you with all my files and info if you feel like helping me.
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
21,235
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I am getting exactly the same installation error on a desktop using an Nvidia chipset. Gestalt aside, the source of the problem si the same, and I've been running in circles, with people claiming "it's really easy to fix" when it's not or being vague about their answers, or with endless threads with hundreds of messages, often written in a rush.

I am asking for help, this is what forums are there for, and I am no troll, I've been in the scene since the start. I just can't get this particular installation to work and it's the first time, up to 10.12 I had no issues at all.

Most importantly, can you help me, considering that I did read with all the attention I have your guide and was unable to understand it?

I can provide you with all my files and info if you feel like helping me.
This is a guide to disable nvidia "after" you have installed macOS on a "laptop"

i don't think there is anything here that will help you on your desktop
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,169
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I am getting exactly the same installation error on a desktop using an Nvidia chipset. Gestalt aside, the source of the problem si the same, and I've been running in circles, with people claiming "it's really easy to fix" when it's not or being vague about their answers, or with endless threads with hundreds of messages, often written in a rush.

I am asking for help, this is what forums are there for, and I am no troll, I've been in the scene since the start. I just can't get this particular installation to work and it's the first time, up to 10.12 I had no issues at all.

Most importantly, can you help me, considering that I did read with all the attention I have your guide and was unable to understand it?

I can provide you with all my files and info if you feel like helping me.

There is some information here you might find useful:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...-only-ran-for-0-seconds-with-dual-gpu.233092/

It is pretty easy to fix with config.plist (Nvidia/Inject=true, appropriate entries in AddProperties). Or you can go the SSDT route. Either way same result (which is to make the Nvidia device look like it IS NOT a graphics device).
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2014
Messages
88
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E530
CPU
i5-3210M / HM77
Graphics
GT 635M / HD 4000, 1366x768
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey, guys! I have both _PS0/_PS3 and _ON/_OFF methods in my SSDTs. And so I have a question, which one I should call, then?
There is no any EC access.

Code:
       Method (_PS0, 0, NotSerialized)  // _PS0: Power State 0
        {
            If (DGOS)
            {
                \_SB.PCI0.PEG0.PEGP._ON ()
                Store (Zero, DGOS)
                Store (Zero, MLTF)
            }
        }

        Method (_PS3, 0, NotSerialized)  // _PS3: Power State 3
        {
            If (LEqual (\_SB.PCI0.PEG0.PEGP.OMPR, 0x03))
            {
                \_SB.PCI0.PEG0.PEGP._OFF ()
                Store (One, DGOS)
                Store (0x02, \_SB.PCI0.PEG0.PEGP.OMPR)
            }
        }

        Method (_ON, 0, Serialized)  // _ON_: Power On
        {
            P8XH (Zero, 0xE1)
            Store (Zero, DGRS)
            Sleep (0x64)
            Store (One, DGPW)
            Sleep (0x02)
            Store (One, NVPW)
            Sleep (0x012C)
            Store (One, DGRS)
            Sleep (0x64)
            Store (Zero, LNKD)
            While (LLess (LNKS, 0x07))
            {
                Sleep (One)
            }

            If (LEqual (SETF, One))
            {
                Store (VGAB, VGAR)
            }

            Return (One)
        }

        Method (_OFF, 0, Serialized)  // _OFF: Power Off
        {
            P8XH (Zero, 0xE0)
            Store (One, SETF)
            Store (VGAR, VGAB)
            Store (One, LNKD)
            While (LNotEqual (LNKS, Zero))
            {
                Sleep (One)
            }

            Store (Zero, DGRS)
            Store (Zero, NVPW)
            Store (Zero, DGPW)
            Sleep (0x012C)
            Store (One, DGRS)
            Sleep (0x64)
            Return (Zero)
        }
 

Attachments

  • System SSDT-2.dsl
    15.6 KB · Views: 102

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,169
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey, guys! I have both _PS0/_PS3 and _ON/_OFF methods in my SSDTs. And so I have a question, which one I should call, then?

It is not uncommon.
You can try _PS3 or _OFF. (_PS0 is "ON").
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2014
Messages
88
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E530
CPU
i5-3210M / HM77
Graphics
GT 635M / HD 4000, 1366x768
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Well, it looks like the _PS3 method is not working for me (My NVIDIA entry is still under Graphics in System Information), while the _OFF method actually do work.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,169
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Well, it looks like the _PS3 method is not working for me (My NVIDIA entry is still under Graphics in System Information), while the _OFF method actually do work.

It is quite typical.
If you look at your _PS3 method, you will probably notice it is testing for various conditions prior to calling _OFF.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2015
Messages
299
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 3 G1
CPU
i5-4690K OC@4.3GHz
Graphics
RX 480
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I was wondering how long it would be before you asked... Not long!

As long as the original is linked, and credit given, I'm ok with it...
Hey just wondering if you can help me alittle bit with this due to the fact that my SSDT and stuff look way different from what I experienced with before...

After getting my laptop back from ASUS... It was good...
When I tried to dump the stuff from Clover with F4...
I got a garble of mess that I don't know how to deal with!

Back then I've dumped the files before while trying with El Capitan and it didn't give me these files and looked normal from the other times i've dumped and decompile stuff...

Now it's different and I have no clue what to do!

Please help! and thanks
 

Attachments

  • GL552VW 300.zip
    192.1 KB · Views: 36

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,169
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey just wondering if you can help me alittle bit with this due to the fact that my SSDT and stuff look way different from what I experienced with before...

After getting my laptop back from ASUS... It was good...
When I tried to dump the stuff from Clover with F4...
I got a garble of mess that I don't know how to deal with!

Back then I've dumped the files before while trying with El Capitan and it didn't give me these files and looked normal from the other times i've dumped and decompile stuff...

Now it's different and I have no clue what to do!

Please help! and thanks

What is confusing?
_OFF is in SSDT-6. It calls PGOF in SSDT-3.
No associated _INI, so you can simply add one to SSDT-6, right before _OFF (or after):
Code:
Method(_INI) { _OFF() }
 
Top